We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business and Tourist Hotel with International Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai

Save Saved
You added Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.500 Gushan Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200233, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Chicago
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Business and Tourist Hotel with International Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed a number of nights at the Minya Hotel. This is a hotel that knows how to service a variety of both business and tourist guests from all over the world. Along with check-in the reception desk was immediatly very helpful with offering maps and information about what to do while in Shanghai.

Rooms were comfortable and we enjoyed the bathroom shower and amenities. View from the room is of a major high rise construcion zone. So not very pleasant and sort of an eyesore. However, we were higher up in the hotel and did not hear any construction noise. Since our time there was to sleep, it was not a bother to us.

Bar and resturant were a plus at the Minya. Variety and selection of wine and Western style food was an appropriate balance along with Asian choices. After a touring China for 15 days and eating the same type food for every meal, a few friends were thrilled to find a burger and fries on the menu.

It is farther out in the Pudong district, so be aware its about a 30 minute cab ride into Shanghai/The Bund area. The hotel will give you a business card with a small map on it (in english and chinese) that you give to the cab driver when you want to come back to the hotel for the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
4
1
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel, at least for my needs was exceptional for the money. Rather than staying towards the more central business area of Pudong near Century Ave, this hotel offered me an ideal room. It is about a 15-20 minute drive to the more central area of Pudong, but if you have local hosts that will pick you up and drop you off each day, it hardy makes a difference. I got one of the larger rooms, and found it to be clean, well appointed and conformable. I'd like to have had a few more bottles of water and towels, and never found the free wifi signal. The wifi didn't bother me, as I travel with a portable router and simply plugged it into the hotels wired connection and it worked without a hitch.

My room came with breakfast, and I found it to be more acceptable than breakfasts I have had at other so called 5 star Chinese hotels. Breakfast at the Shangri-La of course is far better, but for the price of a room here, I found it more than acceptable.

Staff were pleasant, and check-in and check-out were smooth and quick.

I paid for a 3 night stay less than what my travelling companions paid for a single night at the Ritz Carlton. The only concession being that I was always picked up 20 minutes ahead of them. For the business traveller this is a good choice, and will likely be my choice for future trips to Shanghai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights before our tour and 2 nights at the end of our tour as part of the package. We received 3 beds for the family of 4. The hotel conceigre was great. Helped us purchase tickets for the train from shanghai to beijing. The staff also called taxi for us and showed us where to go for the nearest shopping mall which was 10 min by taxi.
The metro is about 10min walk away. The location is not central and we could not find a laundry place. However we were able to take the metro to the shanghai zoo.
The room was a smoking room with a musty smell, the bathroom was large. The breakfast had a good selection.
The only issue I had was there was no wifi in the room so it was fortunate we brought one labtop for the cable. As we had 2 ipads.
As for swimming pool we looked but did not use. There was a games area also for ping pong and basketball if I was not mistaken.
The staff spoke mandarin and fortunately we spoke conversational Mandarin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and at the end of our Shanghai and area packaged tour. Our first room was well appointed and clean, but our second room had a strange layout - pillar through the room and the lighting was very dim. In both cases, the rooms turned out to be smoking rooms and we could detect a faint odor of smoke - we neglected to ask for a non-smoking room - not sure if they had any. Overall, the hotel had a very liberal smoking policy - the only place that didn't seem to allow smoking were the restaurants. The Chinese restaurant on the second floor was pretty good - service was good although the staff had very little English. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of both Western and Chinese dishes. The front desk staff were good for the most part with one exception, and their English was passable. The concierge on the other hand had limited English and concierge skills. Overall, no real complaints about this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a few days at one of the smaller (and cheaper) rooms. The room was in good condition, but a poor layout did not do anything good for the small room.

No wifi in the room, but a decent LAN connection.

The breakfast is ok while not being on top. Other food in the main restaurant is pretty bad. However, there is a much better chinese restaurant on 4th floor (they had a brilliant mushroom dish and several other good dishes). They will soon open a japanese and italian restaurant too.

The staff was extremely poor in english and in general not very helpful.

Went to the pool ones and had to by a cap for 68 RMB. Not worth it at all as the pool was one of those that has been designed more for the eye than to actually swim in.

Overall an ok hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is my third stay in Minya, Shanghai and it's still a good option for the travellers wanna be near the Pudong Exhibition.

The hotels location is very convenient for reaching to exhibition venue in rush hours also very nearby connections to Zhangyang road.

Although the hotel provides comfortable rooms, I was not happy with the unprofessional service, language problems etc in my previous visits. But this time I experience better service. Especially the front desk staff improved a lot.

I'd be definetly staying there next time in Pudong for exhibiton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My stay with the hotel was from 13th. Nov 2012 to 17th Nov 2012. I had a pretty close schedule with my work. The room was --!!!??? The bathroom were dirty with uncleaned floors in the shower area. The fresh linen had a funny odour on to it!!!!. Wjile I checked in as it was provided by the organisers, I was demanded for a deposit since there was a mini bar!!??? in the nroom. Whilst I had informed it was insisted that I should pay the advance,next to me a couple from Mexico too were not spared. The ignorance of English language had made me perfect my miming skills explaning the requirements and getting it done. The breakfast spread was quite good with choices as per international standards.The staff were not that proactive, rather had no eye contact to understand our requirements.. The Housekeeping staff were not in viscinity but the room was always set while I entered my room. The locker, the amenities were there enough. I had no opportunity to utilize their in house dining facility. The wake up calls were prompt.I total a nice place to have a adventerous stay.

Room Tip: Good for a business trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai

Address: No.500 Gushan Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200233, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.