We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
KIldare
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Only stayed one night, but wish it had been longer. Fantastic location, friendly staff, comfortable room. Swimming pool and health area was fine. I didn't eat in the hotel, but there was no shortage of small restaurants in the area. No complaints at all.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review of our Hotel . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, location as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    227
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
99
172
38
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

it was the hotel of the best
best building
best lobby
best rooms
best location
best food
best services
and also all of the hotel receptionists can speak English well
I was there for 9 days and I enjoy every moment of that

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I cannot tell you how much we loved this hotel. It was a perfect ending to our China trip and we chose well.

The lobby is beautiful, the room and bathroom luxurious, and the included breakfast buffet was inspiring. The fruit and fruit plates were kept in a cooler display case along with various cheeses. The display of food options was both incredible and everything was good! The egg station chef was a delight and spoke excellent English and it was like having our own personal chef.

Location was perfect; everything was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments that will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was terrific. It boasted a gorgeous lobby, a spacious and luxurious room and incredibly central location. Once we turned in, we found our room was nice and quiet - a great escape from the heat and hustle bustle of the streets outside. We highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is in the centre of Shanghai. Very nice, great room, clean and spacious. I got a good deal by booking online for two nights, otherwise it may be too pricey. The rate did not include breakfast but if you just step outside you have plenty of food options, so not much of a problem. Great location, at night you can just walk down East Nanjing Rd and snap some pictures of Shanghai famous skyline. Close by a subway station of line 2, which takes you to both the train station or Pudong airport (though for this last destination the trip is quite long ~1hour). I would definitely return if in Shanghai again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Bedroom large and well appointed with a desk, bathroom had double sinks, separate shower, separate toilet, slippers supplied and turn down nightly with a chocolate and the weather forecast. Although we faced Jiujiang Road our room on the ninth floor was quite despite the fact that nearly every car toots their horn. Wifi free but very slow. The buffet average get there early when they first put it out. Concierge very helpful and when requested would write down on the hotel card in Chinese the address of where we wanted to go to give to the taxi drivers who do not speak English. Taxis are cheap.

Nanjing Road pedestrian shopping mall only a street away and it is only a 10 minute walk to the Bund.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us. We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations. In particular. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Central Hotel Shanghai in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Upon Check-In, I was offered to upgrade for a very nominal price at a special scheme which I took for an Executive room. It offered complimentary drinks at a separate lounge along with meals.
Beautiful hotel with nice interiors. Very good service at concierge.
Location is excellent. very nice and beautiful hotel with good service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, QC at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments that will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.