We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Shanghai

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.32 Zhongshan East First Road, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #5 of 3,837 hotels in Shanghai
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed in many hotel's around the world and this was right up there with the best of them, we were in Shanghai for my birthday and stayed for five days. We arrived early in the morning expecting not to have our room ready until the afternoon but was surprised when they said it was.
Our room was on the fourth floor with a view over the entrance to the hotel, It was very big to go with the massive bed and a nice lounge area, Just off the bedroom was a dress room / wardrobe with plenty room for getting ready, the bathroom was amazing with a very large deep bath with a TV at the end, separate shower, 2 wash hand basins and of course a toilet, there was lot of gadgets in the room for spa lighting, electric blinds, music, tv and phone.

We spent an hour and a half having afternoon tea and champagne in the lobby lounge, Afternoon tea is expensive but a must for the cakes and the band.
The hotel is in a great location of Nanjing Road for shopping and the Bund, Taxis are very cheap if you needed to go further.

We ate in the Chinese restaurant which I have forgotten the name of and had the signature menu which was a bit of everything some very good and some not so but please we tried it, its was not that busy when we went at 9pm so better getting out early. We found the restaurants out of the hotel much better, notably Mr and Mrs Bund (French) which I have to say was the best food I have ever had anywhere also Morton's (American) another good place both with great views.

For the fist couple of days we were there is wasn't that nice with a bit of rain and fog so the terrace bar was closed, when it was opened it was very nice with great views of all of Shanghai although a little expensive.

There are many high bars and restaurants which allow you to see the views over the Bund, must go place's Vue bar top of the Hyatt, Flair bar top of the Ritz, Mr and Mrs Bund restaurant with views over the financial district and another for food and drink is House of Roosevelt on the 6th floor opposite the Peninsula.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    120
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
95
200
32
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent hotel from start to finish. Stayed in SHG also at the Waldorf which was great but this was better.

Didn't have our room when we checked in at 7pm sat so they upgraded us. Excellent room, excellent amenities, nespresso machine, free voip international calls, everything touch sensored.

The spa/pool was beautiful, clean, very nice locker room and wonderful indoor pool.

Only issue was the breakfast is not a traditional buffet, but breads/cheese/pastries and a la carte as well - was good but not the best, but not a major issue.

All in all an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Definitely river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Peninsula last month for the first few days of our visit to China and were impressed with the hotel and its location - the only drawback was the lack of customers in the hotel's bars and restaurants so generally we were the only people there.

A good safety aspect of the hotel was the room key which was similar to a Yale metal key and operated the bedroom and had to be inserted into the slot in the main lifts before you could chose your floor.

The service especially at breakfast was exemplary and it was nice to see other guests. There was a buffet containing all sorts of fruits, breads, meats, yoghurts etc, but we had cooked breakfast each day to sustain us during our sightseeing. Our choice was presented with only a very short wait and fresh orange juice and coffee were continually topped up.

Our room 713, had a huge walk in closet opposite the bathroom with a well lit mirror and plugs conveniently sited for the hairdryer which was one of the best I have used in any hotel it had an ion charge and gentle button and made my hair really smooth and no static, in fact I asked the concierge if I could buy one or where to buy one but they were unable to help. Another bonus in the dressing room was a nail dryer for your manicure - how great is that!!!

The black veined marble bathroom had two sinks, walk in shower, separate bath and loo (but no bidet). Thick white fluffy towels and bathrobes all bore the P monogram. One of my bottles of shower gel had leaked in my toiletries bag so I had to rinse it out and when I came back into the room the chambermaid had laid all the contents out in a tidy row for me. My husband had some shirts laundered and the service was very quick with the shirts returned as new.


The seating area of our room had a desk with free wifi connection and a telphone which advertised free international calls. I made one call home to confirm our safe arrival but when I tried to make another call the line was "unavailable". To the side of the desk was a comfy 2-seater sofa and a small round coffee table with fruit bowl and beautiful floral arrangement of fresh red roses in a square black lacquer box. A giant screen TV, video recorder and CD player formed the entertainment section. The refreshments cupbard had a choice of teas and a plumbed in Nespresso coffee machine so you didn't have to bother filling the water reservoir, beautifully patterned dainty porcelain cups and saucers complemented the beverage selection.

