We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing venue with amazing service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai to your Saves list
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing venue with amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just got back from a week long trip in Shanghai for work and I was thoroughly impressed by the staff at Les Suites Orient. They were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to ensure the whole stay was enjoyable.
The location of the hotel was great as it was right at the bund, and I had an awesome view of both Puxi and Pudong from my room's window. An awesome sight to look at both in the day and at night! Getting to places around Shanghai was definitely convenient as well since it's right in the middle of the city.
Foodwise, there were a lot of small eateries around the hotel, and it was just a 10-15mins walk away from Yu Garden as well. As for room service, being someone who orders it quite a fair bit while on business trips, I must say that it was very prompt, and the food was excellent!
Lastly, I loved how quiet the hotel was despite it running at high occupancy. The only time I saw most hotel guests was during breakfasts in the cafe in the morning. If you're someone that appreciates privacy and peace, this would definitely be a hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    196
    40
    11
    8
See reviews for
129
419
97
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A work colleague recommended this hotel to me and I was glad of the recommendation. Looking to have another week next Easter and would not consider any other hotel in Shanghai.
Not cheap but worth every dollar/ruan. Excellent location with great views and the staff went that extra mile when we had a problem that we had to solve.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Andre-d'Argenteuil, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Thanks to my son studying at Shangai University, we planned a visit to China. We stay at 'Les Suites Orient ' infront of the Bund. For my first visit , the surprise is total. I am amazed by the hospitality of chinese peoples. The service here at the hotel is exceptionnal. Our host Mr Joseph Pi does everything possible to make our stay unforgettable. The hotel is very well situated, the rooms are spacious clean and comfortable. We have every morning an excellent breafast (It is included in our package ). Tonight we ate at the hôtel's restaurant and enjoyed it very much.
For me this hôtel fully deserves it's 5 stars rating and we hope to have the chance to be back. Shangai is a must if you travel to china , espacially if you like to shop.

Room Tip: I recomend a Room with a view on the Bund .Day and night the view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Couple
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 4-13 November 2012 following having read reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is everything previous reviewers had desribed and we could not be more satisfied. The view from our hotel room was outstanding and the nightly light show was awesome. Amenities in the room were first class and staff very friendly and polite. Breakfast (included in the room price) was satisfactory without being over the top. Subway station was only a short walk away (about 10 mins) and taxis always readily available and very inexpensive.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay that the Les Suites Orient in Shanghai. The best feature of our stay was undoubtedly the friendly staff. From arrival to departure the staff was consistently delightful and eager to help. We had a Shanghai Deluxe room that was quite spacious and comfortable. The entire hotel, including the room, is very modern, luxurious, and spotlessly clean. Most room seem to have stunning views and ours overlooked the Bund and Pudong. That was am amazing to wake up to. It's not a huge deal but it would be nice if that hallways were a little brighter!

The food at breakfast was good and there seemed to be options for all tastes, although there aren't an overwhelming amount of choices. I was a little disappointed by the lounge but had I not had the use of other hotel lounges in my travels elsewhere in China or had I not been expecting a lounge then I would have said that it was bright and comfortable. It's a bonus that their computers are for guests' use as well for those who are traveling without a computer. The lounge had cookies but no substantial snacks of beverage selections like the lounges at other hotels. Again, this may be a welcome surprise because other hotels often limit lounge access to club floor... every guest here has use of the lounge, which could be a great way for you to work productively or relax at the hotel but outside of your room for a change of scenery.

If you're a foreigner then you'll be a target of solicitation every time you leave the hotel at night. There are guys that stand at end of the driveway trying to earn your business for their women. It would benefit the hotel if they could do something to eliminate the high pressure salesmen.

Overall, this was a great stay and I would return.

Room Tip: The views are amazing... ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a small corner room here for a few days in September. This was a great location, the room had an excellent view down the Bund, and the staff were very professional and helpful.

Overall, this was a very slick city hotel that is well designed (with so many beautiful and thoughtful touches) and run. We will return, whether it’s a work trip, or a short break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location next to the Bund. Good bars and restaurants nearby from USD 1.00 bowl of noodles to high end. Hotel is gorgeous. In an oriental vintage style, for people who like aesthetics. Every detail is thought of in the rooms, which are not massive but very well appointed, and all have views over the Bund and Pudong Business district. Very quiet at night with good black out curtains. Classy bathroom. Espresso machines in each room a nice touch as is old Jazz playing on in room radio channel. Common areas in hotel are excellent and many, some are smoking. Good bar and restaurant is supposed to be very good but only ate breakfast which was good without being great. In any case, highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms with Bund view form bathroom are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#11 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#245 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly boutique hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal.Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed cable access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.