We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Central Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 3,928 Hotels in Shanghai
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent two nights there and the service as the rooms were really perfect.
We were located at the 12th floor, with a very quiet and comfortable room (large twin beds).
The bathroom is large with a shower separated from the toilet and from the bath tube. Quite convenient.
Excellent food too, as the dinner buffet was good particularly the pastries.
We did not have the breakfast buffet but just some good coffee and tea in the morning.
The prices are not very cheap but affordable for such a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    199
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
82
156
37
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

After our tour with AFFORDABLE ASIA we opted to extend our stay in Shanghai and booked 3 nights at the "GRAND CENTRAL HOTEL" What a great decision..This hotel had the most amazing location near Nanjing Road and the Bund..We ugraded to the executive level which included free WiFi, buffet breakfast, happy hour etc. etc. We were very lucky on our early checkin (12;00pm) to get room # 625 that had a view of Nanjing Road..All the staff we came into contact with at this hotel was wonderful..Upon checkin we noticed a light bulb in the closet was out and within 5 min a maid & engineer was there to replace it..This attention detail would continue throughout our entire stay..They couldn't seem to do enough for you.We had leftover pizza from our dinner one night and the next day the concierge staff heated it up for us for lunch .I also have no idea how they knew it was my husbands 65th birthday (maybe his passport) but that night a letter from the manager was in our room and a beautiful and delicious birthday cake & candles...We can't wait to return to this amazing 5 star hotel on our visit next year to Shanghai...Thank you so much Grand Central !!!!!!

Room Tip: Room # 625 Executive level AMAZING view !!! Quiet location !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in deluxe room, upon entering the room, the feeling is just so great! A lot of decorations are coated in gold color, so you feel like a king! It was very spacious and clean. They are very generous in providing everything you need. 2 sets of shower gels,shampoos, conditioner etc. The best thing is they have sea salt and scrub pad for you to enjoy in your bath tub. If you don't like soaking in bath tub, they have raining shower heads. They even have additional pillow selection like vanilla flavor, charcoal pillow, memory foam etc without any additional cost! This hotel also very near to people's square. Overall, this hotel give you a luxury feel at a reasonable price. Recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently travelled to China with a friend. We were in Beijing, Xian, Yanghtse Cruise, Shanghai and Hong Kong. I have to say all our accommodations were excellent but the Grand Central Hotel in Shanghai was amazing. It was like a 5 star hotel. The hotel and our room was luxurious. It was very spacious with 2 double beds. The bath and shower were huge. Our breakfast was included and what a breakfast. Also the location was so central especially to the shops which were at our doorstep. I had to write this review so others would not miss such a luxurious experience.

Room Tip: We asked for a room high up so we would not hear the traffic and we slept like logs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spent a couple of days here waiting out Hurricane Sandy. I was just looking for a cheap, decent place to stay, and picked the Grand Central based on positive Tripadvisor reviews. What a great place. I booked the cheapest room they had, overlooking the interior atrium. The room was simply amazing. Huge, beautifully laid out, high ceilings, well-lighted, ridiculously luxurious bathroom, plush towels and robes, comfortable bed (for China), French press coffee, free wired/wireless internet, good closet and bureau space, i-pod compatible radio. The housekeeping staff was excellent. Room service was fast, cheap, and tasty. A little issue with the front desk checking in, but fixed promptly and courteously. The lobby is huge and beautiful and a great place to have a drink, although the service was less attentive than it should have been. Terrific location, a block from Nanjing road and a short, pleasant walk to the Bund and People's Park. Lots of terrific little restaurants in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to get a standard room. No view, but quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in a standard double room, probably the best hotel room I ever stayed in. Big, nicely decorated, extremely clean and very good room service.

Rooms have cable internet connection. If you need wireless, just call room service and they will set up a wireless router in your room for free.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the Grand Central hotel for 5 nights at the end of September 2012, part business and part holiday.
We were on the 'executive' floor and it was certainly worth the small extra cost to have the dedicated check-in, separate freshly cooked breakfasts, free papers and internet access - as well as beers/soft drinks.
The rooms themselves were very spacious, with lovely bathrooms, large towels and quality toiletries.Quite quiet too.
The hotel lobby is busy but well staffed and very welcoming; we found that speaking in English was no problem to many of the staff. The hotel is excellently and centrally situated, not far from the Nanjing Road shops; the Bund and the Shanghai Museum - all are walkable. Go and enjoy the wonderful city of Shanghai - you'll love it!

Room Tip: Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 3,928 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.