The windows had electronically operated net blinds and black out curtains but with the everchanging viiews of the Bund and the river traffic it was not a scene that you would want to close out.

Finally the bed - this was king size with freshly laundered white bedlinen each day, our bed had a duvet but not one of those great heavy things you get in some hotels it was light and comfortable and aided a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was very impressed with hotel grand Art Deco style I booked the regular rooms and asked for connecting rooms and got them on arrival I wanted to upgrade to a suite but the hotel was fully booked any way their was no need the rooms are big like Junior suites the connecting rooms have a privet door the rooms have a walk in closets even a nail dryer If you happen to need one ! The service is excellent the spa very good I was on a tour in china this was the last stop in main land china my kids where getting grumpy but once here no one wanted to leave my daughter had a cold that suddenly got better
The hotel has kid activities the only negative thing was that the pool was cold and that I got late charges of room service and mini bar that once one leaves its kind of inconvenient and difficult to remember , other wise it was great experience I highly recommend this hotel and if I ever come back to shanghai I would certainly stay here !

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived from Beijing on the amazing bullet train; an experience in itself and mistakenly opted to take a taxi rather than use the wonderful Peninsula pickup service. We were amazed when the line for cabs, which appeared to stretch forever, efficiently dispatched us to the hotel in 15 minutes (NYC and Amtrak would do well to try to emulate the Chinese in their efficiency).

The hotel is perfectly located in an ideal spot on the Bund, facing the famous Shanghai harbor. As is usual for the Peninsula, we were graciously whisked through reception and escorted to our room where our luggage had preceded us. We had reserved a harbor view room but thanks to our Andrew Harper membership, were upgraded to a fabulous suite, the size of a comfortable one bedroom apartment with a good sized living room overlooking the spectacular harbor. The Peninsula amenities, electronic and otherise are too numerous to list but the free worldwide internet telephone service is a wonderful bonus. The service exceeds expecations and the food in all of the restaurants was excellent. Needless to say we were reluctant to leave the hotel to explore the city.

I cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: It is well worth the extra charge for a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 night in Shanghai. Since they picked us up from the airport, untill they brough us back to the airport, their service was excellent. The check in was done in our room, and the lady who did, explained all the facilities in the room. The room was quite spacious, beuaitufl and very modern, especially everything was controlled by electronic, that was impressive.
The gym was great, we could see the garden along the street, when we use treadmill. The spa was beautiful, only I rate 4 stars because my therapist was out of my expectation. However, beside this, breakfast, lanudry service, internet, and international calls service using skype system were great. If we have change to visit in Shanghai, we would love to back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is great hotel. Good location on the bund. And you can walk to it from the nearest Metro/Tube station. Otherwise the room was very posh. With a lovely view, Double sinks in the bathroom. And excellent internet services available. Only downside was the the price of the breakfast. I found the prices on the breakfast menu a bit expensive. But that is to be expected if you're staying at a luxy hotel like the Peninsula. All in all, a good hotel. And highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Shanghai

Address: No.32 Zhongshan East First Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#11 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#343 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Shanghai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Bund with spectacular views of the Bund, Huangpu River, Pudong and former British Consulate gardens, The Peninsula Shanghai perfectly blends with the historic architecture of its landmark neighbours. The Peninsula Shanghai, which opened in October 2009, is the first new building to be constructed on the historic Bund in over 60 years. Offering the best of Peninsula traditions and a range of signature services and facilities, including Shanghai's largest guestrooms and the city's highest staff-to-guest ratio, The Peninsula also heralds the return of parent company, The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited, to Shanghai where it owned and operated four of the city's premier hotels in the 1920s to 1940s - The Kalee, The Astor House, The Palace and The Majestic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Peninsula Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.