We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome view of Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour

Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour
Downtown, Shanghai 200040, China
13817616975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 160 Activities in Shanghai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore Shanghai by vintage sidecar motorbike. Recently recommended by TIME magazine, National Geographic Traveller, Vogue or ELLE Magazine across 38 countries; Shanghai Insiders offers you the most original way to venture out and explore Shanghai off the beaten tracks while quenching your own centers of interests, might it be architecture, photography, food, art, etc. Enjoy an open-air adventure comfortably seated in the side-car of a classic motorbike. Every tour is tailor made by your insider who is an expat who has been living in Shanghai for a minimum of 3 years. Shanghai Insiders is the friend of a friend you wished you had in a city you do not know. Don't forget to ask for our champagne option!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Awesome view of Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Words don't sum up this experience enough.....
This is a must do tour when in Shanghai, you see a different side to Shanghai then from the footpath or bus, you are in the thick of it and it was just amazing.

From making the booking to meeting the riders/guides everything was great our guide was Fredrik he is awesome, friendly, knowledgeable and funny and loves his job and Shanghai and wanted to share it all with us.

From riding down past the Bund and seeing the hold HSBC building to going down back alleys and seeing locals having lunch on the side of the road, just fantastic.
Most fun I’ve had with my pants on…………

Well done Shanghai Insiders

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    34
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went with shane too a hidden side of shanghai. A side you will not see any other way! Small back streets. A wet market. Live frogs! Felt really safe. Finished it off at a tiny dumpling store selling the best dumplings. Great fun and good value. Thanks Shane.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I'd just like to specify for the people reading your review that the dumplings are not related in any way to the live frogs :)

Shane says thanks for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun in the Sidestreets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked this unique tour as a surprise to our four teenage guests. Our teens almost fell over in shock when they saw the bikes with the cool sidecars.
I have lived in Shanghai for nearly two years and saw lots of new areas and learned new facts. It was particularly cool that we walked through some of the old back streets and learned about the disappearing local old zones.
Our tour guide was knowledgeable about the city and sensitive to our teens lack of attention -- so he made things interesting and short! They were all quite friendly and safe drivers (particularly important in the Shanghai streets).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Manager at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Expat teenagers, now THAT'S a challenge :)
Very happy we delivered and that you all had a good time with us! Feel free to share some photos on our FB page "INSIDERS EXPERIENCE"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutianyu, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real insider experience of Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Even after living quite a few years in Shanghai and knowing the city quite well, I am amazed by the insider tips given by Sammi when taking us through the city. He took us on 2 bikes for a 4 hour tour of the Jewish Concession, the international concession, Shanghai Oldtown ending in the French concession.

Riding on the vintage motorbikes is already a great experience, but sightseeing a beautiful city like this is even better. Together with the knowledge of the "Insiders" a must do in Shanghai. You will really see a different side of this beautiful city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks a zillion for your kind words! Expats are always the hardest to satisfy as they know the city quite well so your review counts as double to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The only way to see Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I took this tour last month with my girlfriend as a birthday present and we had an awesome time! I booked just one bike with me sitting on the back and my girlfriend in the sidecar, i'm 6ft 5 and I was more than comfortable. Maxime our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. I've been an expat in Shanghai for 2 years and booked the trip more for the experience of going on a sidecar than anything else, but actually the information and places we were taken were often completely new to me! All in all a seriously fun way to see Shanghai, I highly recommend it and our friendly Belgian guide Maxime!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, very happy we managed to bring the romance out!

Maxime is actually doing a victory dance in the office :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.