We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option near SJTU!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Xuhui Jiaotong University)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Xuhui Jiaotong University) to your Saves list
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Xuhui Jiaotong University)
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   No.319 Guangyuan West Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China (Xujiahui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #387 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Decent option near SJTU!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel due to its proximity to SJTU where I was attending a conference.. The hotel is pretty clean and nice for the money you pay.. The connection to the public transportation is good as well, but please be aware that it takes almost 2 hours by public transit to get to the city centre - the bund! The breakfast was basic but good.. Would be nice to have some western options during the breakfast.. The staff doesnt speak any English which can be quite an issue if you run into any problems during your stay.. Overall, the hotel provides a decent base to visit SJTU..

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    72
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This hotel is located in a neighborhood commercial, close to the Shanghai Jiaotong University. There are many shopping malls and restaurants on this area and there is an subway station just 5 minutes walking. It is an excellent choice to professors and students which are going to visit the University campus.

Room Tip: Rooms can get a little noise if you open the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel several times as it is very close to where I need to go for my visit. It is off the main street so less noisy. The rooms are adequate but i was taken back by the lack of closet ( hang your clothes on a rack). The plumbing is very dated, adjusting temperature of the hot water can be challenging, the drain may be slow, and the tile in the bathroom may have some visible mildew.
The staff can manage little English, the breakfast is adequate for Chinese travelers as the western breakfast choices are limited.
The temperature setting in the lobby is much higher than what we have in the US, around 25 or 26 degree C. Still very warm for me. The room temperature takes a long time to cool down.

Room Tip: Get two keys from the front desk and keep one in the key slot in the room so the Air condition will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I would like first and foremost, express my gratitude to the hotel manager, Miss Huang (黄经理). I suffered from a severe outbreak of dermatitis upon arriving in Shanghai and was desperately searching for medical help. Because of my limited understanding of Mandarin, I had difficulty locating a suitable medical facility for treatment of skin ailments. What Miss Huang did for me was beyond the call of duty - she assisted me by booking a medical appointment at Huashan hospital on my behalf and helped smoothen out the complications that arose while I was registering at the hospital. She even gave us a call after the hospital visit to ask how everything went, and if I was recovering well. Without her help, my dad and I would never have been able to navigate the complex procedures at the hospital.

I hope the management of the hotel reads this and conveys our sincere thanks to 黄经理. My dad is a regular at this branch of Jinjiang Inn, and has nothing but praise for Miss Huang's quick-wittedness and kindness.

Location of the hotel is beyond perfect. Xujiahui metro station, supermarket, hair salon, tailor pharmacy, etc. are all a stone's throw away. Chambermaid kept our rooms spick and span everyday. Not forgetting, the rooms are really value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Booked 3 rooms for a week in early Sept 2010. The taxi driver had trouble finding the hotel so have a written address in Chinese handy. Its 10 mins walk from the Xujiahui subway station and close to good local shopping centres with excellent shops and restaurants.
The hotel was clean, and efficiently run and very good value. We paid 4 to 500RMB per night for single/doubles, I'm told the rates would be 100RMB lower had it not been for the Expo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Xuhui Jiaotong University)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Xuhui Jiaotong University)

Address: No.319 Guangyuan West Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xujiahui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Xuhui Jiaotong University) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Xuhui Jiaotong University) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Xuhui Jiaotong University), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.