We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a vacation trip. The hotel is just beautiful. Modern, with a traditional touch. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and the views of the huangpo river were breathtaking. A little further from the bund than some other hotels, but easy walking distance.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi David1003,

Your review was well received by the Indigo team.
We really appreciate both your positive comments and your patronage.

very best from Shanghai

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    152
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
81
234
42
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a three-night stay at the Indigo. This boutique hotel is located on the Bund with a stunning view on the river and the Pudong skyline. Location is fine, close (20+ min. walk) to where you'll likely go out: Peace Hotel / M on the Bund / Mr & Mrs Bund / Bar rouge. The hotel design is a big positive and rooms are decorated with taste in a NYC-loft-meets-traditional-China style. Where else would you take so many pictures of your hotel room? Positives (+): Service, breakfast buffet (Illy espresso please), bathroom with Toto toilets and rain shower, very clean rooms, once again stunning view, nice bar on the 30th floor, small swimming pool. On the less positive sides: Too firm, giant pillows (smaller, softer would be preferred); yes Wi-Fi is free but slow and some indispensable international websites are blocked; You keep missing the elevator as it lacks a 'dong'; Air-conditioning did not work properly (room too cold); finally staff added me to InterContinental's Priority Club Rewards scheme without asking me (thank you for the spam). Bottomline, this is a very good hotel in Shanghai, not too expensive, but more for leisure than business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

What more can one say that hasnt been said in reviews before.
Right from the start, the lobby was unusual and very attractive with lots of modern and retro artefacts. We were made most welcome by the lobby staff.
The suite gave us a river view across to Pudong - well worth the extra expense. The compfortable bed and interesting furnishings added to our delight. The bathroom was modern with a bath in the window, a separate rain shower cubicle and an amazing wc - heated seat and unusual but efficient electronic controls!!
We ate in both restaurants. The Char was delicious for special occasions. The restaurant on the 6th floor was well managed by the French maitre d' and was more reasonably priced. Julie has done a first class job as the chief chef.
The service throughout was excellent and friendly.
We found the location to be great within easy walking distance to shopping and ferry to Pudong.
Well done to everyone.
We will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a river view - we stayed in 1701 - brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I do not normally review hotels I have stayed at (whether +ve or –ve experiences). However, reflecting on hotels I have stayed at over the past 12 months, I find that the impression I had of the Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund was outstanding. It is the best Boutique Hotel I have stayed at for a long time.

The Hotel opened in 2010, but it was a bit too expensive for me on business travel to Shanghai. On this trip I was travelling together with my wife and we stopped in Shanghai for two nights for Chinese Valentine’s Day (August 23).

Most people on TripAdvisor have mentioned the great views that are indeed a wonderful feature of the Hotel. The Hotel is very close to the Huangpu River (on the bank) and from our river view room on the 15th floor we had excellent views up and down the river and straight across to the skyscrapers in the Financial District and Pudong area skyline.

We really enjoyed the unusual/unique décor of the hotel and the room. We spent the first 30 minutes or more looking at everything and taking photos of the room. There were many features you would expect:– 24 hour room service dining, large bed, separate bathroom, shower room (Rain Shower) and toilet, free high speed Wi-Fi that works well, plenty of conveniently located power outlets, large desk, satellite TV and the staff in reception, restaurants and bars were friendly, had a good level of training and spoke good English. Room size was very comfortable and had a bit of a small apartment feel. The bathroom facilities and oversized shower area with floor to ceiling views out across the river was a standout. My wife loved the room and the beautiful Shanghai decorations and artefacts. The hotel itself has plenty of interesting artwork and many people enjoyed the reception area.

