We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, a bit expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VaBene Shanghai

VaBene Shanghai
House 7, North Block, Xintiandi, Lane181, Taicang Road, Shanghai, China (Xintiandi)
+86 21 6311 2211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 12,560 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $170 - $700
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Xintiandi
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Very good, a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I didn't expect to find a real Italian restaurant here, I supposed to find typical restaurant for tourists or international businessmen in Xintiandi.
Instead I have to say it's very, very close to be a very good restaurant one can find in Milan.
Good service, very good meal, italian taste and probably ingredients, good fresh bread.
I do not appreciate too much the typical italian opera music in the background, but that's very personal.
A bit too expensive, more expensive than a restaurant in Milan of the same level, service, quality.
Anyhow a very good choice to italian in Xintiandi and probably in Shanghai.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Upscale Italian Restaurant in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My partner and I came to Va Bene after living in Shanghai for 3 months, knowing it was an upper scale restaurant, we wanted to wait for a special night to go. Upon walking in we were greeted in Italian which was nice, and we had a reservation and were seated immediately. They promptly brought over bread with a side of a sort of marinara sauce and both the bread and the sauce were amazing! I ordered the caprese as an appetizer and it was very good. For my main dish I ordered the gnocchi with mozzarella and a tomato sauce, and it was very good, but not to die for. For dessert I ordered the panna cotta and THAT was to die for. By this time, we had met the manager, who has only been in Shanghai for a few weeks, so it seems as though the restaurant is under new management, and based off past reviews that the service here isn't great, I would say that he is doing a good job of improving the service. He is Italian and was so pleasant to do business with, he was exceptionally nice, and gave us recommendations that we were very pleased with. At one point during the dinner, I believe before our dessert, they also brought out a plate with shredded dark and white chocolate which was of course amazing. I would recommend this restaurant for a nice dinner. It was pretty expensive (a little over $200 USD) so I wouldn't come here on a casual night out, but definitely if you want good Italian food with a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Good and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This restaurant was among the first in the Xintiandi area and has survived based on convenient location and a good Italian cuisine. The service, as some reviewers have remarked, is improvable. That may have to do with the continuing strong competition and personnel shortage in Shanghai. As soon as a waiter has learned to survive in the job for a half year or even less, he or she becomes F&B manager in another place. The effect is a generally low service standard in town.
Va Bene offers good and light business lunch options, though not necessarily cheap. The atmosphere is suitable for good undisturbed conversations. People don't shout here, and hence the general noise level is low without the sometimes oppressive feeling that can come up when one thinks one has to speak low to avoid being overheard. A good place for a business lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Pros:

- Good food
- Very nicely appointed restaurant
- Cozy and intimate location in Xintiandi

Contras:

- Rude, inappropriate staff behaviour
- Terrible service given the prices
- Very expensive for what you get, especially the wines

Would definitely not come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Va Bene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nicely suit in Xintiandi, Va Bene's chef Corrado is possible best Italian chef in town. 1 star Michellin chef but humble and funny, beside his fantastic Italian cusine....

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VaBene Shanghai also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to VaBene Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VaBene Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.