We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it was a bit more central it would be a must!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Shanghai Expo to your Saves list
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China (World Expo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #39 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portugal
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“If it was a bit more central it would be a must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location is a bit far from everything, but it is a fantastic hotel. The area around was built for the expo and now it looks like a desert city. There are no restaurants within a walking distance and the few that you can find are not very nice.
In any case you can have a great meal at the hotel as the food is very good. Same apply for the breakfast which is fantastic. The rooms are very spacey and if you have a river view room it is a great view. The equipment in the room is very good with a wide LCD a fantastic boose hi fi system and iPod dock s system.
The manager is very attentive to your requests.

Room Tip: Try to have a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Indeed the area around the hotel right now is not very busy yet, however with a short taxi ride of 5 minutes taxi you can reach the Mercedes the Benz Arena with multiple dining and entertainment options. Taking the taxi for 8-10 minutes will take you to the center of Lujiazui where the options for eating, drinking and shopping are endless. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    146
    41
    8
    6
See reviews for
36
40
32
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our family of five recently spent a night at this hotel as part of a 'staycation' (we live in Shanghai, an hour west of Pudong). Our corner room was well-designed, modern and clean, and everything was in good working order. With floor-to-ceiling windows, the views along the Huangpu River were impressive and our daughters (aged 9,5,2) loved watching the river traffic. There was fruit available in the room and a platter of turkish delight and coconut macaroons delivered in the evening.

The grounds were a surprise - large park area with playground equipment and kids entertainment. We loved the ambience of the Liquor Factory and spent the evening hanging out with the kids playing pool and enjoying a glass or two of wine. It was refreshing to have somewhere so pleasant within a hotel to spend the evening with the children.

The gym and hotel swimming pool were impressive. There's a nice albeit short boardwalk along the river across the road from the hotel with interesting sculptures.

We ate breakfast and brunch at the restaurant on-site on Sunday. While the food was of good quality and variety, service was fairly woeful. The local waitstaff were simply undertrained for such an establishment. For example, I had to ask for our cappuccinos three times before they were delivered to the table. I had received a cup of hot milk at one point! Actually, I think a single patron at a neighbouring table received our original beverages from a frazzled waitress.

Overall, this was a great hotel for us to stay for the weekend with the kids. Not the right location if you want to get out and explore Shanghai though as this part of town is very very quiet now that expo has finished. Remember to pack swimwear and gymwear to take advantage of the facilities available.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with river views on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your great experience with us. We are pleased that you did enjoy your time in our hotel and really appreciate your great recognition. Looking forward to having you stay with us many more times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

During my 12 days stay at this hotel 2nd September to 13th September i found the hotel to be very welcoming and comfortable right from being received on arrival by the concierge, to check in and then being shown all the facilities in the room. The room itself is really spacious and well appointed and is even suited for extended stays.
To work the Concierge very efficient in organizing taxi to my place of work and assisting in overcoming the language barrier with very clear directions.

The other services like Laundry and Housekeeping were excellent and very prompt. The Breakfast spread has to be seen to be believed as is the Dinner Buffet.In my opinion, both are reasonably priced and if you want to indulge try the Chinese Restaurant
I would highly recommend this hotel for any business traveler as it is a peaceful place to be after a hectic day and has all facilities to indulge in and relax.
The slight location disadvantage that this hotel has currently, will not for long, is more than overcome the way they look after their guests, nothing is too much for them and are also willing to assist.
Mumbai RD

Room Tip: Book a River Facing room and enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are honored to have great recognition from you. Sincerely invite you to stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was built to wow VIPs and honored guests during Shanghai's Expo and is situated close to the grounds. The quality of the build-out and facilities is top-notch. The health club and exercise areas rivals any premium gym in the city and the pool is luxurious. Post-expo I get the feeling that the hotel is hustling to deal with the slump and the relatively uninspiring neighborhood surrounding the property. The hotel has a wonderful garden area and converted liquor factory on the grounds for entertainment. As other posters have noted the neighborhood is rather dismal and there is nothing much going on in this part of town. However, joggers will love the waterfront park areas and relative peace and calm of the streets around here. Suites are definitely 5 star quality with corner rooms that have stunning views of the huangpu and skyline. The restaurants we tried in the hotel itself are competent and what you would expect from a solid four-star kitchen. Staffing is hit and miss, and you are definitely going to experience "China moments" from time to time. Nothing a China hand wouldn't be used to.

It will be interesting to note how the management handles the transition from VIP pit to regular working hotel in the next few years. I suppose the expectation is that the old Expo area will develop further and provide some business and "software" for the infrastructure in the area. This being China that is far from certain. In the meantime I suppose that they will have to make do off of event management and big shows at the Mercedes Benz arena up the road.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel for airline staff, frequent travellers that need access to PVG, business travellers going in and out of pudong and the new area, or anyone who's business for whatever reason requires them to be on the Pudong side. Not so great for tourists, night life lovers and those who want to be where the action is. Having said that - Taxis are cheap and easily available and the deals presented here make this an affordable luxury. Also ideal for Shanghai long term residents who want to just get away in their own city for a bit of pampering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We really appreciated for your suggestions that enable us to work on areas where we have room for improvement. We hope we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We live in Shanghai and choose to have a “staycation” at this hotel primarily due to an event that was being held there. Over the two day stay we enjoyed the pool, room service, outdoor facilities, and fabulous Sunday brunch.

