We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel for Shanghai” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.100 Hongqiao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China (Xujiahui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4
Ranked #81 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Danville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good business hotel for Shanghai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pros: Good location for shopping and restaurants, Good A/C, decent breakfast, free Wifi
Cons: Unfriendly doormen, rather long walk to subway which makes a rather long trip to downtown
I noticed the doormen, yes, I mean doormen as most of the times, the hotel will have 2 ~ 3 people in the lobby area, but they all have sully faces greeting the people. Actually not all the time, as I noticed they are only friendly to the white guests while no facial expression to Asian guests. I wonder why. Do white guests tip the doormen while Asians don't? After awhile, I just ignored them when I arrive in the lobby, but I would have liked them to be more friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    117
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
16
21
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I went there last year for business purpose. It goes without saying, a pure business-oriented hotel with neat, spacious room. A pull-out partition separate the living room and show area which also prevent moisture getting into. For those whose designation is Caohejing Hi Tech Park, there is a another Marriott nearby, HR made a mistake for putting me in this area, but it turns out to be a nice spot for urban tourist after working.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I also stay at this hotel on a regular basis. I did not appreciate the consistenly high standards of service and accommodation until this trip. After staying at two other hotels in different cities I was welcomed upon my return as though I was home.
Bluesy and Tommy shaking my hand as I get out of the car, a warm welcome at check in, advised by Celia that she had personally checked my room and a host of warm greetings from all of the team.
General Manager Erica has certainley set high standards.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are quieter but from the rooms at the front you can splendour at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stay at this hotel 3 to 4 times per year for anywhere from 7-14 days at a time (and have for the past several years) due only to the proximity to my Shanghai business. I find the service good and the staff friendly, but over the past year the food at the restaurant has been horribly inconsistent. In fact, you can order the same menu item for 7 days in a row and each day you will be surprised by the difference. The food can be very good or awful, and while it is not a 5 star dining experience, it is not cheap.
The rooms also need to be updated as they are very tired looking and I've had rooms with carpets that are worn and dirty. Time to update this property!
If you are unfortunate enough to be on the street side of the property and want to open your window for some "fresh" air, then you had best do it when the restaurant in the building opposite of the hotel is not busy otherwise you cannot breath from the cooking smells or hear from the exhaust vent noises.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we spent nine nights here over the course of two weeks. The service was outstanding. short cab rides get you anywhere you need to go.. 2 nice parks nearby for walking or viewing tai chi.
Rooms were well kept, food onsite is typical hotel pricing but good. Employee that went above and beyond was a bellman, "Tommy",

Room Tip: corner room with view of cathedral was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

exellent location, fairly new, spacious rooms, good amenities, good kitchen, plenty of rooms, club level is great, nearby shopping and other facilities and station and offices. a bit far from Pudon airport. take a taxi to all other places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very nice hotel near shopping centre and underground station. Very convenient and pleasant to stay for business travellers and tourists. Very expensive Lobby Cafe and moderate fitness center. Personell is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui

Address: No.100 Hongqiao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#302 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"IT'S A NEW STAY" Come and enjoy the refreshing business routine at the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui! Located in the heart of the Shanghai Xujiahui commercial and shopping centre, the new Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui is the 800th Courtyard hotel worldwide open in January 2009 with easy access to all the nearby shopping malls, restaurants and bars, the old French Concession and the largest Catholic Church in Shanghai. Numerous tourist attractions are only within minutes drive or several stops by underground train. Guests can dine in the hotel signature restaurants MoMo Café and MoMo2Go. MoMo Café runs with an open kitchen, and the special "Salad and Noodle bowl" set lunch brings you a new healthy dining concept whilst our Italian executive chef presents truly authentic thin crusted pizza. For those guests who looking forward to relax and unwind, the Roman-style indoor swimming pool and 200 square meter state-of-the-art fitness center will definitely meet their needs. Stay Energized, stay focused, and stay connected with the leading hotel loyalty program Marriott Rewards at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.