We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacky Hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bodi Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bodi Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Bodi Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1245 Longyang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200127, China (Shanghai New International Expo Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #875 of 3,977 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tacky Hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is one of those hotels which has everything but where nothing works!
I stayed for a business trip for 3 nights last week and couldn't wait to check-out. The location is suitable only for those who need to stay close to the New Shanghai Expo - else its a terrible location on the middle of a highway with nothing close by.
The room sizes are large but the bed is lumpy, the Wi-fi is extremely slow and almost next to non-existent, the AC in my room did not work and was stuck at a balmy 25 degrees for 3 days and the hot water in the shower was not working.
The staff speak no English (so no point in complaining) and the breakfast quality is very poor.
Hotel is more suited to the local visitors and for the same price there are better quality hotels easily available.
Totally avoidable!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
5
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taplow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Incidentally the photo shown is not of this hotel. The hotel itself looks more like a brothel than a hotel. The location is appalling, there is absolutely nothing around the hotel. You need a taxi to go anywhere and that is if the taxi want to take you back...

My room was huge, well appointed and clean but there are traces of a serious water leak near the window.

Staff have a very limited knowledge of English

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel already last year & beacuse its close to the expo fair and also because all other good hotels were booked, we decided to give one more try also this year. Bad choice, the only what is ok about this hotel are rooms (size, furnishing) all the rest would rate as 1 or no star at all! Location is in the middle of nowhere, the personell barely comprehend any English! The restaurant is closed, so if you get hungry in the evening you must take a taxi to get to down town. The breakfast is one of the worsest i have seen, if you are local chineese you will survive, but for rest of us there is no choice!!! Overall for this money you can get much better hotels in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We would give a 5star to the room alone - our room was super big and the bathroom was almost same size of the room! The room itself is amazing. Reception is very small and staff don't speak much English. The location of the hotel is probably the only downturn. If you are not having any business or work related to Expo, then you will far from everywhere else. Apart from the location, hotel itself is pretty good. Didn't try the food but the hotel doesn't seem to offer much. The ground floor is not very welcoming as it is not big enough. we loved the furniture and room decoration. It was one of the best deluxe rooms ever. Hope to see the area regenerating, so it would become easier to catch taxis in future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Despite being in my 50's I have never felt strongly enough to complain in writing about anything so that should give an indication as to how bad this place was during my 4 day stay last week. The following are just a few lowlights
1/ Total power outage in my room once a day for 3 days which meant 3 trips to reception and 3 trips back to the room to meet the maintenance guy who 'fixed' it each time.
2/ Whilst in the middle of my last morning's breakfast i was told (loudly) to stop eating and come to reception and pay cash for it even though they'd swiped my credit card and taken a deposit that had a long way to go before being used up.
3/ Whilst sitting at the bar, the waiter thought it was funny to throw various items from a distance in to a bin that was right in front of me. I walked away after he walked up to the bin, made a loud nasal snorting sound and spat in to the bin.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days last month. very good spacious rooms. the service is very good. Need to improve serivce in the restaurant. we had no issue in finding the hotel. the best thing to do is get some one in the airport (there is a row of desks manned by very helpful staff just after clearing customs) to write the name of the hotel in a piece of paper in big letters !. We used this paper instead of the printed hotel address and had no problem. sometimes taxies are reluctant to take us there from the expo as it is very close to the venue. I would recommend this place for those who come to shanghai expo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Locationwise it is located kind of in the middle of nowhere, by the side of a major road, finding taxi is not so easy even with assistance from the hotel staff, which is kind of required since cab drivers will speak zero english.
The rooms are absolutely amazing, one of the best I have ever stayed at. Bathroom is so big I didn't even find the bathtub until day 2 of my stay.
There is a seven-eleven type store behind the hotel, ask the staff how to get there (at night they walked with me there as you have to pass quite a shady alley), otherwise there is absolutely nothing nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodi Boutique Hotel

Address: No.1245 Longyang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200127, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #875 of 3,977 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bodi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodi Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.