We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel to your Saves list
Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.777 Zhaojiabang Road, Xuhui District | No.8 Dong'an Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200032, China (Xujiahui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Location: convenient, right next to a metro station, just one change, to Pudong Airport
The room is not huge but comfortably spacious, very clean, the linens and towels are all immaculously clean
The mattress is firm, but comfortable, good for your back
All things work in the the room
Breakfast is good. Coffee is really fresh, and actually quite good.
I would have given it a five, except that the service is variable. I met some very helpful and cheerful staff but there are some who can do with more training.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    45
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
5
3
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip. It was my second time at this hotel (the client for the trip has its office in this hotel).

The location is great. It is near a metrostation (you can enter the station from the hotel) and within no time you are at alle the nice locations (especially french concession). If you need a taxi the bellboys help you with the translation to the taxi's. Next to the hotel is starbucks for some good coffee in the morning :).

The room is clean and the staff cleans it perfectly. They also come at night to close the curtains and make up your bed. The bed is very hard (but all the beds I have slept in, in China, are hard). There is no wifi in the room (only in the lobby), however there is free internet through a cable in the room.

However, the employees at the reception desk are terrible. They are not friendly at all, don't speak good enough English, and if I try hard to make myself clear, they stare at me and roll their eyes. There was one lady working on the night of the 5th of august who was friendly and helpfull. The rest of the staff could really use a customer service training. Including the manager.

My credit card didn't work in the hotel (it worked everywhere else in Shanghai, but not in the hotel). There is however a bank of china closeby (don't take the bank within the hotel, since that is not a bank which accepts international cards).

I would stay here again, since the hotel is fine. However, next time I hope the staff of the reception are more service oriented.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Pine City Hotel tries hard to offer luxury. It succeeds in large part. However, it bungles some basic services.

Not all laptop computers have telephone-cable ports. But in-room internet access at the Pine City Hotel is by cable only. To have to check e-mail at the lobby “business centre” is tedious, and travel planning and information gathering are impeded when one can not “surf” from one’s room.

At check-out, my written request to be billed in renminbi was ignored; my credit card statement showed my charge in pounds sterling, at a quite unfavourable rate. Was this a deliberate attempt to cheat a guest out of a few pounds? Three-cornered correspondence with my credit-card company and the management of the Pine City Hotel has not settled the question. If you resent such manoeuvres, though, you will want to keep away from this hotel.

The management of the Pine City Hotel have not yet heard of the sneeze shield. At the breakfast buffet, the cook frying eggs individually for guests wears a face mask. This little gesture at hygiene is farcical, however, given what is going on a few feet away from her hot-plate. The pastries, breads, fruit, and dishes of warm foods on offer stand open where guests inspecting their choices can cough and sneeze on the food (and they do) whilst not covering their mouths and noses (and they don’t). Remember that tuberculosis is still widespread in China, and until the buffet is set out under sneeze shields, restrict your Pine City Hotel breakfast diet to banana and fried egg. You will peel the banana, of course, and if you are worried that the frycook will spit into your egg, you can have her sear it till it could be nailed over a mousehole. Safety first!

Or you can skip the Pine City Hotel and stay elsewhere, which might be easier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I booked this hotel online for my first stop of an Asian trip. I was not disappointed, it was a great stay. The location was excellent first off, a great home base for exploring. Also as a bonus I could walk to McDonald's for a taste of home!
I didnt eat much at the hotel but when I did it was great. I had breakfast each morning and the eggs were awesome.
The hotel was very modern and eleagant with wonderful rooms and clean bathrooms.
Service was excellent with staff being very accommodating. Overall I got everything I desire from a hotel stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Was recommended to stay by colleagues who stayed here five years ago. This is not a four star hotel as advertised--maybe four star by China standards but not International metric. Time has taken its toll while Pine City rests on the laurels of the Jin Jiang Hotel chain name. Unattentive reception and surly front desk check-in, soiled carpets, no cold water from sink faucet (warm!), tattered graying towels, worn and scratched furniture (chair held together with glue and screws), no AC in hallways, staff with poor English skills (takes forever and enormous effort to get anything done), construction going on in all directions surrounding hotel, dusty and loud. Highly doubt construction complete in time for Expo 2010. Lack seating in lobby--waste of wide space and accosted by staff while waiting in lobby bar. Cannot recommend this hotel at this point.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

We stayed at Pine City Hotel while on a business trip to Shanghai. The decor and service were good. What really made the hotel enjoyable for us was the little coffee shop inside the hotel. They had great coffee, fantastic pizza, nacho's and panini sandwiches. Not the type you usually get in China but real western style. We found out that the coffee shop (Hooked on Coffee) is owned by an ex-pat Aussie. So if you are ever there drop in and say G'day mate.

  • Disliked — The hotel allows smoking in public areas and restaurants, But not in the Coffee shop
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

This is a very good hotel for business travellers who want to stay within a stone's throw from the city.

There is a pizza hut and Mc Donalds not too far away for those who miss the comforts of iternational fast food. Other local restaurants in the vicinity.

The western restaurant as advertised has ceased to exist and its in house outfit is adequate if you enjoy eastern delicacies in its full glory.

Breakfast is also basic but the staff are very willing to accomodate your requests and can prepare basic egg dishes to accompany your meal.

All in all, a very useful outfit and pleasant to stay in with clean and good sized rooms and pleasant staff.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Restaurant options
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel

Address: No.777 Zhaojiabang Road, Xuhui District | No.8 Dong'an Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200032, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.