We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Fish Inn Bund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shanghai Fish Inn Bund to your Saves list
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.639 Henan Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 180 Reviews
Kiel, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel. It's near to the Bund (you can walk) and near to the main shopping street. It was our first visit in China, so we can't compare it with other hotels, but the staff is very friendly and speaks good english. Breakfast is not included (unless the coffee when you book via their homepage) but it is not expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    100
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
66
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I'm giving this place five stars for the outstanding help I received in booking a domestic flight. There were complications with me not having a Chinese name, and then a name that was too long. The young woman at the reception desk really went the extra mile for me, booking it on her own credit card.

The location is good as well once you find it, close to the Metro and downtown attractions. It's a short walk to a grand vista of the Pudong skyline.

The bed was comfortable, but like most Chinese hotels, the room took a bit to warm up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, BCS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I spent two nights in this hotel. They speak very good english and they are always ready to help. The room is clean and very convenient. Close to the metro station and the area is really cool. I have no negative comments about this hotel. The only thing I would say is that it needs a heater.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Good position, good prices, not really nice environment but clean and worth your money. Wifi service in the room free of charge, and staff really gentle and friendly. So, I suggest it for a Shanghai short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Positively surprised. The staff in the hotel is friendly and they even offered a free upgrade as they were not that busy, also the wifi in the room is free of charge. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Hotels in China are ok. But they don't have internet connection there, so you can't play any of your Electronics there if you brought any. The first hotel I went to in China was a Motel. My dad said that Motels were a lot cheaper then Hotels. The first place I slept at was at my grandparents House/Apartment. The Pillows were a little rough and the bed was okay, But I managed to get some sleep. When I went there with my brother, we used to fight all the time there. We took Subways and Metros to places and I especially liked it when the train started moving and we were standing and holding on to one of the poles inside the train.

Room Tip: try a room with more color added to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Don't let the hotel's facade deceive you. Inside is a nicely-decorated hotel with friendly and accommodating staff. Breakfast is a bit sparse, but it's no deal-breaker. The best aspect of this hotel is the location, close to Nanjing Road, the Bund and the subway. From here, it is easy to go anywhere within Shanghai.

Room Tip: The suite, in my opinion, is very much worth what you pay for, if not worth more. It's ideal for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai Fish Inn Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Fish Inn Bund

Address: No.639 Henan Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanghai Fish Inn Bund 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Inn Bund is a boutique hotel located 5 minutes walk from E. Nanjing Road, right at the center. 5 minutes walk to metro station, Fish Inn is just minutes away from most of Shanghai's highlight. It is renovated in 2011 to a fusioned hotel with Chinese traditional elements perfectly bounded into a building hidden in the ShiKuMen area, near SuZhou Creek and the Bund. Each room has its own decor to lighten your trip to Shanghai. Our staff warmly welcome you to Fish Inn Bund! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shanghai Fish Inn Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Fish Inn Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.