We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here - rude staff and cockroaches” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel

Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel
Jia No.834-840 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here - rude staff and cockroaches”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This is the most we paid for accommodation in our month in China, and it was by far the worst service

The staff are the rudest I've ever met. when you ask for help, they just point at the communal computer and tell you to do it yourself. they are not willing to give any advice on where to go,ticket bookings, etc. They will make you feel like you are a nuisance when asking questions

We saw a cockroach in our room on the first night. the room also has mold and the bathroom is smelly

I would have rated this zero is it trip advisor allowed it

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
3
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

After a long flight from Belgium I came into this hostel. The room had no windows, was superdamp, and the bathroom was really dirty. I booked a room for 4 days but decided to leave after one night. The bunkbeds were also really old.

I do believe in summertime this could be a good hostel, since they have a nice garden, but at least ask for a room with a window if you go there.

I must say that the staff was friendly, and they gave back my money (for the other 3 nights) without a problem.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

First of all, the location is really undesirable. Contrary to what the online directions are from the hostel, it's closer to a 15-20 minute walk from the nearest metro station, especially with a backpack. Not to mention the last part of the walk there is down the sketchiest alley- I was a bit nervous as a solo female traveler walking down there when I arrived late at night.

The hostel itself has a strange vibe, because a large majority of the guests are 30+ year old Chinese people who seem to be living at the hostel long-term. I met no other western travelers there though I spent my free time in the common area. Speaking of, the common area is a very cold place to hang out because they always have the doors open (even though there are signs on them that say 'please keep doors closed' ha!), so it's chilly in November.

The rooms are really basic- I found it odd that you have to make your own beds. Putting a duvet cover on was an adventure for me. I've never stayed in a hostel where you have to make your own beds and I've been traveling in Asia for over five months. The bathrooms were tiny (you have to squeeze to get in the door bc of where the sink is placed) and absolutely disgusting when I moved in, though they cleaned them the next day (giant clumps of hair all over the floor, no toilet paper, sink counter soaked and dirty etc).

Staff was friendly enough, wifi worked fine usually in the common area, weak in the rooms- but other than that, it's not worth staying here, especially for what you pay (I MIGHT deal with it if it was like $3USD). Look elsewhere- I'd recommend a hostel on/near Nanjing Road, I know there are a few there and they're supposed to be nice!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

the hostel is fine if you want to spare money. The location if fine even if located near dirty homes. The welcome is so so. The stair to go to rooms is not convenient if you have big luggage. But good in a good place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Shanghai Hidden Garden is 'hidden' in that it is about a 100 meter walk down a narrow road off of Pudong Avenue. It's got a great atmosphere, a friendly vibe. The staff is warmhearted and helpful. The owners are onsite. Metro is a ten minute walk away. Clean sheets. Great little noodle shops nearby. We stayed in a private room for three weeks and were happy here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hostel World rated this hostel as 61%. Now I see why. When I arrived at the entrance of the lane this hostel is located on, I saw slums for migrant workers. I thought "you've go to be joking, right? Is THIS it?" It took me a while to figure out that these slums were NOT the hostel. When I looked to my right, at the end of the lane I recognized some of the buildings from the hostels YHA listing. Once inside however, the hostel provided a pleasant atmosphere and the staff were friendly. Great western breakfast as well. A bit shoddy on the cleaning. There was a sign in Chinese and English saying that they clean the room between 1-3 pm but they didn't always clean thoroughly. Also I could only get one TV station and the light next to my bed wasn't working properly. While I wouldn't give the same rating as Hostel World I do give it a score of 75%.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

if you go there for the expo, try book elsewhere, and book early. the rooms on the back don't have window, so the rooms get very smelly because of the humidity. rooms are clean. shower in each room and well maintained.
one room I stayed in had an AC unit that blow hot air. :) my fellow HK roommates were sweating as hell. The hostel staff. they are not very experimented, but will do their best to help, which turns out is not much. they can't offer any tour itinerary. I never saw hostel staff tellin you to take taxi to a X place.
location is ok if you check it on google map, but after a full day of expo walk, you will hate their location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel

Address: Jia No.834-840 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.