We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG NO NO” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.938 Hunan Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 201204, China (Shanghai New International Expo Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,222 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
guwahati
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“BIG NO NO”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in April 2012 during China Plast Expo as it was near to New International Expo in Pudong.
Everything at this hotel is horrible. Front desk took more than 45 minutes to check in although there were only two guests before us. While check in the front desk asked for a hefty deposit although the room charges were fully paid. Hardly any of the staff speaks english which is surprising for a ramada property.
The business service section charge a fortune for the printing. Nothing much to eat for vegetarian in the breakfast.
Same when we checked out. Bill was required to be corrected twice.
A BIG NO NO for future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    14
    17
    14
See reviews for
1
1
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for one night but were dissapointed from the first day. The breakfast was cold, stale and none of the staff spoke english. The staff were trying to help but they couldnt. Not their fault but i would blame the management/owners for this. Another reason i would say is that it was the last days of the chinese new years. The next morning we went to the same place for breakfast and were dissapointed to see that there was no spread. Upon enquiring we were told that it was on the lobby floor. We went to the lobby floor and saw just fruits and jucies. Then the waiters brought a plate with the same food which was served to us yesterday. ( i mean the leftovers of yesterday). the hash browns and sausages were ice cold .None of the staff could speak english so we were left hungry and left the restaurant in disgust and hungry. Overall i would say. for a ramda hotel, this was a complete complete dissapointment.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel at any cost. the hotel should be converted to a semetary for the dead
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel frm 10th dec to 14th Dec-2012. I would say at Best its avery average palce.

1. Breakfast isnt complimentory and they charge 182 RMB for a breakfast.

2. Staff not too conversant with english, so its always a challenge o communicate.

3. But I found a good Indian restaurant very close to this hotel.. its Called Bollywood.

Overall, I woudl stay I will avoid this place the next ime I am in Shanghai

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The rates for this hotel are competitive for shanghai and the bed was comfortable - there end the positives .
For an overseas visitor it is very difficult when the staff only speak Chinese which not what expected in a Ramada chain , I have stayed cheaper smaller hotels with more efforts customer service .
I found I spent way too much time trying to sort laundry , room service , bills and in the end gave up frustrated that my precious time in shanghai wasted so - therefore false economy on competitive pricing . There is a bar with no drinks ! Incredibly it is true . After long day out at work not great . The laundry service slow . Room service 100 % record getting the order wrong and on both staff insisted on cash payments in the room despite heavy deposit taken at check in .
I would not recommend this hotel unless accompanied by a Chinese speaking colleague of friend who can make you heard and put pressure . Plan to sleep there only , eat and drink elsewhere .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Check-in (4/5)
Room (3/5) Desk and chair reasonable, Lighting reasonable, Bed comfortable, Airconditioning (somewhat erratic temperature wise). Bathroom compact but functional
Internet (4/5)
Breakfast (3/5) Reasonable choice and quality
Cleanliness (3/5)
Room Service (0/5) Language problem - couldn't even confirm that they had Room Service
Restaurants (0/5) Never open except for Breakfast as far as I could tell

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

My room booking in which they confirmed was for a king bed non-smoking, they put in a twin room smoking........... The front desk staff was rude....... After some loud chatting, I finally agreed on a king bed with smoking.......shocking.......

The room service was a selection of three items.

Air condition did not work.

I highly recommend people to select another hotel if you desire a nice place to rest.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Checked in and no lights in my room, they couldnt fix it for an hour. Plus sink in bathroom was clogged. Recommend anyone somewhere else to stay not here.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai

Address: No.938 Hunan Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 201204, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#285 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.