We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you want to be steps from some great shopping while in Shanghai you can't go wrong with the Grand Central Hotel. The rooms are large and spacious, buffets are good but the hotel is surrounded by numerous dining options and for the caffeine junkies you are pretty much within 2 blocks of both a Starbucks and a Costa Coffee. One very small complaint - I would like to see a little bit more variety in their TV channel selection.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and nice comments on our hotel accommodation and location. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    227
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
99
171
37
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is very attractive, has a great ambience. Rooms are very comfortable, impeccable and spacious.
Staff are excellent. We definitely got value for our money. Would recommend this hotel at all times.

Great location for tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We appreciate your great review of your wonderful experience, and thank you for your recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had to make a stop in Shanghai for a few days and booked a suite at the Grand Central.
The photos on the hotel's website simply cannot do justice to how well-appointed the rooms are in this hotel. This is "five-star downtown hotel" at its best.
Fantastic staff, a wonderful selection of restaurants and an altogether top-end experience that will be repeated on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you had a good impression of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel. I booked a room at the executive floor, and appreciated the calm and the quality of the breakfast at that floor. Room was very large and comfortable.
Value for money was great.
I would only encourage you not to take a room with a "nice view" as this also means a "lot of noise", from very early to very late ! And the accoustic isolation is not good at all.
Service was great, as was the overall location.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms with view on Nanjing Road, because of the noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our room, our service and our location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, the beds are quite comfortable, and service is impeccable. The location is good for tourists and not too bad for business travel, either. Their free wifi has good bandwidth, too. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate for your compliment on our hotel room, our service, free wifi, as well as our location. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Me and my family has just finished our "5 stars hotel trip", from 4 hotels we have stayed in 10 days and 4 cities, this hotel has the best on everything. Just step our foot in the hotel door and find outstanding lobby in front of us, and nice ceiling. The hotel furniture full of gold color, the room very very very nice, big, cozy and homy. When you step in the hotel room, you will see in the tv : the welcoming statement with your name in it, very nice. The deluxe room is big enough, your kids can run and playing there, and the bathroom, wow, the gold and deluxe bathroom amenities really surprising. The location is something you won't regret, it is just in front of Nanjing Pedestrian Street. The city sightseeing bus stop is just in the corner, very easy to get everything. For moslem people, there is moslem restaurant just behind the hotel, in front of starbucks cafe. And for the friendliness of the staff, everything is nice. Maybe the only thing , we suggest that the restaurant in the lobby could be move out to other place, because the smell of the food fill the lobby for the whole day and it is not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review. We appreciate your high esteem of our hotel location, decoration, room, as well as our service. Your suggestion of our restaurant in the lobby is greatly valued. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel decor is absolutely beautiful! It is a 5 star at a reasonable price. The location is central to most of the sites of Shanghai(awesome city). The staff is very helpful & service oriented. Workout facilities awesome(if that your thing). It is a large hotel at a very good price & location.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our location, service, as well as hotel decoration. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.