We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop Bar with a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Shanghai to your Saves list
The Peninsula Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.32 Zhongshan East First Road, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Rooftop Bar with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and loved the spacious and stylish art déco style rooms. While the view from the rooms was already impressive, we were definitely wowed when we stepped onto the rooftop bar, from which (weather permitting) you can see the Bund and all of Pudong with its impressive skyline. Breakfast, however, was on the modest side, and Salon de Ning, like most of the other venues, was usually empty.
All in all, a very good choice in Shanghai but somewhat lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Swissgirl69,Thank you for your review of The Peninsula Shanghai. I am glad to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the rooms and views. With regards to breakfast, while we understand many hotels offer a hot buffet our aim is to provide a freshly cooked, hot breakfast for every guest. Each guest can order as many hot items from the menu as they would like and supplement this with our selection from the Continental buffet. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    137
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
107
234
33
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is located on the river bank facing the famous skyline with the beautiful towers. The rooms with the river view got windows from Ceiling to floor and you have this amazing view from every corner in the room. My room was huge and very well equipped. Just the perfect hotel for Shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear rdkl,
Thank you for comments about your stay with us. We are fortunate to have a wonderful location which affords us spectacular views. I look forward to your return visit soon.

Kind regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This beautifully appointed hotel has it all! Everything has been thought out so brilliantly in the rooms you don't want to leave -- a dressing room with a private valet box and nail dryers; multiple lighting plans that go from work to relaxation at the push of a button; comfortable beds; a large bathroom big enough for a football team; triple sound-proofed windows; gauges for the indoor and outdoor temperature, humidity and wind speed. Impeccable service. The nicest indoor hotel pool in Asia. A breakfast buffet and menu with fresh baked pastries, and western and Asian choices that will guarantee weight gain (duck crepes are amazing and irresistible). They even bring you a wet towel at breakfast to remove the newsprint from your fingers. When my traveling companion fell ill the concierge translated all the names of his medicines into Chinese and called the pharmacy. When a last minute ticket was needed to the Opera, someone from the hotel jumped into a cab and grabbed the last one (2nd row!). And there are shops to satisfy a billionaire. This hotel is worth traveling to, even if you don't have to be in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Go for the river view king rooms -- they are double width facing the Bund, the morning kite flying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear columbuscirclenyc,

Thank you for you wonderful review of The Peninsula Shanghai and I am delighted to know you did not want to leave us! I appreciate your kind comments about the staff and service, this is very gratifying to hear.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Peninsula Shanghai again soon.

Best wishes,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

this hotel is gorgeous,the rooms are probably the most luxurious and well conceived I have ever seen or stayed, service is efficient with a smile, pool is gorgeous and empty,breakfast is good but could use more variety..this is definitely the hotel where locals want to be seen...reason I did not give it a higher rating is that food was a bit bland for diner at the lobby cafe , and that some employees spoke poor English!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We've stayed for 4 nights in a twin room and everything was perfect!!! The room was huge and really beatiful! The view to the back street and park was not the best, but even though it was beautiful! The hotel is very well maintained and the staff was very polite and very effective! We tried all the restaurants and were really well impressed! The views of the 13th floor bar (the one on the 14th was not openned, however we were not informed about that...) are impressive!!! The price was not high assuming the quality of the hotel, but I assume the rates are normally low during the winter....Highly recommended!!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Joao129,
Thank you for you wonderful review of The Peninsula Shanghai and I am delighted to know everything was “perfect”! I appreciate your kind comments about the staff and service, this is very gratifying to hear. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Peninsula Shanghai again soon, perhaps once Sir Elly’s Terrace on the 14th Floor reopens in April!

Best wishes,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The peninsula hotel shanghai is definitely at the top of its game in shanghai. The location, design, facilities and amenities are top notch. The service is robotic and lacks the personal touch. The chinese and western restaurant are great! The rooms are comfortable and location is convenient enough to get around. one min walk to the bund waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear travelerkit,
Many thanks for reviewing The Peninsula Shanghai. I am glad that you found our hotel to be “top notch” and enjoyed our restaurants. I appreciate your comment about the service, I shall reiterate this important feedback with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

By far one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels you could ever experience, great location, grand cozy rooms full of hi-tech gadgets, spacious walking closets and amazing bathrooms you don't want to leave the room ever, the fluffy sofa by the entertainment area and the work desk is just he perfect complement to relax, unwind and even send a couple of mails to the office not to feel so guilty about been far end enjoying life.
Don't forget to go to Mr Ellis the restaurant and bar on top, sip your favorite drink and stare at the amazing and futuristic Pudong's sky line, Salon de Ning is a must for jazz and live music lovers.

Room Tip: Even if most people fight over for the river/skyline view, the ones looking over the courtyard are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Villasantiago,
Thank you for your colorful review of our hotel. I am glad to know that you found the accommodation so comfortable. Our unique Salon de Ning is indeed a “must see” so I am glad you were able to enjoy it!

Best wishes,

Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Shanghai

Address: No.32 Zhongshan East First Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#294 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Bund with spectacular views of the Bund, Huangpu River, Pudong and former British Consulate gardens, The Peninsula Shanghai perfectly blends with the historic architecture of its landmark neighbours. The Peninsula Shanghai, which opened in October 2009, is the first new building to be constructed on the historic Bund in over 60 years. Offering the best of Peninsula traditions and a range of signature services and facilities, including Shanghai's largest guestrooms and the city's highest staff-to-guest ratio, The Peninsula also heralds the return of parent company, The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited, to Shanghai where it owned and operated four of the city's premier hotels in the 1920s to 1940s - The Kalee, The Astor House, The Palace and The Majestic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.