We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funula 1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Circuit

Shanghai Circuit
No.2000 Yining Road,Jiading District, Shanghai 201814, China
021-69569999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 806 Attractions in Shanghai
Type: Race Car Tracks, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Funula 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having visited a few other F1 tracks that are generally sterile and geared purely towards rinsing fans of as much cash as possible, the Chinese GP really bucks the trend.

The circuit is a good hour outside Shanghai though it is easily accessible by Subway, shuttle bus or taxi.

If you are getting the shuttle buses from the Football Stadium downtown leave plenty of time as I had difficulty finding the pick up spot, and when I did the last bus had left.

Taxi drivers will know where to go if you show them your ticket and the ride is about 100rmb.

The low crowd numbers make for a pretty low key atmosphere, but again as most tracks cram as many people as is uncomfortably possible into their grounds, it is nice to be able to access the facilities with a minimum of fuss and waiting.

The food and drink is your standard overpriced even fayre. However the best part is there are plenty of hawkers on the outside of the fence who will pass over a six pack of beer for about the same price that one costs from the official outlets.

Security brilliantly turn a blind eye to this - could you imagine this happening at Silverstone!

We were sat on the corner at the end of the start finish straight which gave a great view of the cars slowing down, but not too much overtaking.

After race there was a large Brauhaus type beer festival going on which was fantastic fun, and fortunately for us, plenty of taxis still around later on at night.

Great day out, will definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Shanghai - Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I went to Shanghai on official tour on 5th may 2007. Shanghai is one of the largest and advanced cities in the world. I saw the Bund and was awestruck. It leaves one speechless when you watch the bund and a large part of the Shanghai and the Huangpu river below. The Yuyuan garden is beautiful and the Nanjing market is good for purchase. I travelled by the worlds fastest train on the Pudong. The oriental Pearl tower is a treat to watch and i was just looking at the bund and the pearl tower for over an hour. I returned via singapore to Hyderabad on 12th may. The trip will be remembered throughout my life.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Easy access and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Going to the Shanghai GP April 2013
Getting tickets was no problem. I waited until I was in Shanghai and ordered them through the hotel on the Wednesday before the first free practice on the Friday. Cost 50p to be couriered to the hotel that same day. Tickets were still being sold up to and including race day and there were obvious gaps in all stands, so not sold out.
Getting to the track was really easy. Subway Line 11 has a stop at the Shanghai Circuit and this is 2 minutes walk to the main Grandstand. No real crush on Friday\Sat or Sunday but I was at the track by 11:00 on race day.
Leaving the track was also easy. I was in stand H and there was another subway stop about a 20 minute walk away (Baiyin Rd) so I used that. No crowds at all and I was downtown in less than 1hr.
Subway fare is 7RMB (70p ) each way. I bought a three day subway pass (45Rmb) to avoid queues, though there were none.
Entrance to the track on Friday was open at 09:00 and you could access all areas except fro the premium Grandstand part.
Saturday was slightly different with people checking tickets to the Grandstand entrances. That said I still managed to get to the main Grandstand and Grandstand B1 as the people weren't too hot on checking tickets. Though this was early in the day at about 09:00 again. Sunday was a definite no, though
Exiting after Saturdays qualifiers was a farce. We all had to line up at the exit whilst ONE official checked tickets on the way OUT!
Supposedly this was to check for fraudulent tickets, however just outside the exit were scum trying to buy my ticket for Sunday.
I did see a few scum buying tickets but not that many TBHO.
Similarly on race day there were scum selling tickets, but again not that many.
Stands
Grandstand higher up gives an almost total view of the track, but is not near the action on the straight. This was £250 for the three days Stand B1 is good as it has the exit to the pit lane, the first three corners (overtaking was rife there) and the start\finish line in the distance.
Stand H section 9 is the 14th corner where the cars have decelerated from 250mph to about 60mph so plenty of overtaking, tremendous noise and some incidents here. Cost £118 for the three days.
Once in the stand most people seemed to wander about and stand at railings so do not be too concerned if your seat is naff, just walk to somewhere else.
No commentary in this stand though and the TV screens didn't quite make up for this.
Toilets
Seemed to be plenty around and all were clean with a mixture of western and "Squat"
Official Merchandise was at the usual stupid prices (£40 for a T shirt) but there were hawkers in the stand selling caps, flags for a few Rmb. Only seems to have Red Bull, Ferrari and maybe Williams stuff though.
Food tents in the "village" were not too bad price for the usual burger and drinks. We took Subway sarnies from downtown.
Overall a good venue with easy access and decent standing areas. Not too crowded and reasonable ticket prices.
With the new rules on 72hrs Visa free visits this may be a possible long weekend trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Formula One 2012 - Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Buy your F1 tickets through internet at Juzz Event, a shanghai event company organising the F1. Cheaper rates compare to F1 and include a RMB300 coupon for each of us to spend in the circuit for F&B and souvenir. They will DHL the tickets to you directly and their customer service provide great follow ups. During the 3 days event, we did not use extra money for F&B as they provide everthing as we are in Grandstand Platinium. They have a coffee corner for Grandstand Platinium guests which provide free coffee and pastry for the whole day. I will definitely come back next year!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“F1 Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Excellent facilities, although long distances to walk from Hotel shuttle drop-off & merchandise plaza to certain stands. Too many "touts" although security did their best.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Circuit also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Circuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Circuit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.