We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yang's Fry-Dumpling

Yang's Fry-Dumpling
No.269 Wujiang Road, Shanghai, China (Nanjing West Road)
021-61361391
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 12,564 Restaurants in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 169 Reviews
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Nanjing West Road
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
762 reviews 762 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 258 cities Reviews in 258 cities
1,800 helpful votes 1,800 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I first tried these dumplings not realising Yang's is a chain store, and I used to make trips across town to have them. Now, luckily, I know they have branches all over so I have them just about every time I can.

My personal name for their famous dish is 'burnt-bottom dumplings'. You'll see why when you try them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    61
    16
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Fluffy tops, crispy bottoms and great soup inside. What more is there to say! The best of both worlds steamed top and fried bottoms.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great snack food but not often”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

It's worth checking these out for the experience of trying deep-fried dumplings, but I was not blown away by them. It's fast food or snack food at most. I prefer steam dumplings myself.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Fresh made dumplings, juicy and hot. What can you get with ¥6 for 4 dumplings. Best value as a trial for local snacks.
Also tried the tofu rice noodle soup but disappointed

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Must go. Don't be shy. It is THE comfort food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been a fan since 2005. This is THE ONLY place I would visit every time I am in PVG, rain or shine. This is the best food I had in China for decades. I mean China in general. I pray they keep the operations forever. It would be devastating if they are gone one day. You know, you close the business and retire when you make enough money. Or they sold their business and the original recipe is lost.
These pan fried pork buns are very very affordable, full of favor (magic ingredients), prepare well (Crispy bun bottom , soft bun outside and juicy filling inside), always consistent (no disappointment so far) and convenient (many branches around Shanghai). I even influenced/trained most of my friends and colleagues (Italian, German, French) to start searching for this place for a quick bite.
You will see a line outside the restaurant very often. Be patience. Don't speak Chinese? No problem. You point at the buns onsite and just tell them how many you want. One is about a small fist size. 6 is always a good number :) Don't know where they are? No problem. They have a location map on their website. Ask your Chinese friend to help you out. Or if you are curious enough, browse the website youself. http://www.xysjg.com/
In short. Try it. It's a very very satisfying local experience. I always make this recommendation to my friends, coworkers, business partners, even STRANGERS.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang's Fry-Dumpling also viewed

 

Been to Yang's Fry-Dumpling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yang's Fry-Dumpling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.