We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 3 stars.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Shanghai Puxi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
London, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Only 3 stars.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My NON smoking room smelled like the smoking room at Tokyo Station ( a lot of cigarette smoke)
Electrical equipment should be renewed,
The air conditioning made problems a house technicians has to come.
Wifi is not free
Breakfast is ok
, could have more choices. sorry
The employees should speak better English.
My floor was badly worn
,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily S, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing the InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, we are sorry for your non-favorable experience, we will further investigate this case, we would appreciate if you could send us your contact email address, in order for us to report to you accordingly.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back and serve you as per the high standard of InterContinental hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    159
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
19
36
24
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

These rooms have every gadget imaginable! Even the toliet seat lifts up on its own! Very spacious and comfortable, plenty of room to have visitors comfortably. Location is across from the train station, very easy to get anywhere in Shanghai! Would stay again in a second.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily S, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for choosing our hotel, we are truly glad that you have enjoyed our facilities and convenience of transportation. We are looking forward to welcoming you for your next stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the last few years and it is a favorite!
I love the Intercontinental brand and this is a great modern version
Not too far from anywhere and with cabs and MTR so cheap it gives access to the whole of Shanghai
Big comfortable rooms and a great club lounge

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel almost a year with pleasant home feeling - home away home. Even they left IHG group last September, I managed to stay until early this year, throw all my points away only because the service and long term stay agreement... however, all people I knew, stayed with left and Sales could not honor anything but hike of price.... it pushed me, as a Loyal Ambassador member to other hotels, even Marriott in Shanghai.
Hearing Puxi hotel is back under the same GM - very happy. Booked one night for my friend and come to visit just want to try the feeling. Had dinner at 5th floor with friend. In general, seems the service is back, just no more familiar faces. Asked if anyone in Sales when talking with reservation, NO.

Maybe will try this month and National Holidays to taste the service hope my "old friend, old home" would be back! Hardware is better than other InterContinentals in Shanghai now just need the services back!

Wait and See by an old friend at InterContinental Puxi!!!

Room Tip: Room 3119 is the best view for a normal stay! Just asking for **19 rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily S, Director of Sales at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for such a warm and pleasant comments to our hotel. We are very proud and happy to be your home away from home, and for sure 100% continue to be. Sorry to respond you so late! We do have all the member benefits back to our loyalty clients like you. Do contact me when you are available, lily.song@icshanghaipuxi.com, I am director of sales & marketing of the hotel, look forward to your coming to stay with us very soon, and look forward to meeting you soon in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

What can I say about this hotel. Luxury business hotel not so well located.
Besides the lack of communication, which is something that we find all around China, (much better though compared to other) everything else was excellent.

The upgrade is something that really worths trying as there is not such a significant price difference, 40-50USD. Location not so great but not far away from downtown and the expo.

Breakfast excellent with a large choice of local and international tastes. It is slightly like a brunch, which really helps travelers with a significant time difference. Air conditioning too strong, almost cold and really high end electronic appliances in the rooms(Almost everything remote controlled, TV in the mirrors of the bathroom, full extra electronic toilet (a bit scary for a European traveller).

Spa was really good, a bit expensive though, and the indoor pool with an amazing view over Shanghai was good to relax, a bit small though.

Room Tip: The upgrade is something that really worths trying as there is not such a significant price differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days. When we arrived late we were welcomed by a staff at the entrance and then four of us were checked in immediately. The lobby is very grand and makes you feel like you have just entered a palace. We got in after 10 pm so the only option for us to get some dinner was the ground floor restaurant where they also serve breakfast. Service was unattentive, food just about edible and the wine list not worth the paper it was printed on as everything was out of stock! I stayed on the 28th floor and my room was very spacious and I liked the interior design. The also offer an espresso machine but you have to pay 20 rmb for each capsule. I liked the bathroom which had a really good shower and a big bathtub. Also loved the toilet which was ine of those you get in Japan with all these sepcial functions like a dryer! The Sichuan restaurant was very good and I like its ambiance. You can eat there but also order food from the Cantonese restaurant on the 5th floor. Breakfast offered a big selection across western, Chinese and Japanese dishes. The hotel is close to a train station but in the immediate vicinity there is not much except office buildings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent rooms but not the best of locations. Very spacious & technically equipped rooms - with great sound and video systems. A nice big tub, huge rain shower, separate & fully automated toilet! Freaky to sit on such gadgets. Good food & good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Address: No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#311 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Puxi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in two sleek glass buildings straddling a towering commercial structure in downtown Shanghai, InterContinental Shanghai Puxi is the first international luxury brand hotel in Shanghai’s Zhabei district, a fast emerging premier commercial and business area. With more than 3,125 square meters of state-of-the-art venues it has one of the most extensive allocations of facilities for conferences and social events in the west of Shanghai's Huangpu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Puxi Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.