We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a one-night, in-transit stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dazhong Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dazhong Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Dazhong Airport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.6001 Yingbin Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201202, China (Pudong International Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #605 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Great place for a one-night, in-transit stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Over the last two years, we have stayed here 8 times, each for one night. We use it as a staging post for trips into China and elsewhere in Asia. (We are semi-retired so we combine short work stays in China with tourist trips around Asia). I have read some of the negative reviews and simply do not understand them except in the context of expecting western-norms and Marriott type service for Hampton Inn or Super 8 prices. It’s not a perfect hotel. Yes, the rooms are a little worn (but the décor is fascinating). The staff are not always super friendly, but their English is decent and they get the job done. Check out can be slow by western standards but it’s pretty normal for China, in our experience. The beds are hard, but that’s the same as every hotel we have ever stayed at in China. We think this is a perfect place to stay one night before/after trans-Pacific flights. It is incredibly cheap for a hotel in the terminal at one of the world’s major international airports. The hotel is in the center of the Pudong terminal above the Metro and Mono-rail stations, so you can walk from your arrival gate, and noise is not a problem. The hotel has two towers ("villas")--hotel and motel. Stay at the hotel (South Villa), It only costs a little more but the rooms are much bigger. Also, the airport (not the hotel) has a great baggage storage system (for up to 30 days at about $7 per day for a large bag). We make work trips to China so we stay here one night, leave our big "work" bag at the airport, spend a week or two exploring someplace in Asia, come back here, spend another night, then go to our work destination in China. Also, they have buffets open to non-guests for breakfast ($5), lunch and dinner at good prices, much lower than anyplace else in the airport. Food is fine, but not great.

Room Tip: Stay in the South Villa (hotel side). Rooms are much bigger and not much more if you book ahead on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    222
    154
    45
    22
See reviews for
29
39
59
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently due to an early flight out of Shanghai. Location wise it's second to none in the area. It's between terminal 1 and terminal 2 passageway. Take the elevator to the street level, walk across the road and you are there. The staff could do with some customer services training. Our room on the 8th floor is spacious. Cleanliness is OK. The bathroom is rather bizarre in that the door is glass and you can see right through to the whole bathroom including the toilet. I came across many glass walled bathrooms in China and they all have some kind of blind for privacy but not at this place. Lucky that the bathroom is tugged away at the corner. I would stay there again if I have an early flight to catch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I needed a place to stay as I had an eight hour layover in Shanghai and was unable to check my luggage in after having to retrieve it (you can't check your luggage all the way to your final destination). Was told there were two transit hotels. This one was the only one which had an hourly rate.

The first hint that I should have clued in on was that all the hallways smell of cigarette smoke. The room I had only had it a little less. The walls are a little thin and there is a constant sound of parties going on in the various room. To make it a little more classy, there is a box of condoms for your use (these were not left behind accidentally) on the nightstand. Did not want to touch the bed for fear of what the bed surfaces had.

There is free internet, but it is wired. A few TV channels (english and chinese) to keep you entertained. Not sure what the food was like in the hotel restaurant.

Overall, if you can, get your luggage checked in ASAP and wait in the transit area. If you can't, wait outside the transit area and avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are laying over a day or two, or have a few hours between flights, this place is a good bet! The hotel is right at the airport, much more convenient than the Ramada or other hotels. You don't need to wait for a shuttle or a cab. Just walk directly to the hotel via the T2 terminal.
We came in on an early flight, and were allowed to check in early. The rooms are clean, though they are showing wear. Set your expectations accordingly. The hotel is quiet, you don't hear the planes although you can see them landing.
Check in was quite quick, though there were many customers registering at the same time as we were.
Requested a non smoking room, and it was indeed smoke free with no odor. Bathroom is large with a great shower.
The lunch buffet was ok, with a mix of Western and Chinese food.
If you have a day or a few hours to kill, catch the Maglev right at the airport. At the end of the Maglev line transfer to the green line and ride the subway to East Nanjing Rd. Lots of activity there. If you take the Maglev, show them your airline or train receipt, and you get ¥10 off the price of the Maglev ticket, each way. This price reduction is only good for the day you arrive.
Download the Shanghai Subway line map to your phone before you get to Shanghai. The subways are easy to figure out if you have a map with you.
The internet at the Hotel is wired- no wifi (although there was signage that there was wifi in the bar from 7pm to 1 am)
Hotel front desk staff speak English well enough.

Room Tip: If you need a non smoking room, make sure you ask when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford,
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Unless you really need to stay on the airport right next to the terminals find somewhere else. They must be better hotels nearby.

Check in was poor with not so much as a smile or even a vague gesture to the lifts and what floor I was on. All the rooms start with an 8 so don't assume you are on the 8th floor...

Room was very tired. Weird round bed which is the hardest bed I've come across. Mould in the bathroom and worn stained carpet . Bar area wasn't much better. Staff disinterested watching a movion iPad at full volume.

Would have given it 0 but the price and location makes up for the rest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel. It is located inside airport. After i picked up luggage I actually wheeled them directly into my hotel room. I kept the luggage cart in my room and the next morning I wheeled them back to the check-in counter. It is extremely convenient for some one with young kid and a lot of luggage. The room size is Ok with a nice bath room. the shower strength is good. The sound proof of the room is really good because I did not hear any flight taking off or landing. I had a great sleep! The breakfast is fabulous, many choices. The check-in process can be improved and staff can be a little nicer. In all, it is a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This airport hotel is between terminals one and two at Pudong International Airport. The rroms look average when first entering, but then the "sewer gas" in the bathroom gives a foul odor. The restaurant maitre'd was disorganized and seated two couples who came into the restaurant after us before seating us, so we left and went outside for food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dazhong Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dazhong Airport Hotel

Address: No.6001 Yingbin Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201202, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Pudong International Airport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #605 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dazhong Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dazhong Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Yiju (Shanghai Pudong Airport) Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dazhong Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.