We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai to your Saves list
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 3,950 Hotels in Shanghai
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location with amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location of this hotel would be hard to beat in Shanghai. It overlooks the Bund and is in easy walking distance of many of the places of interest in Shanghai. Modern and very well fitted without being oppressive. The views from the windows are quite spectacular. Perhaps one of the best city-scapes in the world. The only negative is that there seems to be a club of some sort on the top floor of the building in which the hotel is located and you could here the music in the lifts at night. Not a problem in the room we stayed in on the 16th floor. That said we would strongly recommend it for the location in particular with the service being of a very high standard

Room Tip: Rooms at a higher level may be best for the views but not sure whether you would hear the music from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    187
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
128
403
95
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just got back from a week long trip in Shanghai for work and I was thoroughly impressed by the staff at Les Suites Orient. They were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to ensure the whole stay was enjoyable.
The location of the hotel was great as it was right at the bund, and I had an awesome view of both Puxi and Pudong from my room's window. An awesome sight to look at both in the day and at night! Getting to places around Shanghai was definitely convenient as well since it's right in the middle of the city.
Foodwise, there were a lot of small eateries around the hotel, and it was just a 10-15mins walk away from Yu Garden as well. As for room service, being someone who orders it quite a fair bit while on business trips, I must say that it was very prompt, and the food was excellent!
Lastly, I loved how quiet the hotel was despite it running at high occupancy. The only time I saw most hotel guests was during breakfasts in the cafe in the morning. If you're someone that appreciates privacy and peace, this would definitely be a hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A work colleague recommended this hotel to me and I was glad of the recommendation. Looking to have another week next Easter and would not consider any other hotel in Shanghai.
Not cheap but worth every dollar/ruan. Excellent location with great views and the staff went that extra mile when we had a problem that we had to solve.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Andre-d'Argenteuil, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Thanks to my son studying at Shangai University, we planned a visit to China. We stay at 'Les Suites Orient ' infront of the Bund. For my first visit , the surprise is total. I am amazed by the hospitality of chinese peoples. The service here at the hotel is exceptionnal. Our host Mr Joseph Pi does everything possible to make our stay unforgettable. The hotel is very well situated, the rooms are spacious clean and comfortable. We have every morning an excellent breafast (It is included in our package ). Tonight we ate at the hôtel's restaurant and enjoyed it very much.
For me this hôtel fully deserves it's 5 stars rating and we hope to have the chance to be back. Shangai is a must if you travel to china , espacially if you like to shop.

Room Tip: I recomend a Room with a view on the Bund .Day and night the view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Couple
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 4-13 November 2012 following having read reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is everything previous reviewers had desribed and we could not be more satisfied. The view from our hotel room was outstanding and the nightly light show was awesome. Amenities in the room were first class and staff very friendly and polite. Breakfast (included in the room price) was satisfactory without being over the top. Subway station was only a short walk away (about 10 mins) and taxis always readily available and very inexpensive.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay that the Les Suites Orient in Shanghai. The best feature of our stay was undoubtedly the friendly staff. From arrival to departure the staff was consistently delightful and eager to help. We had a Shanghai Deluxe room that was quite spacious and comfortable. The entire hotel, including the room, is very modern, luxurious, and spotlessly clean. Most room seem to have stunning views and ours overlooked the Bund and Pudong. That was am amazing to wake up to. It's not a huge deal but it would be nice if that hallways were a little brighter!

The food at breakfast was good and there seemed to be options for all tastes, although there aren't an overwhelming amount of choices. I was a little disappointed by the lounge but had I not had the use of other hotel lounges in my travels elsewhere in China or had I not been expecting a lounge then I would have said that it was bright and comfortable. It's a bonus that their computers are for guests' use as well for those who are traveling without a computer. The lounge had cookies but no substantial snacks of beverage selections like the lounges at other hotels. Again, this may be a welcome surprise because other hotels often limit lounge access to club floor... every guest here has use of the lounge, which could be a great way for you to work productively or relax at the hotel but outside of your room for a change of scenery.

If you're a foreigner then you'll be a target of solicitation every time you leave the hotel at night. There are guys that stand at end of the driveway trying to earn your business for their women. It would benefit the hotel if they could do something to eliminate the high pressure salesmen.

Overall, this was a great stay and I would return.

Room Tip: The views are amazing... ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a small corner room here for a few days in September. This was a great location, the room had an excellent view down the Bund, and the staff were very professional and helpful.

Overall, this was a very slick city hotel that is well designed (with so many beautiful and thoughtful touches) and run. We will return, whether it’s a work trip, or a short break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#261 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly boutique hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal.Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed cable access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.