We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Va Bene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VaBene Shanghai

VaBene Shanghai
House 7, North Block, Xintiandi, Lane181, Taicang Road, Shanghai, China (Xintiandi)
+86 21 6311 2211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 11,638 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $170 - $700
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Xintiandi
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Va Bene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nicely suit in Xintiandi, Va Bene's chef Corrado is possible best Italian chef in town. 1 star Michellin chef but humble and funny, beside his fantastic Italian cusine....

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mmmmh, I enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

After many days of Chinese, eating Italian was a great change and the place couldn't be better.

The owner/manager very attentive, great food nice place.

Xintiandi is a really nice place, so you might want to walk around after or before dinner, you will enjoyed it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Find in the Xintiandi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

After two weeks of mostly chinese food, we were ready for a change. We saw a few business men leaving this restaurant at lunch and so we figured it was probably good. We were right - it was a real treat. Delicious wine, great food and service, a bit expensive but well worth it. The fixed price menu was very reasonable, and we all left very happy with this discovery (which I realized when I got home was not such a 'discovery'!)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very nice location in Xintiandi and very good service. Food is excellent and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a special dinner out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere on Planet Earth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Italy in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Fanatastic restaurant with real italian food!
Olive white chic mousse is a must try!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VaBene Shanghai also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to VaBene Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VaBene Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.