We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will be your highlight in Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour

Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour
Downtown, Shanghai 200040, China
13817616975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 160 Activities in Shanghai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore Shanghai by vintage sidecar motorbike. Recently recommended by TIME magazine, National Geographic Traveller, Vogue or ELLE Magazine across 38 countries; Shanghai Insiders offers you the most original way to venture out and explore Shanghai off the beaten tracks while quenching your own centers of interests, might it be architecture, photography, food, art, etc. Enjoy an open-air adventure comfortably seated in the side-car of a classic motorbike. Every tour is tailor made by your insider who is an expat who has been living in Shanghai for a minimum of 3 years. Shanghai Insiders is the friend of a friend you wished you had in a city you do not know. Don't forget to ask for our champagne option!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This will be your highlight in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This was an opportunity to see the real Shanghai. I usually HATE tours of any kind, but touring with Max felt more like having a friend show me his city.
The only downside was that it ended way too quickly.
Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hi John,

Thank you for your super nice review, Max will be impossible to talk to for five days thanks to you :)

I hope we'll be able to show you some more of Shanghai on your next trip or why not Xi'an or even a longer expedition in China's south western province of Yunnan!?

Take care and have a GREAT summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    34
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shanghai in 4 hours !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This has to be absolutely the best way to see and get a feel for Shanghai - whether you only have a few hours to spend there (as in our case), or you'd like an overview of all the places to go back and see on a longer stay.
Sammy, our Guide, was an excellent driver in somewhat chaotic traffic, taking detours up smaller avenues to show us more than the main highways. Whilst covering many of the main sites of the Shanghai, he also allowed us to peek at lesser known and unusual jewels, tucked away in quiet corners of the city - stopping every now and again for us to explore more interesting places by foot - all the while explaining as we went along the history and development of such an important trading and business centre.
In all it was a fabulous experience - and a far more intimate way to see, feel, smell and explore such an exciting city ... we would recommend it to everyone as one of the "must do" things in Shanghai !!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hi Jan,

Thank you for your very kind words; you've made Sammy a very happy man (the photo's great too!)

Drop us a line when you're in the area again, we have so much more we could show you :)

Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track - supafun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you are looking for the full aircondition standard tour super convenient and booooring - DON'T Go there... This tour is absolutely great fun if you are looking for something different with a fun guide offering you sights of Shanghai that are only seen by locals. Will certainly vome back next year...

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Well, all I can say is that you have a unique way of describing what we do… and we love it! Many thanks for your kind words and we very much look forward to having you on another tour in the future! See you in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Shanghaï sidecar tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We asked unusual aspects as we visited Shanghai before.
Luca is a perfect guide and showed as the Budhist temple, the Jewish quarter and the Slaugtherhouse. We started and finished the trip over the Bund.
It was a perfect three hour tour

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Serge,

Thank you for your kind words, you've made Luca's day (and ours as a matter of fact!)

Safe travels and we hope we'll have the chance of having you again on 3 wheels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shanghai tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a great way to really 'see' Shanghai- it's tiny alleyways, wonderful street markets, leafy avenues of the (former!) French concession. Fredrik was an informative and fun guide...we returned to the food market the following day & ate! Travelling in/on the vintage cycle & side car was such an enjoyable way to get around a large city & I would book it again- just tour a different area. Thank you!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hello Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions of your tour with Fredrik, this means the world to us!
FYI we operate expeditions in northern Yunnan which isn't that far from Hong Kong. We also have the best french wine bar of Yunnan there (technically it's also the worst french wine bar of Yunnan as it's the only one).
Drop us a line if you want an extended version of your Shanghai experience to explore China's most beautiful parts.

Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.