We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, great service, good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Shanghai Puxi to your Saves list
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 4,068 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, great service, good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

These rooms have every gadget imaginable! Even the toliet seat lifts up on its own! Very spacious and comfortable, plenty of room to have visitors comfortably. Location is across from the train station, very easy to get anywhere in Shanghai! Would stay again in a second.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily S, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for choosing our hotel, we are truly glad that you have enjoyed our facilities and convenience of transportation. We are looking forward to welcoming you for your next stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the last few years and it is a favorite!
I love the Intercontinental brand and this is a great modern version
Not too far from anywhere and with cabs and MTR so cheap it gives access to the whole of Shanghai
Big comfortable rooms and a great club lounge

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel almost a year with pleasant home feeling - home away home. Even they left IHG group last September, I managed to stay until early this year, throw all my points away only because the service and long term stay agreement... however, all people I knew, stayed with left and Sales could not honor anything but hike of price.... it pushed me, as a Loyal Ambassador member to other hotels, even Marriott in Shanghai.
Hearing Puxi hotel is back under the same GM - very happy. Booked one night for my friend and come to visit just want to try the feeling. Had dinner at 5th floor with friend. In general, seems the service is back, just no more familiar faces. Asked if anyone in Sales when talking with reservation, NO.

Maybe will try this month and National Holidays to taste the service hope my "old friend, old home" would be back! Hardware is better than other InterContinentals in Shanghai now just need the services back!

Wait and See by an old friend at InterContinental Puxi!!!

Room Tip: Room 3119 is the best view for a normal stay! Just asking for **19 rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankLeeUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily S, Director of Sales at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for such a warm and pleasant comments to our hotel. We are very proud and happy to be your home away from home, and for sure 100% continue to be. Sorry to respond you so late! We do have all the member benefits back to our loyalty clients like you. Do contact me when you are available, lily.song@icshanghaipuxi.com, I am director of sales & marketing of the hotel, look forward to your coming to stay with us very soon, and look forward to meeting you soon in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

What can I say about this hotel. Luxury business hotel not so well located.
Besides the lack of communication, which is something that we find all around China, (much better though compared to other) everything else was excellent.

The upgrade is something that really worths trying as there is not such a significant price difference, 40-50USD. Location not so great but not far away from downtown and the expo.

Breakfast excellent with a large choice of local and international tastes. It is slightly like a brunch, which really helps travelers with a significant time difference. Air conditioning too strong, almost cold and really high end electronic appliances in the rooms(Almost everything remote controlled, TV in the mirrors of the bathroom, full extra electronic toilet (a bit scary for a European traveller).

Spa was really good, a bit expensive though, and the indoor pool with an amazing view over Shanghai was good to relax, a bit small though.

Room Tip: The upgrade is something that really worths trying as there is not such a significant price differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days. When we arrived late we were welcomed by a staff at the entrance and then four of us were checked in immediately. The lobby is very grand and makes you feel like you have just entered a palace. We got in after 10 pm so the only option for us to get some dinner was the ground floor restaurant where they also serve breakfast. Service was unattentive, food just about edible and the wine list not worth the paper it was printed on as everything was out of stock! I stayed on the 28th floor and my room was very spacious and I liked the interior design. The also offer an espresso machine but you have to pay 20 rmb for each capsule. I liked the bathroom which had a really good shower and a big bathtub. Also loved the toilet which was ine of those you get in Japan with all these sepcial functions like a dryer! The Sichuan restaurant was very good and I like its ambiance. You can eat there but also order food from the Cantonese restaurant on the 5th floor. Breakfast offered a big selection across western, Chinese and Japanese dishes. The hotel is close to a train station but in the immediate vicinity there is not much except office buildings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fos_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent rooms but not the best of locations. Very spacious & technically equipped rooms - with great sound and video systems. A nice big tub, huge rain shower, separate & fully automated toilet! Freaky to sit on such gadgets. Good food & good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senthil Kumar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The rooms are large and beautifully decorated. Great sound system. Nice bath products. Automatic curtains, automatic toilet and tv in mirror above sink are some nice perks. However, rooms are too warm and the breakfast is limited in choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThongSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#15 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Marriott Hotel City Centre
Marriott Hotel City Centre
#16 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Address: No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#150 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Puxi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in two sleek glass buildings straddling a towering commercial structure in downtown Shanghai, InterContinental Shanghai Puxi is the first international luxury brand hotel in Shanghai’s Zhabei district, a fast emerging premier commercial and business area. With more than 3,125 square meters of state-of-the-art venues it has one of the most extensive allocations of facilities for conferences and social events in the west of Shanghai's Huangpu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Puxi Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing