We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Shanghai to your Saves list
The Peninsula Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.32 Zhongshan East First Road, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Beautiful luxury hotel on a magnificent location. Excellent service, wonderful rooms, beautiful bathrooms!
Free wi fi, free international calls.
This hotel has no "cons" at all!
It is just perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    127
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
102
218
32
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I've stayed at many Peninsular hotels, all good, but this is far and away the best. Opened in 2011, you are met at the door by two people, doors are opened by four people and once checked in, shown to your room by the person who checked you in, to show you 'how the room works'. Two minutes later, the bags you left at the main entrance are delivered to you room.

The hotel is opulent without being over the top and has a 1930's Art Deco feel. I'm not sure how many rooms there are, but it has a boutique feel about and and there are staff everywhere.

The gym is excellent and although I didn't use it, the pictures of the pool look stunning. I used the Chinese restaurant and the bar, both were very good. First night in I called room service, again excellent service and food. I was upgraded top a room with a view over the Bund and it's a great location for pleasure or business.

Cannot rate it highly enough.

Room Tip: You would expect the rooms overlooking the Bund to be noisier than those at the back of the hotel, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

"There's no point travelling unless it's nicer than being at home". The Peninsula Shanghai is one of a very small number of hotels in the world which satisfies this statement. It mixes comfort and technology to brilliant effect - indeed, I'm writing this in a wi-fi enabled limousine on the way to the airport. Our room overlooking the former British Consulate was a brilliant piece of art deco-inspired modern interior design and aesthetically simply streets ahead of recently-built hotels we've stayed in from Four Seasons and others.

We travelled to Shanghai in the low season and our room package included valuable features - breakfast, limousine airport transfers, unlimited laundry service, free internet and free global phone calls using the excellent VOIP phone in the room - all of which added up to a compelling value proposition, too.

Excellent all round.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel itself is great and is super convenient to the Bund but not for shopping (Nanjing rd / Huai Hai rd) nor for the Pudong business center. Free parking for guests. The rooms are spacious, bright and modern. Service was above and beyond, airport transfers while pricey were great on both arrival and departure with wifi in the car. The electronic controls for everything for the most part worked, although slow. Great blinds create a pitch dark space even during the middle of the day. Bathtub was comfortable and walk in closets were huge. Indoor swimming pool & large jacuzzi were great for a cold winter's stay, the gym was well equipped.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in -19 have great morning sun but overlook the roof of the pool complex so might not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I don't usually bother to write reviews for the 5-star chain hotels, but our experience with the Peninsula Shanghai was so subpar that I feel I ought to give fellow travelers a heads up, and suggest they head to the Waldorf Astoria instead. I know the hotel is new, but there is really no excuse for the poor service – this hotel is in a totally different league than its counterparts in Hong Kong and New York.

We arrived in the evening after 25 hours of traveling, exhausted and missing my husband’s suitcase. We asked the concierge if he could please follow up with the airline to find out whether they had located the bag & what time the next day it might arrive. He promised he would. We never heard from him again.

We found clothes for my husband in the Peninsula's shopping arcade. Something was wrong with the shop's credit card terminal, so we went to the concierge’s desk – maybe 50 meters away - to ask if he could please arrange for the items to be put on our hotel bill and have them sent to our room when the tailor was finished. This is the kind of softball request that any rookie concierge ought to be able to handle in his sleep, but apparently it was too much for him. First he suggested that there must be something wrong with our credit card (a quick call to amex’s platinum line confirmed that, yes, our card was fine). Then he told us to walk 5 blocks in the dark, through the pouring rain, to the nearest ATM to withdraw cash (there is no ATM in the hotel). We asked again, gently, if the item couldn't be put on our bill. He said he didn't think so but would check with the duty manager - but he didn't know where she was. Another employee later found us in the dining room and said she'd try to help, but for reasons that are still unclear to us, was unable to actually do anything at all about it. So my husband was stuck in his first day of meetings in the clothes he’d worn on the plane.

The restaurant staff was no better. The first morning, the waiter thrust the check in my face in the midst of a bite of cereal and held it there until I put down my spoon and took it from him. (The bill was wrong - I'd been overcharged by twice - and the corrected version was again held in my face mid-bite).

The following morning I had the opposite problem, sitting for more than 10 minutes at my table trying anxiously to catch the eye of every passing waiter. I finally had to awkwardly call out to one as he serviced the next table and ask to place an order. Then it took the coffee another 10 minutes to arrive.

Our room was impeccably clean and beautifully serviced by a young, eager woman who knocked on our door three times within 15 minutes to see if we had gone out yet.

The room itself was lovely, with a nice view of the Bund and a good layout. Lots of fun high-tech touches. But annoyingly stingy with the outlets – there is only one outlet in the main room, next to the desk, which meant we had to take turns plugging in computers, phones and ipad. There should be outlets on both sides of the bed, to allow phones to charge overnight and still be handy, and at least 2-3 outlets at the desk. I guess they think their tech-loving guests don’t carry any of their own devices?

The hotel itself is oddly laid out: there is no lobby; reception is tucked into a windowless hallway in the middle of the building, everything is very dark and you have no sense at all of being on the Bund.

All in all, it was a disappointing experience. Peninsula really needs to work to get this hotel up to standard. We will go to the Waldorf next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Peninsula takes luxury to a whole new level. Forget what you know, or have experienced, with The Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton. The Peninsula is an institution in Asia and takes luxury, sophistication, comfort and service to a whole new level. From picking you up with a Rolls Royce from the airport to the beautiful lobby and amazing restaurants.

The rooms are incredibly comfortable and extremely high-tech. Everything can be done from the comfort of your bed, which has the finest linens and the most comfortable bed. Our deluxe room had a large walk-in closet which can accommodate all the luggage you can bring along with two sides of a closet for hanging your clothes. You will not run out of room with this closet. It also contains, get ready ladies, a "nail dryer" should you be so inclined to touch-up your nails. In the walk-in you will find a laundry cubicle. Put the laundy in this "cubbie", press the service button....two minutes later a staff member opens the "cubbie" from the outside of your room takes the clothes out and returns them a few hours later in the same cubbie all clean. A very nice touch without disturbance of any kind. The bathroom is beautiful with all the amenities you can think of.

The Peninsula has several good restaurants and bars with amazing food. Sir Elly's at the top floor has incredible food with amazing views and a separate bar area. Salon De Ning offers a unique experience for those interested in a late night. The Compass Bar is more subdued and the decor is quite interesting, highlighting some of the history of "The Bund" in Shanghai.

Want to shop? The Peninsula Arcade has the best of the best...Prada, Chanel, Armani, you name it. For the high-end shopping experience you will find it all here.

Location of the hotel is quite convenient with instant access to The Bund and very short and cheap cab rides to other tourist spots.

The Peninsula is a treat. If you go to Shanghai, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The experience starts when you are picked up with the PEN's Rolls Royce - of course with wi-fi so can may finally catch up with your e-mails after the long dry stretch of the flight! - whisked away and greeted like a long lost son (daughter) by the blissful staff. Sign-in in the tranquil environment of your truly spectacular suite and commence to enjoy! Great service - you won't even see the valet if you don't feel like as a valet box is provided in your dressing room for all of your laundry/shoeshine or other needs, and swiftly serviced from the outside! Great food in all restaurants, unbelievable shopping at the in-house luxury mall with most of the all the worlds renowned labels showing off their very latest in fashion, juwels etc. and, of course, a heavenly spa - do try their signature 90 min. treatments - and then relax around the magnificent swimming pool. Well, just in case you have to leave after a few days like most of us, having experienced this outstanding buiseness&leisure combi - the RR is taking you back to the reality of the airport - and the yearn- to-return is kicking in!

Room Tip: Suite 1010 with great views over river and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Shanghai

Address: No.32 Zhongshan East First Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#329 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Bund with spectacular views of the Bund, Huangpu River, Pudong and former British Consulate gardens, The Peninsula Shanghai perfectly blends with the historic architecture of its landmark neighbours. The Peninsula Shanghai, which opened in October 2009, is the first new building to be constructed on the historic Bund in over 60 years. Offering the best of Peninsula traditions and a range of signature services and facilities, including Shanghai's largest guestrooms and the city's highest staff-to-guest ratio, The Peninsula also heralds the return of parent company, The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited, to Shanghai where it owned and operated four of the city's premier hotels in the 1920s to 1940s - The Kalee, The Astor House, The Palace and The Majestic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.