We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Ocean Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1171 Dongdaming Road, Hongkou Disctrict, Shanghai 200082, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We loved staying at the Ocean hotel. Clean, well appointed rooms providing everything we needed. Breakfast was amazing. We loved the brown sponge cake (Don't know the real name) having the lightest texture I have ever tasted. Staff was friendly in a reserved way. No extra charges. Would definitely go back. Awesome entrance! Lovely decor in public areas. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    93
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
20
50
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good location, near the Jewish museum and not far from the bund,
Brand new renovated rooms, clean comfy and well appointed, large suites had problems with cooling the room but smaller twin rooms were great, cooled easily, lots of hot water, great lobby atmosphere and delicious variety for breakfast. Staff slow for checkout so give yourself time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel with my family with two teens. This hotel is well located with huge rooms that are basically suites. This is a busy hotel with well appointed lobby layout. We had a very nice stay.
There's a small convenient store, bakery, and many small retail restaurants just across the street. It's just a short 20 yuan cab ride The Bund.
Two areas of disappointments. 1. Breakfast buffet is so-so, because coffee was never hot, and some breakfast items, such as freshly steamed buns were not ready. To a customer, this is absolutely not acceptable that food items are not available with the restaurant is opened. 2. Concierge needs better service. We tried to hail a taxi one afternoon. The attendant told us the concierge would call a cab for us. We waited ten minutes, then talked to the concierge, who apparently was on hold with the taxi company. Another ten minutes went by when the concierge told us there were no taxi available. How can a big city like Shanghai run out of taxis? We asked whether we could get a cab if we walked down the street, and he told us no. He offered no other help. We ended up walking down the street and got a cab three blocks down. Terrible service.
Other than that, we would recommend this hotel for Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I travel frequently for business in China, The Ocean hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms. It claimed as a 5-star hotel, I would give it 3.5-4 star. The location is not at a convenient location yet even though the area is still developing. The staff is not well trained for 5-star service, and not as friendly. It is still typical, though, for the level of service in China. Breakfast is just fair, but ok for not eating too much. The restaurant on the top floor gives very good view to Shanghai night scene.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel was one really nice place. The rooms were very large, modern, clean and comfortable. The location was good, the food was good, but the breakfast buffet seating area was tight. It was hard to find a seat, so some improvements are needed in that area. Also, upon check out the desk clerks tried to charge me $35.00 for a shoe horn. There was never one in the room in the first place. Interestingly, as I waited for some friends, the clerks tried the same thing with another guest who was checking out. I found out later that a third guest that was on our group tour was told the same thing and actually paid for the mysterious shoe horn. So, be careful about this scam. Otherwise, this hotel was quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is clean and the rooms are nicely maintained. For me there is ended.

The staff are not friendly and not welcoming. This includes the staff at the front desk, restaurant and revolving restaurant. They are not helpful and this can be very frustrating.

The air conditioner in our room did not work. Each room has their own thermostat but they are controlled by the hotel. I spoke to the assistant manager about changing rooms and she said no. He said some people are hot, some are cold and he can't please everyone. They chose to turn on the air conditioning when they want to.

we went to the revolving restaurant for a drink and were told that we could not have a drink until 9 PM although there was no one in the restaurant. We went back the next day at 9:30 and the entire restaurant was closed. we went back the next day at 4:30 and they said OK come in but you need to be out by 5. Again there were no other customers in the restuarant. Once they serve you an initial drink you cannot find staff again to even pay the bill. If you are assigning the bill to your room this seems to be a long ordeal. If you split the bill between rooms this is even more of an ordeal.

The breakfast restaurant is crowded and small., Although there is a space next to the restaurant they do not open that space .

We travelled with friends and they left a day before us. After touring in Shanghai we came back to our room to find that our key cards did not work. We went down to the front desk and they told us they checked us out. They are not apologetic and rude when dealing with visitors.

Location is 2.5 blocks to subway. Subway quite cheap. Otherwise the area is not exceptionally nice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

It was our first in Shanghai and Chaina. Mi kid prefer the hotel with pool, so we chose this one. But (!) the poll is under reconstruction, but no comm about this on site and in travel agency. Too cold in restorant and room.
The stuff isn't friendly and speakable English.
No prob in other side

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.1171 Dongdaming Road, Hongkou Disctrict, Shanghai 200082, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#138 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#141 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ocean Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Ocean Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.