We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to spend an afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour

Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour
No.999-1 Changping Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200060, China
13818632387
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$198*
and up
Ranked #2 of 160 Activities in Shanghai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shopping in Shanghai? Come with us!! We are expat locals from either USA, New Zealand or Britain, we take you to all the best shopping spots in Shanghai including the fabric market for tailor made garments, stand alone shops, markets, silk, pearls, handbags and much much more. We teach you how to bargain and how much you should be paying to ease you in to the Chinese way of bargaining. Come shopping with us and leave with some wonderful insights into Shanghai, and your bags full!! We will set you up for the rest of your trip with recommendations on what to do, where to go, what to see and what to miss!! Our most popular Best of Everything tour is available for a full or half day - try it, you won't be disappointed! Private tours are also available for those with limited time or special shopping requirements.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I did a four hour shopping tour and highly recommend it. As a private tour we were able to say exactly what we were looking for, we zipped in and out of shops as I said yes or no to the wares on offer, no wasting time or hanging around. Our guide negotiated prices and dealt with shop keepers if needed. We didn't want knock off markets and were driven instead to a whole range of great boutique and arty accessory and jewellery places. It was fabulous and our kiwi guide was a great help in recommending restaurants and other things to see and do on our visit. While we shopped for ceramics she went and bought us dumplings for morning tea. It was the best way to shop whether you do it in a group or privately. You save time, money and hassle.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoppingguru, Owner at Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you had a great time on the tour and enjoyed some of the recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    9
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great introduction to Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Can't recommend Suzy and her team enough. We had a half day private tour and, as well as the tour, we left laden down for great suggestions for other things to see, eat and do for the rest of our time in Shanghai. A great way to get orientated to the city and to get some tips and tricks for getting the most out of it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoppingguru, Owner at Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review Hayden, it was a pleasure to meet you both and take you on your shopping excursion. It sounds like you got to try out some of our recommendations, I am so pleased you enjoyed them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful intro to shopping Shanghai style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I recently visited Shanghai with some girlfriends and thankfully we decided to start our trip with a customised guided shopping tour. Honestly it was the best thing we did - the markets are just crazy and if we'd tried it on our own I'm sure we would have come away with a lot less money in our pockets. MJ was our guide and made sure to tailor our shopping trip to our requirements. Having a van for our exclusive use made it so much easier. We made some fantastic purchases including made to measure cashmere coats and ponchos, leather and suede jackets and plenty of handbags. MJ also provided us with plenty of cultural information on Shanghai and some much appreciated tips on dining destinations. We had a lot of laughs and although it was a long day - we arrived back at our hotel very happy and struggling to carry all our purchases. It also enabled us to tackle the markets on our own over the subsequent days. I can't recommend them highly enough.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoppingguru, Owner at Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, what an excellent idea, a girls trip to Shanghai, there is so much to see, eat, pamper and purchase! It sounds like you had a great trip, hopefully we will see you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is a must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Last week, we did the one day shopping tour with Emily. There was another couple on the tour too. What a blast! It was seamless and effortless. A lot of effort by Suzy and her team has gone into where to go and what to buy which meant that we had a fantastic day's fun as well as some really good shopping. The whole concept is well thought out. The provision of transport made it stress free. My husband had a dress suit made and it was perfect. The fabric was very high quality and the finish was very professional. My best buy was some pearls. They were so good that we went back to the same outlet the next day and bought some more. They were ridiculouly cheap, high quality and fantastic value. Emily managed the day really well. Her insights into the city and its inhabitants were excellent and her patience knew no bounds. Emily also brought us to a lovely restaurant for lunch - the best we had whilst in Shanghai. She also made some really good recommendations for other activities which we took up.
This is a 'must do' tour for both men and women. You will not be disappointed. It is worth every cent.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoppingguru, Owner at Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you Niamh, I know Emily also had a great day on the tour and it was lovely to get to meet you later in the week! Enjoy all your arriving boxes :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Five-star plus shopping *****♥♥♥♥♥”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This shopping tour came highly recommended and is a 5-star plus Shanghai attraction. Shopping in a relaxed style included focused attention to detail, ease of communication, excellent prices as they have been negotiated by STS beforehand, superior quality workmanship by the suppliers sourced by STS and unsurpassed follow-up and delivery arrangements either to your hotel or home. Along with the excellent shopping and lunch experience, we learnt snippets of Shanghai ' s history as well as a peek into every day life in the city. Will definitely book again on my next trip to Shanghai.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoppingguru, Owner at Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we thoroughly enjoyed showing you the delights of shopping in Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shopping Tours Shanghai-Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.