We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for hosting a conference near Shanghai City Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Shanghai Expo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China (World Expo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good place for hosting a conference near Shanghai City Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Recently, I stayed at the this hotel. I came away impressed with the location, the service and the facility.

It is an excellent property for a business or leisure stay. The food is very good too with excellent choices for vegetarians as well.

Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: English is a bit of a problem for most staff. So make sure you get a good person who knows English.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    125
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
28
32
20
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Unless your conference is in the expo building 5 minutes away, pick Pudong property.

Expo Interconti is new, spacious and luxurious with many pluses but you're 'on an island'

Plus;
- great gym. Spacious and lots of equipment
- nice large rooms with great river views

Bad !!
- Italian restaurant Basilico is a complete disaster. I went in w 2 colleagues at noon for quick bite. We were told pasta would be fast so we all ordered a pasta dish. 90 minutes later....we finally got a tasteless meal. I had to basically strangle 3 different 'suits'. I was able to see the kitchen area where the plates are being given to waiters. A 90 minute non stop disorganized chaos. Incredible the amount of incompetence I witnessed here. Don't eat there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and your positive feedback about our hotel's facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall in service and quality in our Italian restaurant. Rest assured we have taken the necessary measures to improve on the items you mentioned. We have recently hired a new Chef de Cuisine for the restaurant and you will be pleased to know that we are getting a lot of positive feedback from our guests regarding the service and food quality. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

At the end of a far eastern cruise last month, we were booked in at the Intercontinental Expo hotel in Shanghai for two nights on a bed and breakfast basis in a superior room. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a club room at a cost of £75 for the two nights. We agreed to the offer and what a good decision that turned out to be. For the additional sum we had a wonderful room on he 22nd floor overlooking the river. Also included was breakfast in the Executive room on the 26th floor, free Internet, coffee and tea 24 hours a day and complimentary food and drinks from 5pm to 8 pm daily. We did not have to eat in the restaurant. In fact, we did not have to spend anything on food and drinks.

The staff were excellent and the hotel is probably the best we have ever stayed in. We would definitely stay there again if we ever visit Shanghai again. The hotel is someway from the main tourist attractions, but taxis are cheap so this is not a problem. Definitely worth its six star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and sharing your comments with us! We are delighted to hear you had a great stay in our club room. All of us will continuously work hard to exceed our guests' expectations and ensure you will have an even better stay when you come back. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in China and this would be one of the best.
The rooms were immaculate and the facilities were second to none. The pool and fitness centre was unbelievable . I would have no problem in saying the indoor pool was probably the best I have seen in the world. Well done

Room Tip: Look at getting an Ambassador card if you are staying at the IHG chain it gives you free up grades a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and share your comment with us! We are so delighted to hear you did have a nice stay with us and our rooms, fitness and swimming pool give you a good impression. Hope you will come to our hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

i just want to say: Great!!!
Intercontinental Expo in shanghai is an unbelievable hotel
my wife and i were there last year for our anniversary and we'd really enjoyed of being there.
Foods were fantastic and also our room was very nice,bed was comfortable,room materials and furniture were great, and the most important thing that i remember is the magnificent view that our room had to the Huangpu River.

I personally recommend this hotel and finally i should mention that this hotel has very good access to city center and also many places for visiting.

enjoy your vacation

Room Tip: try to choose rooms opposite the river,...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we can't wait to welcome you back to our hotel. It is a pleasure to have you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was my very first time to China, Shanghai. I was very curious about Shanghai, and now I strongly recommend to visit Shanghai to my friends. There is a reason that I fall in love with Shanghai is InterContinental Shanghai Expo. Very nice facilities, and also staff were friendly. Manager greeted every single guest and tried to make guests feel that they are cared well. I was impressed by staff's hospitality. I love to visit again this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience regarding your recent stay! We are very glad to hear our good service give you a big impression. Hope you will come back to Shanghai again and we would love to invite you to stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental for the best part of a week while attending an exhibition at Shanghai Expo, which is just 10 minutes away. The hotel was fantastic – everything you need in the room (including AMAZING beds and superb views of the Yangtze River), loads of great facilities in the hotel (the gym was one of the best I've seen; the bars and restaurants stay open till pretty late), and very, very courteous staff. A steady stream of taxis is on hand to take you into Shanghai – just a 30 RMB fare away. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view – out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us! Fantastic river view, good facilities and best service are all the highlights of hotel. We also offer free shuttle bus service to reach the CBD every morning. It will be much more convenient for the business guests. Look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#326 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Priceline and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Shanghai Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.