We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, stylish and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, stylish and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel on the Bund. Great size rooms, comfortable beds and free wifi. The staff are really helpful and you have two restaurants within the hotel. The hotel bar is a must with great views and good cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    630
    156
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
83
244
43
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The best value for money in the Bund. The hotel is on the river with panoramic views, its 10 minute walk from the financial center of the Bund, rooms are large and very well furnished with a nice modern touch, the shower room is huge with excellent shower equipment and the prices are very, very reasonable.
Very strongly recommend it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were upgraded to a corner room on the 25th floor. The floor-to-ceiling windows gave us incredible views of Pudong, the Bund, and the river. At night, it was spectacular. The room was large (even a walk-in closet) and beautifully decorated. On the wall behind the king-sized bed, was a giant photo blow-up of a beautiful old building in the Old Town, adjacent to the hotel. The desk (with free wi-fi) was beautifully designed and flowed into a chaise lounge perfectly placed to enjoy the views. The large, marble bathroom had a glass-enclosed room that was a rain shower with a large tub. The window looked out on the river, but no need to close the blinds, the nearest voyeur would be a mile away, on the other side of the river.
The hotel corridors and room doors are light colored wood. The lobby is very modern and artistically designed. The whimsical statues brought smiles every time we went through the lobby. We had breakfast included in our rate. The restaurant had the same views as our room, but on a lower floor. The buffet was very varied, with asian and western choices, and made-to-order egg dishes. The staff throughout the hotel are gracious and very helpful. This was the best hotel experience we have ever had, and it was not expensive by today's standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is worth the price for its view (dude, we had a floor to ceiling window in our HUGE shower). The restaurant is supposed to be amazing, but we didn't get the chance to try it. All in all, even if you can't afford it, at least drop in to the lobby to see the cool design and art installations.

Room Tip: Of course, a bund view is the best. I can't remember which room type we have, just ask for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The design, the service, the detail, the comfort, the quality - all fantastic.
The indigo team strived to deliver a unique quality experience, and they delivered.
The baileys by my bed, the pancakes for breakfast, the great coffee in the cafe - brilliant.
I am in total praise of this hotel.
My room overlooked the river and historical bund strip.
The bed was super comfortable and the design if the room mixing old and new shanghai.
The bathroom with spa shower, bath and great views.
The staff. What can I say. Thank you to all for a great stay.
Will tell all and definitely be back.

Room Tip: Corner river room view. Well worth the upgrade price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nice boutique hotel with nice facilities and English speaking front desk. The room is comfortable and equipped with most amenities for a business traveller. From your room, you will get a nice view of the river, both day and night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed there for my honeymoon last November 2012, the boutique concept is totally well applied.
Location very close to Yu Garden, Financial District, Nanjin Rd.
Staff speaks very good english and concierge very kind and helpful an oustanding job.
Breakfast is just the best quality, affordable fees and exceed the expectation.
Decoration makes the guest feel very comfy in a very modern-chic environment
Every two nights we had in our room a sorprise note and small gift such as snacks or coctails.

I was not in the CHAR restaurant but its terrace offers one of the best view of Shanghai City.

Rocio- Mexico

Room Tip: Choose a river view room, is amazing to see how the traffic never stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.