We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai to your Saves list
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.740 Hankou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Promotion
Ranked #17 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stopped over in Shanghai for 1 night on our way to Paris. What a beautiful hotel to step into after a long flight. We arrived very early in the morning and our room was waiting for us. What joy! Our room was fantastic, so luxurious, I wanted to pinch myself. Everything about this hotel is 5 star. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. As an added bonus, the hotel is right in the middle of the city and only a few minutes walk from Nanjing Road, which comes alive at night - a must see. The Bund area is about a 20 minute walk away, and was lovely to see from the roof top of the Peace Hotel, but we were so pleased we decided not to stay in this area, as it is quite remote from other lovely parts of Shanghai. We were also able to get a late check out, so ended up having two full days in this beautiful, vibrant city.

We'd highly recommend this hotel, and the Hop on Hop off bus that takes you in and around the city - a must do if you only have limited time in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Our room faced the station, had a balcony, which was great for people watching, and was extremely qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor reviewer,

Please accept our sincere thanks for the time and opportunity to have your feedbacks about the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. We will share your comments to the rest of the team. It’s truly a pleasure to know that you were enjoying our accommodations and our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you home in the near future.

Warm regards,
Angela Li
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    134
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
59
140
45
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A great location a few streets over from the Nanjing shopping street and People's Park in a lovely Art Deco building. Room was large with nice bed and pillows; the bathroom was elegant and large with a great glassed-in deep tub and shower area -- so nice that we were worried that we had been put in the wrong room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on the trip advisor website concerning your recent stay here at the Yangtze Boutique, shanghai.
We are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay with us. And we would like to thank you for giving us high recommendation and it would be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.

Warm regards,
Angela Li
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location perfect for shopping, strolling, museums. Busy area but hotel is quiet. Travelling with teenage son. We booked terrace room and was excellent beds comfy, room had plenty of space. Opening doors to terrace gave plenty of air and side street location kept noise to a minimum. Restaurant ok reception couteous but no more which is a shame as other staff helpful. Most staff have basic english. foyer is sensational art deco - worth a look would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor reviewer,

On behalf of the team at the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, we would like to express our heartfelt and sincere gratitude for your wonderful comments which have been shared with all of our colleagues. Thank you for choosing the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Angela Li
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The fact that it is no longer managed by the Langham group means that some websites lists this place as 'closed'. Which may be why i was able to get a room for 800 RMB (100 EUR) plus tax.

I will certainly consider using this hotel again- nice building, nicely appointed rooms (art deco decor but all new- the exterior is original though) in an excellent location- metro, attractions, locals shops and restaurants all at walking distance.

Breakfast was really expensive (if not included in the rate) at 200 RMB. But i appreciated the free wifi and broadband internet.

Overall, a place to go back to, provided the rates stay competitive.

Room Tip: rooms with balconies are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor reviewer,

We appreciate your precious time and comments about your recent stay at the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. We are glad that your stay was pleasant and our accommodations and services were achieved your satisfactions. In regards to comment about some websites showed we are ‘closed’, we do believe there have some misunderstandings. In the fact that we have adjusted the website descriptions and settings at the previous period, we met the challenge and have taken immediate steps to rectify the issue.
You are also welcomed to book directly on our own website www.theyangtzehotel.com in your future visits. This website presents you the most detailed information and introductions about the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.
Thanks again for all your positive feedbacks. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Gary Gu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for five days in May. Great room, excellent location and friendly staff. It has an amazing bathroom and I loved the TV in the marble wall over the TV. Very luxurious. Good Italian in the restaurant and great food in room service. Ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Situated in one of the best locations in town (for tourists). Rooms very spacious and very well equipped. Breakfast very expensive, but that's Shanghai. Otherwise very clean, English speaking staff. Hope to stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I chose the hotel because of the reviews, and the fact that it was within my affordability price range. What I found was a delightful surprise. Having braved the metro to travel there from the Hongquiao airport, this frazzled woman found herself entering a lush, peaceful haven. Margriet at the front desk was incredibly helpful with check-in, directions, and so on. The room was beautifully appointed and spacious, with every detail looked after. An example of the detail was a little plate of fruit on the table by the armchair, and three Hersheys chocolate kisses delivered in a beautiful retro Chinese box with turndown service every evening. The linens are sparkling and comfortable, the marble bathroom luxurious with every amenity available, the lighting in the room was perfectly placed for reading in bed or working in the armchair. Spa services come complimentary with the room, but unfortunately my time in Shanghai was too busy to take advantage of them.

I was told as I checked in that breakfast didn't come with my particular reservation (which was made over Orbitz), and that was too bad, because breakfast is expensive...but very delicious, as I took advantage of it anyway.

One of the beauties of this hotel is that it is so convenient to so many nice things. The People's Square metro exit #14 is right across the road from the hotel, the beautiful People's Park is just around the corner, and you can walk from the hotel to old town Shanghai with it's lovely Yuyuan Gardens and great souvenir shopping, or down the street the other direction to the Bund.

I would most certainly stay nowhere else, when I'm back in Shanghai again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Address: No.740 Hankou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#181 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the movie “Somewhere in Time”, a time-honored hotel took the hero back to 70 years ago and experienced really romantic love with the heroine. Nowadays, in the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People’s Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies’ hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song “ Rose, Rose, I love you” reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as “The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East” by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song “Rose, Rose, I love you”. In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as “Rose Suite” to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 70 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In mid 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, this hotel guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.