Check-in was a breeze, the staff were friendly, spoke excellent English, and were familiar with the group and the purpose of our visit. Our room was on the northwest corner of the hotel which provided amazing view of the Pu River - both north (Lujiazui where the BIG buildings are) and south (Expo and Lupu bridge). When we entered the room there were sweets and fruit prepared and welcoming us - enough for the whole family!

Food: The buffet is open 24 hours and offers a little bit of something for everyone. We ate breakfast there two mornings but the highlight was the amazing Sunday brunch (starts at 12:00 so if you have children, you will want to have a little breakfast). The highlights for our family were the Sushi for mom, burgers (outside on the grill) for dad and chocolate fountain for our daughter. There’s carving stands, dimsum, and made-to-order Vietnamese spring rolls. Service a breakfast was great - when I asked for coffee, the waitstaff turned to my daughter to ask if she wanted hot milk or hot chocolate. So nice to remember the kids! However, during the brunch, service was a little slow and had to request drinks more than once. We did order room service one night and I was pleasantly surprised to see options for children on the menu - food was delivered within 30 minutes (key for hungry kids).

Facilities: The hotel has amazing grounds with a great yard and play equipment for the kids. During the Sunday Brunch the hotel provides activities for the kiddos that are outside of the dinning area, but in a safe, confined area with supervision. The pool are is fantastic and well designed - you can do laps, and they have these semi-circle shallow areas where you can sit with the kids. The hot tub is huge and extremely enjoyable. Lounge beds/chairs throughout and a small patio to enjoy the sun. Like many pools in China, they require a swim cap, and they will provide if you don’t have one - the rule is not strictly enforced. Inside the locker rooms are a steam room and sauna. We didn’t use the gym, but I stuck my head in and it is a good size (not just a small hotel gym), well equipped, including a spin room. The bar is located outside where the hotel has a villa complex of old brick buildings - very relaxing, spacious, and fun.

Area: We spent the whole visit within the hotel grounds, and I do wish we had explored the river walk and more of the area. I do agree with other posts that the hotel is not centrally located, but it was very easy to get a taxi.

Without hesitation I recommend this hotel for anyone living in or visiting Shanghai!

Room Tip: As for a corner room with a great view up and down the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to share your detailed comments with us! We are happy to hear the great experience you had with us and thank you also for pointing out an area where we need to work on.Thanks again for your recommendation and welcome back to you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great hotel to kick back after a long flight. The room itself was modern and spacious, with a fabulous view of the city and river. The view at night is especially spectacular with high rise / city lights surrounding the river.

Though the hotel is nestled away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Shanghai, taxis are cheap and efficient and metered if you needed to get around. The concierge were happy to organise transport.

The bathroom was also spacious sporting it's own entertainment system! Even equipped with weighing scales to monitor your indulgences when you're away in Shanghai!

Spa amenities were good. Swimming pool, heated pool, gym and steam rooms (separate for males and females).

Breakfast had a good selection - patisserie, cooked european breakfast, cold meats and Asian. I recommend the yoghurt to start. The lounge / club area was a treat. We enjoyed canapés and pre-dinner beverages with a great view.

Make sure you check out the gardens within the hotel complex - great for a walk in the morning after breakfast.

Shanghai is a busy city - the hotel was a nice space of calm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your feeling with us. We are very happy to hear you have a great stay with us. We hope you and your family will come to our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here while doing an Expo on the 17th September 2012. Its a 30 minute brisk walk from the hotel to the Expo or Exhibition centre; OK if the weathers good. Otherwise its a short taxi ride. Downside is that its on the wrong side of the river for any evening entertainment on the Bund or in the French Concession area. Later in the evening Taxi drivers were either very reluctant to travel across the river back to the Expo hotel or claimed not to understand the address and map provided by the Hotel. Using the Metro gets you some of the way back but still only gets you a Taxi ride away from the Hotel.
Overall, a clean. modern, fresh International hotel that only lacked a good bar that is a starting point for an Expo Hotel. The bar here is like an afterthought that they have put in a nearby shed adjacent to the hotel. It is vaguely styled as a US sports bar; albeit adorned with Union Jacks?

Room Tip: If your not a member of the loyalty program, join as you check in and instantly get free late check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your comments with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our Liquor Factory in the 1930s original villas, that are located in our hotel gardens were previously the residence and the dormitory for China National Liquor Factory management. After conversion into a Britsh Style Pub with a modern design edge, we offer you a bar atmosphere, separate cigar lounge, out door pool table as well as live screening of major sports events. With the development of nearby business areas early next year, the location of the hotel will become more and more convenient. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#235 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Shanghai Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.