We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 3,560 hotels in Shanghai
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have stayed at the Indigo three times on separate layovers, and it is a great hotel. The staff is very helpful, and attentive. The design of the hotel is very cool although the rooms are a little on the small size for the price, and the flooring is showing some wear. I really liked the Ipod dock and Bose stereo. The Quay breakfast is excellent and Char is good, but very pricy. The best part about this hotel is the rooftop bar with an amazing view down the Bund. The location is also very good for a nice walk down the boardwalk of the Bund.

Room Tip: A Bund view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    565
    139
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
73
218
41
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tristan da Cunha
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed there for the second time, for business reasons (but I would definitely go there if I had to go back in couple/family).

View is stunning, position is great although you're pretty far from Metro stations (but taxi is so cheap that you won't really care). You're by the Huangpu river and you'll need to walk 15-20 min to reach the famous Peace Hotel/Bank of China buildings (or a 3-4 min taxi ride - 14 RMB).
There was free internet in the whole building, staff was friendly and really helpful, breakfast is really good (both buffet and menu) and the 6th floor's restaurant was really good for dinner although it was a bit expensive compared to what you can find in Shanghai.

Room was really good, clean and well furnished. You can hear the traffic from time to time at night if you have a old-city view room but nothing disturbing.

From Pudong Int. Airport you can either take the taxi (45-60min depending on the traffic) or take the MagLev (50 RMB) and then the taxi until the Hotel (30 RMB - max 45 min in total).

Will definitely go back there again.

P.S. Taxi drivers don't speak/read English so don't forget to bring all your destinations written in Chinese/a guide with locations in Chinese, otherwise as people at the reception / door keeper to speak to the driver for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

Indigo hit the spot. Friendly staff. Great unique and inspiring design. I loved the hot chocolate at the front desk on offer from when you came in from the cold. Sensational dining in both the quay cafe and rooftop restaurant Char. Do yourself a favor an and awake a break from the cookie cutter hotels and give Indigo Shanghai a go. Well worth every cent.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Hi WinHanyu,

Your comments are really appreciated and reinforce to the Indigo team that we are doing something unique.....thank you!

We particularly liked that you felt we are anything but a "cookie cutter" hotel. We will continue to focus on service that will make our guests feel a sense of delight.

Given that it snowed in Shanghai yesterday we will ensure the hot chocolate stays at the front desk for a while !

Very best from the Hotel Indigo team

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

We flew to Shanghai from HK for a long weekend getaway. Hotel Indigo was perfect.
Great location right on the river with views over the Bund. Puxi and the. new metropolis of Pudong.
Beautifully designed lobby.
Great staff (even security staff smiled!)
Rooms comfortable and big - great space for two. Stunning design as well

A must stay when in Shanghai and a great deal
We will be back and look forward in returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Hello Rafael H,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on tripadviser.

I am particularly delighted that you noticed friendly smiles on our security team !

I have passed your review onto the team, particularly Everett our Security manager (your comments made HIM smile).

We look forward to seeing you back in Shanghai (also look out for the new Hotel Indigo opening in Wan chai in Hong Kong later this year)

very best

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Unlike many other hotels in the centre of Shanghai this hotel carries a very unique boutique feel, right from the interesting lobby, to the very tastefully designed rooms. The staff are both very helpful and thoughtful and carry a decent enough command of the English language to understand and converse with - unlike many other hotels in Shanghai. The check-in process is smooth and if you sign up as a preferred guest on the website whilst making your booking (which is free), you automatically qualify for a 2pm checkout, which is very useful.

The rooms themselves range from a very good value city view, to a slightly more expensive but also incredible value Bund/Pudong city view rooms, which have a spectacular panoramic view of both Pudong City and The Bund. High tech, neat and strangely homely - they also have incredibly comfortable beds, and free WIFI (many Shanghai hotels of this standard charge as much as 200 RMB (£20) a day for Internet).

The facilities in the hotel are fantastic, the gym has adequate gear from free weights to cardio machines, as well as a fantastic view of the Shanghai World Financial Centre whilst you work out. The pool has a 180 degree view of Puxi and Pudong city, and you are well looked after in the fitness centre by the staff, who are very helpful and provide you with towels/waters etc..

The "Char" bar on the top of the hotel has to have one of the best views of the city, purely due to its 180 degree view of Shanghai, whether you stay at the hotel or not, check out this bar! Cannot say I have eaten at the restaurant, but quality of drinks and service in the bar is good.

The location of this hotel is on the South Bund, perhaps a 10 minute walk to the main Bund viewing area and 25 minutes to People's Square, right on top of the dock where the Huangpu River cruises leave from. Taxis are easily available which is necessary as there aren't any metro stations nearby.

This hotel impresses me every time, I am a frequent visitor to Shanghai and have been fortunate enough to stay in many of the major hotels there, I have stayed in the Indigo twice and have already booked another stay- do give it a go!

Room Tip: Bund/Pudong view rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for a few nights ov Chinese new year and had a fabulous experience.
From check in to check out we were greeted with smiles, manners, friendly staff - it was bliss.
The design of the hotel is stunning.
The rooms are extra comfortable.
The food at breakfast delicious.
10 out of 10 for a great experience.
Spread the word .... You must stay here, this hidden gem won't be a secret for much longer

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I went to Indigo for a drink with friends, and we ended up in the top location place: the roof top bar! What an amazing overview of all the city and Bund area. Hotel design is awesome, bar staff was professional and drinks standards.

Nothing else to say, don't miss the roof top !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 3,560 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.