We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, would stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dazhong Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dazhong Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Dazhong Airport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.6001 Yingbin Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201202, China (Pudong International Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #654 of 3,926 Hotels in Shanghai
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient, would stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are laying over a day or two, or have a few hours between flights, this place is a good bet! The hotel is right at the airport, much more convenient than the Ramada or other hotels. You don't need to wait for a shuttle or a cab. Just walk directly to the hotel via the T2 terminal.
We came in on an early flight, and were allowed to check in early. The rooms are clean, though they are showing wear. Set your expectations accordingly. The hotel is quiet, you don't hear the planes although you can see them landing.
Check in was quite quick, though there were many customers registering at the same time as we were.
Requested a non smoking room, and it was indeed smoke free with no odor. Bathroom is large with a great shower.
The lunch buffet was ok, with a mix of Western and Chinese food.
If you have a day or a few hours to kill, catch the Maglev right at the airport. At the end of the Maglev line transfer to the green line and ride the subway to East Nanjing Rd. Lots of activity there. If you take the Maglev, show them your airline or train receipt, and you get ¥10 off the price of the Maglev ticket, each way. This price reduction is only good for the day you arrive.
Download the Shanghai Subway line map to your phone before you get to Shanghai. The subways are easy to figure out if you have a map with you.
The internet at the Hotel is wired- no wifi (although there was signage that there was wifi in the bar from 7pm to 1 am)
Hotel front desk staff speak English well enough.

Room Tip: If you need a non smoking room, make sure you ask when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    212
    143
    37
    18
See reviews for
24
35
54
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford,
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Unless you really need to stay on the airport right next to the terminals find somewhere else. They must be better hotels nearby.

Check in was poor with not so much as a smile or even a vague gesture to the lifts and what floor I was on. All the rooms start with an 8 so don't assume you are on the 8th floor...

Room was very tired. Weird round bed which is the hardest bed I've come across. Mould in the bathroom and worn stained carpet . Bar area wasn't much better. Staff disinterested watching a movion iPad at full volume.

Would have given it 0 but the price and location makes up for the rest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel. It is located inside airport. After i picked up luggage I actually wheeled them directly into my hotel room. I kept the luggage cart in my room and the next morning I wheeled them back to the check-in counter. It is extremely convenient for some one with young kid and a lot of luggage. The room size is Ok with a nice bath room. the shower strength is good. The sound proof of the room is really good because I did not hear any flight taking off or landing. I had a great sleep! The breakfast is fabulous, many choices. The check-in process can be improved and staff can be a little nicer. In all, it is a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This airport hotel is between terminals one and two at Pudong International Airport. The rroms look average when first entering, but then the "sewer gas" in the bathroom gives a foul odor. The restaurant maitre'd was disorganized and seated two couples who came into the restaurant after us before seating us, so we left and went outside for food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Flew from Zenghou late evening, landed at PVG by 10:30 pm, prefered to check in airport hotel itself instead of going to city. Morning I had to go to Hongqiao Railway Station to catch a speed train to Hangzhou. Had to pay 498 Yauns for one night sleep, felt little costlier but had no choice even. Room was small but had all the aminities. It had internet facility that was pretty useful. Next morning just went to level 2 and caught my train to Hongqiao. Had sound sleep n was fresh in the morning.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is attached to Shanghai Pudong Airport and has two parts. The main Dazhong Hotel and next to it Motel 168 which is a little cheaper. There is an underground walkway from the airport level 2 that goes to both the Maglev high speed train station into town and slower train into town. Next to those train stations is an elevator up to the enterance of both Dazhong Hotel and 168 Motel. The rooms is the hotel are modern and clean and service is good. Breakfast is mainly Chinese/Asian and served in the Dazhong Hotel for both establishments. There is nowhere to walk around near the hotel but plenty of airport shops in the terminal. The high speed Maglev train costs 40 RMB and travels at over 400 kph and the much cheaper and normal speed underground trains into town are also efficient and easy and quick to use to access central Shanghai.

Room Tip: For a stopover in Shanghai this is a very good hotel and even staying there for several nights it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I arrived very late in Shanghai with 1 full day ahead of me. I was travelling on my own and i decided to go safe and also safe time and stay at the airport right after landing. I paid 50 EUR for one night for a double bed room, which i find fair.
breakfast was 4 eur and it was of course chinese, not continental, but i enjoyed it.
i could leave my bags there for the whole day that i spent sightseeing in shanghai and the subway is right underneath the hotel. Very easy travelling. I would recommend the Hotel for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dazhong Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dazhong Airport Hotel

Address: No.6001 Yingbin Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201202, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Pudong International Airport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #654 of 3,926 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dazhong Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Expedia, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Dazhong Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Yiju (Shanghai Pudong Airport) Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dazhong Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.