We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in service and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Puli Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Puli Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Puli Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 200041, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
manila
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The best in service and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'll give it 5 stars, definitely. The service? Impeccable. The facilities? Only for the most discerning guests. It's easy to get pampered and spoiled here when the staff is just oh-so attentive and gracious (thanks, Nancy and Jeff). They are ready for your questions and for whatever you need as most of the staff speak English. The room we got has a King-sized bed (super comfortable!), a bath tub, top of the line bath products/ facilities, a sound system, LCD TV, and all the goodies from the mini-bar is included in the fee (so eat to your heart's content). Buffet breakfast has a good selection. The indoor infinity pool has a great view and good music playing in the background; the Jacuzzi room is spacious and clean -- just what you need to relax. The hotel's design elements are truly modern minimalist, very classy. I had a great time in this hotel and wished I stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most gracious feedback from your recent stay at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our tastefully designed guest room to its fullest with our comfortable bed, its great and sizeable bathroom layout with exquisite amenity products, and that you took advantage of our comprehensive TV and sound system. And of course complimented by our free mini-bar. I am also pleased that you were able to relax in our jacuzzi and wet areas and visit our indoor infinity pool.

Thank you especially for shining a light on our team members Nancy and Jeff for their outstanding service attitude; I have shared your feedback with them in particular - they were thrilled by your kind praises.

I sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    164
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
69
229
68
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chaweng, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

All prices are close to European's, but very convenient.

Directly at hotel are a Japanese and European restaurant with an outside dining facility in a very pleasant atmosphere.

All staff are very supportive and their English knowledge exceeded my expectation.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms far away from elevators and staircases because of the noise, especially at night. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

I am so pleased to read that you really enjoyed our room features and the friendliness and effectiveness of our colleagues and that we were able to exceed your expectations.
Our team will be glad to read that their English training is bearing fruit!

My entire team strives to understand and satisfy its guests by offering a personalized level of services and your comments are a great endorsement of our day to day efforts.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to The PuLi Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Puli outshines them all.
We stayed at The Puli for 3 days and nights in The Club and experienced the most friendly, relaxed and wonderful service we have received in any hotel in the world. After a long flight from the UK we were greeted with graciousness from all the exceptionally well trained staff. Our butler Alice was extraordinary right from our in room check-in until the moment we sadly said goodbye to her. She was knowledgeable and most helpful, arranging tickets for us to the best show on earth - the Circus (a must do in Shangahi) and also the lovely night river cruise. Nothing was too much trouble for Alice even providing us with written directions in English to great restaurants and must do sightseeing. Well done Alice and to the Puli for employing a star.
The Puli has been designed for the traveller who wants something stylishly different from other 5 star hotels - beautiful art and antiques in a very cool and beautifully lighted entrance foyer, long bar and relaxing outdoor area with comfy day beds. We especially loved the traditional Chinese dog statues positioned throughout the Puli to safeguard us during our stay.
Our room was spacious with a separate bedroom with a raised bed platform which highlighted the city view and a spacious lounge and sitting room. The bathroom was a real winner- great bath with a shower room. A point of difference was the special Puli perfume throughout the room.
We made good use of the gym, health club and fantastic indoor pool which were all easily accessible, immaculately clean and attended by helpful and very capable staff.
When the time came to say goodbye we were sad to leave this wonderful hotel but we will be back and have already started recommending the Puli to family and friends. Very well done everyone at the Puli and thank you all very much!!

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Club room and suites - great value and exceptional service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback from your recent experience at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations with separate bedroom, highlighting the city view and the spacious lounge and sitting room and the bathroom layout. Happy to read you loved our special hotel scent throughout the property.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized service and I am so proud to learn that your butler Alice was able to read your wishes and deliver accordingly - she will be very pleased to read your accolades!

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful and traditional art and artifacts throughout the property - and yes, we are very different in style and vibe when comparing to other competitor hotels.

I truly appreciate your word of mouth recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We travel to Shanghai 3-4x a year and the The Puli is one of our favorites. The rooms are large with a sleek Chinese Zen vibe, the lighting in the room is moody cool, and beds are super comfy (not always the case in China). Perfect place to chill and recover from jet lag. Did I mention the pool and spa? The women and men (separate) spas have private indoor soaking pools, and the in-door swimming pool is super cool. Great location in the French Concession near good Nanjing Lu shopping. If you can get a good rate, totally worth the $$,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for sharing your feedback from your most recent experience at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

I am so pleased to note that you enjoyed our large rooms with its sleek Chinese Zen vibe, the lighting sets which enhance the cool mood and the comfortable beds. I am also delighted that you enjoyed our wellness areas with its complete offerings and our fabulous infinity lap pool.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of your favourite Shanghai hotels and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over the week end at leisure and enjoyed the property, was a relaxing and restful stay! Product is edgy and/but very comfortable. Great spa, cool bar/lounge area. Unexpected (in good ways) sense of arrival! Liked the bamboo and black marble!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor following your weekend stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

I was very happy to read that you had such a relaxing, leisurely few days and that you were able to rest and enjoy our property to its fullest.

We consider ourselves to be a Urban Resort and are able to surprise and offer our guests a tranquil and Zen like experience which shows in our high repeat capture rate.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon hopefully and remain in the meantime,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

There isnt enough words to describe this hotel, it is paradise on earth. From the moment me and my Husband walked in we were treated like royalty. The service was fantastic and the room was superb. We had breakfast included and I must say it's the best I've ever had. There was so much choice. Overall I would recommend this hotel who loves luxury.

Mohini

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest, greetings from paradise on earth!

I would like to thank you for choosing The PuLi Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to post your fabulous review on Trip Advisor.

Design, location and amenities are all very important aspects to a great stay, but what sets us apart is the service delivery by our colleagues. We take great pride in creating memorable experiences for our guests. I was also happy to note that you really enjoyed our breakfast buffet spread and will share this with our culinary team.

My team and I look forward to having you back in the not too distant future and remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Puli for a few days with our 10 month old son. The hotel was fantastic - the staff couldn't have been more helpful, the swimming pool & spa were fantastic, the room was quite big with a view over the park next door and the food at breakfast was good.

The Puli is well located, close to a number of shopping centres (all upmarket), restaurants, foodcourts and to the metro. There is a supermarket that sells western & Japanese products close by, and a park next door. It is 3 stops on the metro to the Bund.

I asked the staff for a recommendation of a local dumpling restuarant to get takeaway to bring back to the hotel, and I was sent to a nearby restaurant that had been awarded the best dumplong restaurant in Asia at some awards - it was reasonably priced and the dumplings were superb.

Room Tip: The rooms on the western side overlook a large park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Family,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa. I hope your homeward travels were uneventful and smooth.

I was very happy to read that you and your family had such a fantastic time and that our team members were instrumental in making your stay a success.

Great to note you enjoyed our facilities to its fullest and that the culinary aspect of your stay was so good as well. I was especially delighted that our Concierge was succesful in recommending a dumpling restaurant and that you enjoyed it.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit sometime soon.

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Puli Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puli Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 200041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#284 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Puli Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. Jing'An, the hotel's signature 120-seat Restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, experiential showers, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Puli Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Puli Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.