We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money right in the city of shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road to your Saves list
Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.138 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #440 of 3,989 Hotels in Shanghai
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money right in the city of shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Situated in the historic center of Shanghai. Bund , the shopping street Nanjing road and the Shanghai Museum are all within walking distance.
Spacious and clean rooms.Good view over the old adjacent quarter.
Plenty of eating places around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
15
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was very spacious and clean. However, the furnishings are a little outdated and ruff round the edges. For example the was a cigarette burn in the chair and dirty silicon in the bathroom shower. Would be a better hotel if the rooms where updated. The bed was large and comfy. The western breakfast is awful seriously don't even bother. The location is excellent within a 5 minute was to the bund promenade and 15 minutes to the nearest metro on nanjing road. Would definitely stay here again as it is worth the price they charge even with its little faults.

Room Tip: High floor and non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada Z, Guest Relations Manager at Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your affirmation。We will deal with the problem of chair ,The room attendant will let them carefully rounds. the room you lived which have the best amenitiesThe Elegance Bund Hotel staff are looking forward to your next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I spent one night in Shanghai and really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel was a lot nicer than expected. The lobby was fancy-like, but the lobby bathroom was the complete opposite. It was a bit run-down. The room itself was a very good size and the bathroom as well. The shower was clean, though the drain didn't drain very quickly. I enjoyed the complimentary water, tea, and room slippers were a nice touch. The view from the room was horrible, but the room was clean. The beds were hard, but that was to be expected of Chinese beds. The hotel staff was pleasant, and I would recommend this hotel to guests, especially since it's only a 10 minute walk to the East Nanjing Rd subway stop and very easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada Z, Guest Relations Manager at Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your love for our hotel!your recognition is very important for us!I hope you will help us to do the promotion in the circle of friends, by the way, you are so beautiful。Looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your services and accommodations. We really like this hotel and staff.The check-in was handled by a separate desk, which saved a lot of hassles. The first thing that strikes you is its lavish Carpet and Glass designed lobby, but in terms of architecture it could be the best. But the place is littered with the polite bending and bowing and ever-smiling staff, so it could be only one place in the world-Shanghai.As expected, the room is lavishly appointed and was large. The bathroom is large and the amenities the hotel provides is superb.

Frequent travellers would love the plethora of brushes and shaving razors and towelettes and what not. And they replaced anything missing everyday! I had a dinner buffet and for a vegetarian in China, it was no issue at all. Besides the food was good too. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel .

I Stayed for 7 days at this hotel. Nothing to say about the service, perfect from the beginning to the end.The hotel location is nice, 200 mts to the Famous The Bund ,Nanjing Road,metro station,shopping .

A perfect hotel to Discover Shanghai .

Regards
Kamal.c sugunaraj

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome,but try to book the room in first block for a easy access to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada Z, Guest Relations Manager at Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your love for our hotel!your recognition is very important for us!Thanks for your upload photos, is so beautifully,All people can know our hotel from your photos,Looking forward to seeing you again,make the best wishes for you finally !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in May 2013. We were upgraded to a boutique suite at check in in the 5th floor. Most of the pictures online are for rooms on this floor. The room was very nice, spacious by China standards and clean. Bed was hard but this is normal in China. The bathroom appeared recently re-done. Shower pressure was great. We did not notice any of the cleanliness issues identified by other reviewers.

Room had free wifi - a bit slow but serviceable. The hotel advertised a western breakfast set for 25 RMB but we never tried it.

Location can't be beat - two blocks from the Bund, 3 blocks from the metro and a 10-15 minute walk to East Nanjing Road. People's square is at the other end of East Nanjing Rd. Easily walkable. We walked almost everywhere from this location. Good restaurants nearby as well.

Staff spoke fairly good English - some no English at all but we were able to get by without a problem.

Our only complaint is that the A/C apparently only gets turned on if its over 28 degrees Celsius - this is what the front desk told us when we complained our A/C was not working. That made for some very hot evenings when it was 27 during the day.

I would stay here again but I would likely pay for the upgraded boutique room as they were recently renovated.

Room Tip: Book a boutique room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada Z, Guest Relations Manager at Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your approval, The design style of the 5 floor for the Japanese designer unique style, this is to help you avoid rise, you can book the fine Fangxing next time, as you said, the surrounding traffic is very convenient, there are also many restaurant nearby.By the way the night view of the Bund is great.The Elegance Bund Hotel staff are looking forward to your next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for three nights and have nothing to complain about :) Room was clean and quiet (number 335), wifi available in room (not so fast). Room was very basic but that's what we expected. Location was very good, near the Bund and the large shopping street (Nanjing east road).
We had no breakfast but the Paris baguette place around the corner is a very nice place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had made a booking for 4 rooms. 3 of them were up against a wall (on the 3rd floor) so you could open the window approximately 10 cm and it was pitch black without the light on. The last room was on the 2nd floor and that window was overlooking a huge AC that was terribly noisy. We were able to change this room on the second day to one on the 3rd floor with no view. I booked non-smoking but you could smoke in all rooms except "no smoking in bed". All 4 bathrooms were clean but one of the bed sheets had a huge coffee stain. Really dirty carpet in all rooms and one of the chairs in my room also had a coffee stain all over the seat. Wifi is only available in the lobby. So my conclusion, if you want a really really cheap hotel located close to the Bund and you are not claustrophobic....this is your hotel! PS: Do not invest the 25 RMB for the breakfast.

Room Tip: On the iPad in the lobby and the elevator it looked like they had nice rooms as well but I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#374 of 3,989 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#46 of 3,989 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
The Bund
Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
#240 of 3,989 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People's Square
The Bund Riverside Hotel
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#191 of 3,989 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#198 of 3,989 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
The Bund
Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel
Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel
#275 of 3,989 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road

Address: No.138 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund , The Bund
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #440 of 3,989 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.