We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund to your Saves list
FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.888 Tongbei Road, Yangpu District, Shanghai 200085, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #936 of 3,929 Hotels in Shanghai
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here during a promotional sale and only paid $17 per night for two people. First, the photos DO match the hotel (I read an earlier review that said otherwise). FX is clean, had an amazingly helpful staff, great rooms and fast internet. I really can't think of any reason not to stay here other than the 10-15 minute walk to the nearest metro. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for basic but good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
6
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taiwan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

It was a very nice hotel for china. It made our trip to Shanghai easier. The staff is nice but they are not professionals, so do not expect the usual treat of a hotel, they will most likely improvise, they will try to help you. Hope your chinese is good because their english is not very understandable.
the map on the web is not right, do not even bother to look at it, and it is a bit far from the MRT station it is so much easier to take a taxi from there, maybe 15RMB. I recommend walking to the station on day light but going back by taxi, the way be a bit dark.
The web information it said that it included breakfast and that they have laundry service, but actually they don't. They can include breakfast but it is extra.
The hotel is nice, but it looks like they had some water problems so the wooden floor is uneven, bumby and some part are broken.
in general it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We took a bit of a gamble with this hostel as most reviews were written in Chinese. It was better than expected for the money. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff don't speak hardly any English though so not very helpful with directions or advice. We asked how much laundry was which was a hassle because they couldn't understand us so they had to call someone and we tried to explain over the phone. In the end it cost an absolute fortune so I wouldn't recommend it. The only English channel of TV was China News channel and the location is not ideal but only 10 mins walk from the metro. Overall for the price of the room we were happy. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay without any frills... this is the place. We had a very comfortable stay here and the staff is courteous and helpful. The language problems exists but that is everywhere in China so be ready to use sign language to explain what you want but once they understand they are prompt and eager to please.

Also serves a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund

Address: No.888 Tongbei Road, Yangpu District, Shanghai 200085, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #936 of 3,929 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.