We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian meat dishes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaozishu (JiangNing)

Zaozishu (JiangNing)
258 Fengxian Rd, Shanghai, China (Nanjing West Road)
021-62157566
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 12,559 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nanjing West Road
Dallas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vegetarian meat dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food at Veg Liftstyle is very cool. They make dishes that look and kind-of taste like meat dishes from vegetables. This would be a great thing to have back home for vegetarians or just for people to be amused. I highly recommend it just to check out the dishes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Vegetarian Restaurant in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I lived close to this place when I moved to Shanghai at the beginning of 2008. The reason that they are still in business should prove that this is not just a normal vegetarian restaurant. The food is delicious and the menu offers a huge variety of dishes. The prices are reasonable but not cheap - especially because you have to order the tea. It is a very relaxing place to grab some food and really easy to find. Just take metro line 2 (green) and get off at West NanJing Road exit 1. Turn to the left and keep on walking on the right-hand side of the road until you reach the Rolex store at the corner. Turn right and you will see the restaurant on the left side of the road.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Veg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is the perfect veg style place you can find in Shanghai, I have tried it 2 times in total, some of the food actually tastes like meat but still very nice and healthy, I hope there is one in NYC.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious vegan food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had an amazing meal here with my boyfriend. We had just arrived in Shanghai and were pleased to find this place since we are both vegan. I would recommend getting there early though because we got there around 8.45 and I think they were in a rush to leave! Regardless, the food was brilliant, very well presented and excellent value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So many choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Went there last Sunday for lunch. The first time we tried to find it, we missed because you have to walk around to the right side of the building to get there. The address has a bunch of other restaurants on the street side. Menu is extensive. Some fake meats and shellfish, but mostly authentic fresh vegetables done in many exotic ways. Servers seemed tense, but food made up for that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaozishu (JiangNing) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Zaozishu (JiangNing)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaozishu (JiangNing), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.