We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for business trip in Shanghai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zhongbang Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zhongbang Hotel to your Saves list
Zhongbang Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.118 Shimen First Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China (Nanjing West Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for business trip in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have been in this hotel already 2 times for business trip. Location is nearby famous West Nanjing road and only 5 minutes walk to Metro line 2. Also a small walking street very close to hotel, Wujiang road.

Overall is nice except there is a big construction opposite the hotel and they are working almost 24 hours.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of building is better, if you want to avoid noise from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are extremely delighted that your had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you so much for the nice review on your experience of our service and facilities. Our hotel is located in the centre of Shanghai which is convenient for commerce, leisure and shopping. Our hotel has completed the rectification of Wi-Fi coverage throughout the hotel inclusive of room and public area. Should your travel brings you back to Shanghai, we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    134
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
16
10
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This property is very well located, within walking distance of the underground. At the same time slightly away from the terrible hustle and bustle of downtown. The rooms have everything you need, with comfortable beds, good bathrooms with toilettries and for the price is very good value. We stayed there twice, two days at the beginning and two days at the end of our three weeks. Both rooms were more or less the same. The Four Seasons is in front, and if you come out of the lobby and turn left and then left again there is a nice italian restaurant and a french restaurant plus a very good german bakery.
The checking in was done fairly quickly and efficiently, they speak good english and they are pleasent and helpful. Taxis are cheap but sometimes it is hard to get one so the underground is a solution if you want to go to the Bund or to Pudong. Good choice of hotel, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are extremely delighted that your had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you so much for the nice review on your experience of our service and facilities. Our hotel is located in the centre of Shanghai which is convenient for commerce, leisure and shopping. Our hotel has completed the rectification of Wi-Fi coverage throughout the hotel inclusive of room and public area. Should your travel brings you back to Shanghai, we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel for 6 nights. We were so happy to find a hotel where the staff spoke fluent english & the rooms were clean & comfortable. Will definitely use this hotel again. On a subsequent trip to Shanghai, we stayed in Howard Johnson HuaiHai but it wasn't as nice as the Business Club Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for making Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel Shanghai as your hotel of choice. We are glad that everything in your room was to your liking and appreciate your kind words regarding the service of our hotel. We hope we would have the chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Nice hotel, big rooms, good service, great location! We had a short stay it was confortable and well serviced by friendly staff. Good food. Breakfast space is small and temporay expanded every morning into the lobby. You can wall towards comercial streets easly!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We are pleased to know that you are satisfied with our location, food and service. We expanded the breakfast area to the lobby to ensure enough tables for the guests who would like to have a quick breakfast. Thanks again and looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Overall, this hotel was a good place to stay. Everything was clean and well kept. My only problem was their wi-fi signal needs a big boost. Do try and get a room away from the subway construction though. The construction goes 24-7 and can get noisy sometimes.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the construction zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your valuable comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our hotel. We have completed the WiFi project and now we are working on Wi-Fi signal rectification in some black zone across the entire building; if you have any problem with connection next time, please do not hesitate to contact with our front desk for assistance. We apologize for the disturbance of the construction across the street, should the situation arise during your next stay, we will be happy to arrange another room facing the garden with less noise. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I am 2 months into a 3 month business trip and I couldn't be more happy with my stay. I have an excellent suite and have been bowled over by the efficiency and kindness of all of the staff. They fall over themselves to be helpful and ensure that I have everything I need. At every level from room cleaner to the general manger, their one concern is my comfort and happiness. I have 4 more weeks to go and will certainly be booking back here when my next trip is due.

Room Tip: Corner suites have fabulous walkin showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your good comments about the Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel Shanghai. We are more than pleased to hear that you are satisfied with your stay. Our staff is delighted to serve you and to provide assistance whenever you may need. We sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your stay here and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's great place and valuable to stay. Very clean & perfect room and nice staff as well.
The hotel is closed to MRT West Nanjing road, just five minutes walk. It's quite convenient for transportation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBC, Public Relations Manager at Zhongbang Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience with us and taking time to post your comments on tripadvisor. We are lucky to be located in the down town of the city and hope it brings convenient for your trip and business. To provide warmth and care service to every guest is our responsibility and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zhongbang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongbang Hotel

Address: No.118 Shimen First Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#123 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#133 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhongbang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Zhongbang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zhongbang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.