We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Fish Inn Bund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shanghai Fish Inn Bund to your Saves list
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.639 Henan Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Ajax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Although a little hard to find this little hotel is first rate. No services but the rooms are clean comfortable and convenient. Five minutes walk to the Nanjing Metro stop and about 10 minutes walk to the Bund. Best value in Shanghai close to the Bund. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Friendly staff (spoke good English) and good coffee. Great dumpling place just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    100
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
31
66
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I read the reviews and thought this would be a good budget place to go, but after trekking on the subway and walking there following their awful directions, I saw a dump in a dump neighborhood, with a not much better lobby. I didn't even venture to see a room. Now, those rooms may be nice, but I felt that the overall location (dicey), wasn't worth the monetary savings. There are much better places for comparable price elsewhere in Shanghai and Pudong. Remember, if you pay a little more but are located close to a subway station, you can go anywhere faster and safer. So spend another $10 and be safe and sleep in a nice hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The entrance is down a dark, deserted alley past a micro street market. My stomach turned as I walked down and thought, this might be the type of place where I would wake up in an ice bath, missing a kidney, now lost to the organ market. Alas, relief was just around the corner, where a pinkish glow emanated from the neon-lit entrance with automatic sliding glass doors - just like in the pictures!

No one harassed me along the way and it was a mere 5 minute walk from the East Nanjing metro station of Line 2. 10 minutes from the Bund. Being a showpiece city for China, Shanghai is generally safe for a solo traveller "as long as you stay away from dark alleys," according to the innkeeper. Fish Inn's alley must be an exception or there must be darker alleys out there.

I like the split-level nature of the rooms. It kept the dust and dirt from the hallway or living room from scurrying into the upper level where the bed was located. The bedroom had a floral wall mural and flat-screen TV with 3 channels. A small window looked out into a small residential alley with laundry hanging out to dry. I didn't see any bedbugs or evidence thereof. There was no safe.

The salad bowl sized and shaped sink in the bathroom was a nice touch and reflects the trend in contemporary asian hotel interior design. The toilets are western style. The shower stall has both a handheld head and a rain showerhead. The hot water supply was immediate and consistent. The towels were small, stained and shabby but washed.

The carpets in the hallways were ragged. Elevator was slow but a staircase was nearby. WiFi worked consistently on the 2nd floor but don't expect blazing speed. Emails and chat messages are sent with a lag as the government checks my data packets for suspicious destinations or politically sensitive content.

English-speaking concierges made my stay a breeze. They were willing to write down directions in Chinese for the taxi drivers and point me to a blind massage parlor.

Watch your step on your way out the front door. The slight raised foyer tripped me every time I went out!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has more consistent WiFi than upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

On arrival we were so happy to receive such a warm welcome and presented with helpful staff. It had a good location close to the Metro (approx 10 min walk)- 3 streets north from metro station. We had many attractions 10 min walk to the Bund and Nanjing Rd. The room was clean and tidy and provided good value for money.

Many local restaurants in the area, and the staff helped us choose wisely. Yang's Dried dumplings was literally around the corner and had great noodles and dumplings.

We were allowed to check in early, which we greatly appreciated. Candice provided great email instructions re how to arrive from airport, and was extremely helpful during our stay- to organise trains and trips. We are very appreciative.

Free wifi in rooms and lobby. Also had internet linked laptop down at reception that was great.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Fish Inn for 5 nights. It is in a quiet and convenient location, walking distance to the bund, shopping areas and a metro station. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. It was the first good night's sleep we got in our trip to China. The WiFi didn't really work on the 3rd floor but other than that everything was perfect and it was a great value.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Helpful staff, good location close to the Metro and many attractions 10 min walk to the Bund and Nanjing Rd. The room was clean and tidy and provided good value for money.

Many local restaurants in the area, in 4 days we didnt have bad meal (22 -48 Yuen per meal & 12 for beer) many restaurants refused to accept tips.

We went to see the ERA acrobats (200 a ticket & 6 yuen on the metro) - The show was absolutely amazing!! We turned up at 19:15 for a 19:30 show ( Tuesday) there werent many tickets left...

Room Tip: We were in a suite (205) not much of a view but extremely quiet. Good wi-fi connection as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked a deluxe and suite for 5 of us and were give a free upgrade for our deluxe room to suite. Our rooms were ready by around 10.30am! Thank you. You don't know how tired we were.

The staffs are good in English with good manners and helpful. The rooms are gorgeous and clean. Most importantly the shower and toilet is clean. However do note that water leaks out from the shower door and sometimes you could hear footsteps from outside. Also beware of spiders if your suite bed is on the floor.

The hotel is strategic located. It's near East Nanjing Road Metro, Nanjing Road and The Bund. There's also convenient store like Family Mart, a bakery, a Chinese bun shop, fruits shops, small supermarkets and restaurants nearby.

The staff helped us book a taxi van for our trip to the airport. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai Fish Inn Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Fish Inn Bund

Address: No.639 Henan Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanghai Fish Inn Bund 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Inn Bund is a boutique hotel located 5 minutes walk from E. Nanjing Road, right at the center. 5 minutes walk to metro station, Fish Inn is just minutes away from most of Shanghai's highlight. It is renovated in 2011 to a fusioned hotel with Chinese traditional elements perfectly bounded into a building hidden in the ShiKuMen area, near SuZhou Creek and the Bund. Each room has its own decor to lighten your trip to Shanghai. Our staff warmly welcome you to Fish Inn Bund! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shanghai Fish Inn Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Fish Inn Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.