We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage sidecar motorcycle tour Shanghai - excellent and suggested service improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour

Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour
Downtown, Shanghai 200040, China
13817616975
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore Shanghai by vintage sidecar motorbike. Recently recommended by TIME magazine, National Geographic Traveller, Vogue or ELLE Magazine across 38 countries; Shanghai Insiders offers you the most original way to venture out and explore Shanghai off the beaten tracks while quenching your own centers of interests, might it be architecture, photography, food, art, etc. Enjoy an open-air adventure comfortably seated in the side-car of a classic motorbike. Every tour is tailor made by your insider who is an expat who has been living in Shanghai for a minimum of 3 years. Shanghai Insiders is the friend of a friend you wished you had in a city you do not know. Don't forget to ask for our champagne option!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Suzhou, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vintage sidecar motorcycle tour Shanghai - excellent and suggested service improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We live in Suzhou, Jiangsu Province, China and recently booked visiting overseas friends on this one hour tour. We did this based on our own earlier great experience of the tour. These tours are a lot of fun and quite different to other sights tours with the distinctive replica motorcycles attracting a lot of spectator interest.

The drivers are very welcoming, knowledgeable and flexible in going to backstreets and less prominent sights one would otherwise not see.

At RMB800 for one hour the tour is on the pricey side, but well worth doing.

In our experience there are a couple of service aspects surrounding the tour that could be improved with a little more attention to detail.

Bookings are on a pre-stated 'first come first served basis'. The difficulty with this from a customer perspective is an email is sent requesting a booking. The company then sends out its booking form for completion and states there are tours available at the requested time. But when the completed booking form is completed and emailed back to the company they responded that all spots at our requested time had been taken. We were on the verge of canceling when the tour company changed our arrangements to accommodate our time, which was appreciated.

For us it would have been much better for the company to originally offer the time slot with availability for say 24 hours (to accommodate people coming from overseas and operating in a different time zone etc) by which time the booking would have to be confirmed or would lapse. This arrangement is something the customer has full knowledge of and some direct influence over. Whereas the customer has relatively little influence on 'first come first served basis'.

Secondly is the meeting arrangements. The confirmed booking from the motorcycle company specified we should wait 'At The Flow bar in the lobby of the Swissotel hotel'. Which we did. This is in Jingan area of Shanghai. The tour was due to start at 9.00 a.m. When no one showed up by 9.15 a.m. we walked outside the Swissotel to find the motorcycle and driver waiting at one end of the driveway into the hotel which was in no way in sight of the bar area. When we showed the booking form to the driver he said he did not have that form.

The obvious suggested service improvement is that both the driver and the customer should be informed of the same meeting place.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Bobby,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a long and constructive review: this truly helps us improve the quality of our tours.

We have changed the details of our starting point for our week end tours at the Swissotel thanks to your feedback.

Regarding the option of holding on a booking inquiry, this is unfortunately impossible during high season since the number of inquiries goes well above our capacity in terms of numbers of tours we can deliver in a single day. I'll think of a way to make this more clear to people sending an inquiry, maybe by urging people to answer asap once they've got our answer.

I hope we'll have the pleasure of having you on another tour in the future and I apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused in your tour.

Thanks and regards,

Thomas Chabrieres
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    35
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a fun way to see Shanghai!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a fantastic way to explore Shanghai! I did a 2 hour tour and regretted I didn’t book the 4 hour one. It was a great experience and will definitely do it again next time I am visiting Shanghai. Luca showed me interesting places and also told me the story behind it. I am happy I choose for the option to make a video. Whenever I miss Shanghai, watching the video makes me smile again!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, this means the world to us and Luca is now doing his victory dance in the office :)

Feel free to post your video on our Facebook page once you've received it!

Take care and see you on another one of our tours in Xi'an or Yunnan maybe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must do....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

What a fantastic experience, we got to see so many different aspects of shanghai that we could not possibly have found on our own. Our guide had incredible knowledge and love of the area and he was able to share it very easily and well. We went 4 hrs, but could have gone much longer. The route was adjusted once the guide got to know our interests better. Put it on your must do list!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks a million for your very kind review, we strive at going beyond our passengers' expectations and feedbacks like yours show that we're doing it right.

I hope we'll see you again on a longer trip in Yunnan or in Xi'an on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Non-Risky Business!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

What a hoot! Reconstituted Chinese "BMW" motorcycles with actual sidecars touring the narrow streets of Shanghai and roaring down the main thoroughfares! All while getting historical trivia about the city and informative walking tours of the most interesting buildings! Safe, fun, unusual, insightful ... try it & you will like it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi Bob,

Thank you so much for posting your review, very much appreciated.
Just for the people reading your review who are considering taking a tour with us: the bikes are chinese copies of russian copies of the original 1930's BMW, they are not the actual BMW's (we're in a true chinese tradition of creativity here:))

I hope we'll have the luck of having you on another tour in a near future!

Take care and see yoga round :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only way to see the real China!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The four hour tour with the motorbike and sidecar was personalised to suit our interests by our awesome guide/ driver, Sammy, which allowed us to spend as much or as little time as we wanted in certain places (unlike to regimented city bus tours taken by most travellers) We were able to enter private residences, a construction site, a little know art gallery, experience Sammy first hand bargaining down a coveted souvenir at the markets. Topped off with a hot wine on a rooftop, this tour was the definitely highlight of my Shanghai visit, and I would do it again (and again)!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, this means the world to us and surely made Sammy's day!

I hope we'll have the chance of showing you other parts of China or just of taking you for another tour of Shanghai on your next visit!

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.