We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Save Saved
You added The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.740 Hankou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flash Sale and 50% off
Ranked #19 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend at the end of a two week business trip around China. It was my first time in Shanghai and I was looking for a hotel close to the main sights. After an exhausting and hectic trip I also wanted a little oasis of calm and serenity before flying back to the UK. The Langham fitted the bill perfectly. Peoples Square is on the doorstep and it is a pleasant 20 minute stroll to The Bund area. The Metro is virtually outside the door and so it is easy to get pretty much anywhere in the city.

My room was excellent with an extremelly comfortable bed and one of the biggest and best hotel bathrooms I have ever seen (the TV above the bath was an unexpected bonus). The hotel was spotless and the breakfast excellent. The staff were efficient and helpful and seemed genuinely friendly and eager to assist at all times. However, for me the one thing that really set the hotel aside from others was its history and heritage, and the ambience and atmosphere that this has created.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a place to recharge your batteries after a day of sampling the sights, sounds, smells, and delights of Shanghai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for stay at The Langham Yangtze People’s Square.

I am so glad we were able to make your stay comfortable and we truly appreciate your kind words on our hotel.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    122
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
126
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We decided to have our AGM at this venue, and would thoroughly recommend it.
The location of the hotel made it easy for the 80 attendees to get there after work on a Friday, and all aspects of the event ran as smoothly as we could have hoped.
The food and beverages were fantastic, and I look forward to hosting an event there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for your comments.

We appreciate you holding your event at The Langham Yangtze and I look forward to being able to assist you again for future events.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlemere
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

What can I say - this was our business hotel for 5 nights this week and, after the initial fear of being downtown amongst the honking traffic of the People's Squarem, my fears were quickly put to bed. A great welcome from the moment you arrive at the main door, through to reception and everywhere throughout the hotel. The feeling is one of China plus chic French - the hotel claims to be a boutique one but I'm not really sure about that.

There are 4-5 restaurants (including a good Chinese one on the first floor and a very good Japanese one on the ground floor), the breakfast is great, the rooms are well decorated (I was fortunate to get an upgraded suite) and the fitness room/spa is really good quality. Treatments carry a charge but aren't extortionate as they can be in Europe and are very good.

The location is very central and you can pretty much walk to hundreds of shops. There's a constant sound of car horns but you get used to it pretty quickly.

All in all very, very god.

Room Tip: Go for an internal room if you can't sleep with traffic noise but if you don't mind that see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A beautiful 1934 Art Deco hotel in the heart of Shanghai, close to the Peoples' Park and major shopping precincts. Magnificently renovated and maintained and very comfortable. The staff were very polite, attentive and helpful. We look forward to staying there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for kind words.

We appreciate your feedback on our service and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Awesome experience.Breakfast is very tasty.Location of the hotel is very convenient...all the shops and restaurant near by 15 min walk to the bund,Good services provided by local & foreign staf.The room is so warm and clean.This hotle is a romantic place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your kind words on your experience.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have spent weeks in varrious Shanghai location and really like this one since it is close to bund, Xintanti, People Square (so if your a runner one of the only places you can even come close to running in the city) and many other locations. After four different stays have yet to find a bad room and staff has always been helpful. So if your not going on the cheap and want a nice location this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room if you want to see the street but just remember its Shanghai so stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

We are so pleased that you enjoy our location and service and thank you for staying with us.
I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

awesome hotel in downtown shanghai. super convenient location.. all the shops and restaurant near by. 15 min walk to the bund, outstanding view.
love the hotel! highly recommended.
breakfast is very good. but unfortunately no swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Langham Yangtze.

I appreciate your kind words on your experience whilst staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Address: No.740 Hankou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#217 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the movie “Somewhere in Time”, a time-honored hotel took the hero back to 70 years ago and experienced really romantic love with the heroine. Nowadays, in the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People’s Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies’ hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song “ Rose, Rose, I love you” reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as “The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East” by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song “Rose, Rose, I love you”. In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as “Rose Suite” to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 70 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In mid 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, this hotel guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.