We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sichuan Food for Entertaining Visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinchuan (Taojiang)

Pinchuan (Taojiang)
No.47 Taojiang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai, China (Hengshan Road)
021-64379361
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 11,640 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hengshan Road
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sichuan Food for Entertaining Visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have been going to Pinchuan from time to time for a few years, generally not for my own dining but this is one of my go-to places when entertaining visitors - think white table cloths, good service, and a large selection of dishes to choose from. The prices tend to be a bit higher than other places, and the food is generally not considered to be authentic Sichuan, but I have consistently had nice meals there and my guest always enjoy it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
586 reviews 586 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
821 helpful votes 821 helpful votes
“Authentic and excellent Sichuan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

A group of us went there for Friday dinner after work and it was an excellent experience. Even those who do not usually like spicy food enjoyed the meal. Highly recommended dishes include beef ribs with cumin sauce (they also have a deep fried version which is done at the table), steamed fresh fish, kongpao beef and chicken with cashews, and cold dishes such as pig ear/chicken feet salad. We had two desserts - a bowl of red dates and fruits syrup, which everyone enjoyed, and a plate of sweet sesame dumplings, which were coated in peanuts. The staff members were very attentive and quick to change plates as necessary. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Left the restaurant a bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We went after hearing such great things about this restaurant. First impression of the Taojiang Road venue was favorable. We had a nice table by the window, nicely decorated, elegant but not over the top.

Ordered a slew of dishes and a bottle of red wine which they informed me later they were out of stock so we opted for a Lambrusco. First off the black fungus, beancurd roll, string beans and spinach were very good, well seasoned and presented. My hot and sour soup arrived, looked great until I took the first sip - the only taste that came up was sour....nothing else.

Then the cumin pork ribs, we thought we got the wrong dish since it looked different from the picture. Ok, never mind that it looked much smaller, we dived right in and found the meat overcooked and dry. And there was not much meat to start with. The ma po tofu dish fared a bit better, good taste but a tad too oily for us.

Was tempted to try the durian puff desserts but we missed the last order time of 2pm...

I must say the saving grace was the starters and the bottle of Lambrusco...we left rather disappointed and with the feeling "been there done that....no need to come back" since there are so many more restaurants out there to try.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good Sichuan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Went here first with colleagues from work and the spouse and had a really enjoyable experience. If you dont like spicy food then dont bother showing up here. If you like having your tastebuds lit on fire then this place is for you. Lots of choices and good atmosphere. Have a local take you here to get the best experience.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“My Favourite Sichuanese Restaurant in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have been to both branches and both provide great food. My preference is for Plaza 66 as it is a bit more upmarket but the Taojiang Rd one, being in the French Concession, is quite atmospheric. If you are a Sichuan Chilli pepper lover make sure you try the fish in oil soup... a traditional Sichuan dish. Reasonably priced and great quality food. Extensive menu. We would normally pay around 150 RMB pp including 1-2 drinks. Make sure you book in advance - especially Friday and Saturday PM.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinchuan (Taojiang) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Pinchuan (Taojiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinchuan (Taojiang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.