We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful concierge...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 622 Reviews
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful concierge...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location is perfect and close to most business establishments and easy to navigate. Check in and out procedure was very efficient. The concierge team was accommodating to your requests and very helpful. The space is more huge than expected and with classic interior design. The spa is very clean and seems quite strict in their policy about one's health, for example they require you to wear swimming cap and the health club was so accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    212
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
87
162
36
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good location in Shanghai. Massive, clean and comfortable room but poor customer service. Value still OK for now, but suspect that will decline as hotel gets older.

Poor customer service - I checked in at 1130pm. I was told the bedroom that I had booked and paid for was not available. I pointed out that I had paid for room and I was not going to accept a single bed in a noisy room. This went on for 10 mins and eventually Jimmy on the front desk said that I could have the room, but it would be a smoking room. I again said that as unacceptable. Eventually Jimmy found me the non smoking room that I had booked and paid for initially.

Next I walked to the main bar in the lobby and was told that the bar shut 1/2 hour ago and no service was available. I retreated to my room to watch a film. The film system in my room failed to work. Same goes for the free in room wifi. I gave up and went to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Central for 3 days in 2 deluxe rooms in December as the first stop in our round the world trip (my wife, 17 year old twins and myself). Not a bad way to start our journey, the GC certainly lived up to our expectations after reading all the good reviews on Tripadvisor.
The hotel location is perfect for seeing around Shanghai. A comfortable 20 minute walk down Nanjing Road (which is one street away from the hotel) takes you down to The Bund and there are plenty of shops and restaurants within 5 minutes of the hotel.
The hotel itself is indeed grand. The lobby is very impressive however it's almost impossible to appreciate it due to the amount of smoking going on. No restrictions on smoking here and at times it was quite overwhelming even for an ex-smoker who generally isn't bothered by others smoking. The rooms are large and very comfortable and the standard of cleanliness was very good. One complaint though was the absence of free wifi. We could connect our laptop for complimentary wired internet connection but I would have thought they could have stretched to free wifi. Other amenities such as fitness centre and indoor pool were excellent.
We had breakfast as part of our deal and it was very nice. We did have lunch on the day we arrived but it was very average and expensive so we didn't have any other meals in the hotel.
The reception staff were generally pleasant and mostly helpful although on arrival the chap spent 10 minutes trying to sell us a $100 a night upgrade then seemed to lose motivation when it was clear we didn't want it.
Overall this is a top hotel in a great location and when compared with similar standard hotels in other cities gives outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Spent 3 nights from 26th Dec as a couple.
The entrance of the place looks great on the inside.
The deluxe room was good size, bed comfortable and bathroom a good size.
Did not eat in hotel as it was not included
Found wifi in room was not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Tripadvisor says it. It is a luxury hotel in the heart of Shanghai. Price is very reasonable without sacrificing the quality and luxury/elegance the guest can have. Rooms are very spacious and well interiored. Its amenities and touch of golds made it feel like you are a prince/princess. I celebrated my birthday here and it feels like i had a good choice. They let me go for an early check in as early as the room was available. The check in procedure was fast. They even granted my request to have a great view on top, so they gave me a room overlooking the busy street of nanjing. Location was really fantastic. Walking distance to almost Shanghai's major attraction(the bund,nanjing shopping street,yu yuan) Starbucks and other restaurants are just around the corner. So it was never a hard time when you get hungry.

Would just like to comment about the foreign exchange counter. It feels like its not well maintained and properly working as it always rejected my money considering i had two currency to change. Tried almost all paper i had but really didnt accept it.
It would actually be fine but its just disappointing as the front office attendant didnt suggest any ways to help me but just rather said "sorry its not working".

Overall, the hotel features is absolutely amazing. Will definitely rate it as a 5star.
Staff just needs a little attention and training when it comes to hospitality and service.
Smiling and meeting guests expectation on service is a primary need to a 5star hotel like this one. (From the concierge,bell boys,front office,etc)
In a brighter side they were OK, just ok but not a staff service for a 5star hotel. Exception to the housekeeping department who were really friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was a good choice in Shanghai with a great lobby and large luxuray room. Breakfast was included, but they fought me because they said it wasn't . I should have given in and pasted on it, but the included part of the breakfast cost me 3 days in agony from something gone terribly bad. Our guide stopped for a little egg sandwich, and she was sicker than me. Golden rule - forget these breakfasts in the hotels they cost more than the room and the food is likely recycled. It was the first thing I ate in China, so NO I didnt get it from the plane!

Room Tip: ASK for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed there with a big group and everyone just loved it. My room was standard for a high end hotel and the bathroom was spacious. A true five stars hotel. This is a very elegant hotel and in a great location. It's walking distance from all major attractions (the bund, mint, etc.) The lobby is spacious with plenty of sitting areas to hang out and have a drink with friends while waiting to go out. We hung out there almost every night every heading out to dinner or to the clubs and bars near by. Coming back, we hung out again in the lobby and had cappuccinos before heading back to our rooms.

I plan to visit Shanghai in the near future and will definitely stay in this hotel again. I have very fond memories of my last visit and the convenient location of the hotel made it all that much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.