We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nice boutique hotel with nice facilities and English speaking front desk. The room is comfortable and equipped with most amenities for a business traveller. From your room, you will get a nice view of the river, both day and night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    152
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
81
234
42
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toluca, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed there for my honeymoon last November 2012, the boutique concept is totally well applied.
Location very close to Yu Garden, Financial District, Nanjin Rd.
Staff speaks very good english and concierge very kind and helpful an oustanding job.
Breakfast is just the best quality, affordable fees and exceed the expectation.
Decoration makes the guest feel very comfy in a very modern-chic environment
Every two nights we had in our room a sorprise note and small gift such as snacks or coctails.

I was not in the CHAR restaurant but its terrace offers one of the best view of Shanghai City.

Rocio- Mexico

Room Tip: Choose a river view room, is amazing to see how the traffic never stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China expat
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The styling is unique and tied in with the look and feel of nearby Yu Yuan. The hotel is very comfortable with large rooms and bathrooms overlooking the Bund and Pudong. Locals say the restaurant enjoys some of the best views on the Bund, personally I found the dining room oppressive, in the style of a traditional steak house. The cafe/breakfast area was much brighter in keeping with the quirky styling of the rest of the hotel. A nice experience if you're looking for something a little different from traditional high end hotels.

Room Tip: North side rooms look over the Bund and Pudong
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

the location, hotel decor and hardware are all good. Generally speaking this is a very good hotel at a reasonable price. However, I'd like to share the following shortcomings that I experienced during my stay -
1) the car park is pretty far away from the hotel building, but I guess not many guests drive anyway
2) the restaurant on 29F is pretty expensive but the food is very average. The beef was really good though
3) power went out in the toilet for a while, electrician came and fixed it within 10 mins
4) operator had an appalling attitude. This was NOT acceptable.

Whoever the female operator was, she needs to be fired. For good

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My 4th stay at this property. Very consistent throughout all my stays. Check in is a great experience with personalized service. One of the few IHG properties that acknowledge my platinum status.Leo at the front desk is excellent. Rooms are very comfortable. Bathrooms are very well appointed with an all the options toilet. There is no executive lounge per say as all rooms have access to a lounge type floor with a wonderful full breakfast. The river view is simply amazing. My only beefs about this hotel is the lighting in the bathroom could be a bit brighter and the seating area of the suites do not have a couch that one can sit comfortably. I look forwards to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing for the price. I stayed for two nights in a 'river view room' that offered not only superb river views but also a grand vista of the whole Bund area and across the Huangpu R. To the financial district and the futuristic-looking TV tower. The hotel is very comfortable with very stylish decor. View from the rooftop bar is sensational-especially at night. There are a couple of great restaurants, a library, business centre and spaces set aside for relaxing and admiring the view. Located right on the Bund itself you're ideally placed to take a nightime river cruise and this is a must-do.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Modern deco, comfortable and excellent tourist location. The breakfast is very fresh and nice variety. Some rooms have a river view and it is absolutely amazing, with all the boats lit up at night time and the sky line. There is a great restaurant and cocktail bar on top of the building overlooking the city and the river. The restaurant need bookings quite in advance, as it is very popular. The only minus of the hotel is luck of the swimming pool apart from this I definitely recommend this hotel in Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
hi ewa55555,


Its great to have such positive feedback from a senior reviewer.
Its a good tip about CHAR our grill at the top of the hotel. It is very popular so its a good idea to book in advance (even when you make your room reservation). CHAR bar on level 30 also serves food from the CHAR kitchen so this is another option.

One thing that perplexed us - your mention about no pool. In fact we have a beautiful infinity style pool on level 7 - 17 metres long, heated, with views all over downtown Shanghai. On this level we also have FIT our startrac equipped gym - again with stunning views.
We hope you will get to enjoy these next time you visit Shanghai.

very best from the Indigo team

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.