We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Italian Restaurant

Giovanni's Italian Restaurant
No. 5 Zun Yi Nan Road, Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel, Shanghai 200336, China (Hongqiao)
021-62758888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #710 of 12,498 restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hongqiao
Description: The award-winning Giovanni’s Italian Restaurant with its classy yet trendy look, is set to pursue its mission: to provide the ultimate Italian fine dining experience distinctively different from and more exclusive than any others in the city.
Liaoning
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“decent italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The pizza here is fantastic, especially salami one, i really enjoyed myself here. Pasta is good too. The chef Marco always remember what i like and dislike which is really impressing

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    7
    6
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious homemade Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I love Italian food and had been in shanghai for almost we week eating Chinese food and my palette needed a change. I heard Giovanni's was good but I didnt expect it to be nearly as delicious as it was! I had the ravioli which was clearly homemade and a wonderful salad. The coffee and dessert was not only do yummy but I presentation of it was beautiful! It was definitely a little pricey but I thoroughly enjoyed my meal so I didn't mind. Plus I did indulge in a salad, entree, coffee & tirimisu : )

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

The food quality has been consistently outstanding over the past 2 years that I have visited them. The bad news is that there are great variations in service levels so it's your luck if you get a good waiter.I had dinner for 2 consecutive nights this week and the service levels were worlds apart

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Skip the set lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Read about some nice review and decide to try it when i can some time to spare before catching a flight out.

The set lunch was so-so, nothing fantastic maybe due to cost . Service could be better as there is only 3 group of people and it is hard to see the waiters. They tend to disappear to the front or kitchen .

What made my visit worse was that they served me a bad tiramisu. I am very surprised that no one noticed that the dessert had gone bad, it look bad when i saw it. They did replaced a freshly made ones and waived the cost , I was disappointed that they should had given a freshly made one instead of clearing "old stock".

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“superb genuine italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

located n the sheraton hongqiao on the 27th floor. Was there with a large party. Although the service was inconsistent at times, the food and ambience are superb. This will hold up against any italian restaurant most anywhere. Chef operated...very hands on and comes out to talk withguests. This restaurant is exponentially better than the one nextdoor in the Renaissance. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.