We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hostel to spare money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel

Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel
Jia No.834-840 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good hostel to spare money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

the hostel is fine if you want to spare money. The location if fine even if located near dirty homes. The welcome is so so. The stair to go to rooms is not convenient if you have big luggage. But good in a good place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
1
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Shanghai Hidden Garden is 'hidden' in that it is about a 100 meter walk down a narrow road off of Pudong Avenue. It's got a great atmosphere, a friendly vibe. The staff is warmhearted and helpful. The owners are onsite. Metro is a ten minute walk away. Clean sheets. Great little noodle shops nearby. We stayed in a private room for three weeks and were happy here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hostel World rated this hostel as 61%. Now I see why. When I arrived at the entrance of the lane this hostel is located on, I saw slums for migrant workers. I thought "you've go to be joking, right? Is THIS it?" It took me a while to figure out that these slums were NOT the hostel. When I looked to my right, at the end of the lane I recognized some of the buildings from the hostels YHA listing. Once inside however, the hostel provided a pleasant atmosphere and the staff were friendly. Great western breakfast as well. A bit shoddy on the cleaning. There was a sign in Chinese and English saying that they clean the room between 1-3 pm but they didn't always clean thoroughly. Also I could only get one TV station and the light next to my bed wasn't working properly. While I wouldn't give the same rating as Hostel World I do give it a score of 75%.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

if you go there for the expo, try book elsewhere, and book early. the rooms on the back don't have window, so the rooms get very smelly because of the humidity. rooms are clean. shower in each room and well maintained.
one room I stayed in had an AC unit that blow hot air. :) my fellow HK roommates were sweating as hell. The hostel staff. they are not very experimented, but will do their best to help, which turns out is not much. they can't offer any tour itinerary. I never saw hostel staff tellin you to take taxi to a X place.
location is ok if you check it on google map, but after a full day of expo walk, you will hate their location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We booked the 8 bed mixed dorms for 85 RMB / person, 1 room for us 8. Clean and enough space in the room, free locker, clean new white sheet & blanket for the bed, also clean bathroom. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the Pudong Avenue Metro station (line 4), also quite near to the World Expo area, just 30 RMB by taxi. The staff is very nice & HELPFUL!! (English speaking also). There's a nice glass room where we can sit relax on the couch, but the couch is quite dirty, and the magz & CDs isn't up-to-date. Plus side: they have 2 cute little dogs in there!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

There's not much to write. The quality of the hostel and the location are questionable. This is by far the worst hostel I have stayed in in China. Rooms and restrooms are not clean, the common kitchen is non-existent and dirty, it's hard to find a clean glass to drink water. This is a bit cheaper than other hostels but not worth the inconvenience both in terms of cleanliness or hygiene.
There was some construction going on but no discounts or added service for all the incovenience. Most were here on business and not on leisure which was weird for a hostel.
The location is also far from areas you want to visit in Shanghai. It claims to be close to some buzzing areas in Pudong but is actually in a sleepy part of town. The area around the hostel is also not clean. This is hidden alright and there is a garden alright but it's not as amusing as the tilte "Hidden Garden" sounds when you figure out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel

Address: Jia No.834-840 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Garden International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.