Hotel facilities:- We used and enjoyed the 6th floor which had a range of offerings from great coffee and refreshments with a Café menu, to breakfast, lunch and dinner options, or areas to simply relax. The swimming pool on the 7th floor was a good size to actually swim and to watch the “river traffic”. The rooftop bar was really worth a sunset and/or early evening cocktail, although the cocktails were a bit disappointing and seemed very low strength alcohol. Again amazing views. The Char Restaurant had a pleasant atmosphere, very attentive and well trained service staff, reasonably good food and a good wine list. Unfortunately we found the Char generally too expensive for what it offered. The 6th floor was more reasonably priced.

Transportation appeared to be more of a problem than on the Pudong side of the river. Taxis were hard to find around peak hour and depending on the time of day taxis were reluctant to take you back to the hotel from the Pudong side of the river.

Overall it is the best Boutique Hotel I have stayed at for a long time, not unreasonably priced and well worth the additional cost for the executive level river view.

Room Tip: Higher floors with river view worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is very tastefully decorated and feels luxurious. Although it is large it still has a boutique feel to it. The rooms are well equipped and tastefully styled.
The bar is possibly the best view of the shanghai skyline and the bund at night and is a very comfortable and relaxed space. Prices in the bar were 80 RMB for entry level red wine (Shiraz) and about 20 RMB for soda water. A small selection of snacks are available to order if you a a little hungry. We found the service to be good and the staff were respectful.
We have not visited the restaurant yet but we know it is highly regarded and has equally excellent views over the city.
Without any doubt this is a beautiful hotel.
What lets the hotel down is the poor service in reception, as this is possibly the most important department in the hotel this is a serious flaw. When I arrived at reception to check in I approached with a smile and said hello, the reply was 'passport'! For a moment I thought I had been transported back in time to nazi Germany. This was not a great start. Fortunately once I was identified as a platinum loyalty card holder the mood changed and I was bid 'Welcome to our Hotel'.
There is no concierge to speak of and the staff on duty have very little English. The reception staff are little or no help in arranging anything at all, even a taxi is easier to direct yourself. If you choose this hotel be prepared to be on your own without any useful help with languages, reservations or excursions. Having travelled from Beijing where the staff were excellent and had much better language skills I have to admit I am surprised. I expected better.

Room Tip: River view rooms are at a premium but worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi Skilled_Chef,

Many thanks for your feedback.

We take constructive feedback seriously and your comments about the hosts at our front desk have been discussed in a number of our internal meetings.
All of the front desk team speak English most (but not all) are fluent. The host checking you in was one of our newer team members - we apologize for the communications issues.
As with most international hotels in China we run our own English classes and your experience has been used as a case study to help us improve in guest communication.
I was disappointed to learn of your local information issues. Our hotel is boutique in nature and we train all hosts (both front office and in QUAY our guest lounge) to have excellent local knowledge. In your case this was not evident and we have worked with the team on this.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can keep improving (something that in great hotels never really finishes)

very best

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This has been the best hotel experience in years. And I have had many... What a fantastic way to enjoy Shanghai. Great location, fantastic breakfast, friendly staff and a spacious, empty swimming pool for myself alone. What more can you ask for.

Room Tip: Obvious, the higher the better and Bund side gives you the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second time staying at Hotel Indigo in Shanghai. I did enjoy staying there the first time hence I was in no hesitation to pick them again. The location despite slightly further away from the action, it offers absolute advantage of avoiding heavy traffic. The river view is still stunning and breath-taking! The 'Char' Bar and 'Char' Restaurant on the 29 and 30 floor are very popular - good food and great services. Breakfast on 6 floor is equally impressive with good selection of freshly cooked hot main choices from a range of western, Shanghaiese and Japanese styles. One thing does stand out for me is the artistic design of the whole hotel from lobby to each individual rooms with a feel of retro but yet modern oriental touch - the bed is super comfy too!
I must also mention every single staff members from the entrance, check in desk, restaurant, house keeping were all very friendly and helpful. Jackson, the manager did a great job with resolving some of my check-out hiccups!
I would definitely recommend others to stay with Hotel Indigo on the Bund!

Room Tip: Any river view rooms - not only does it offer great views, it is also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.