We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The PuLi Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Buy 2 Get 1 Free
Ranked #2 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Pickering, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Puli Hotel has been added to my favourite Hotels list now. It is luxurious in the lobby, rooms and spa. Even though the weather was terrible when we were visiting Shanghai, I was very happy in my Puli oasis. The spa treatments and personnel are exquisite, the pool, sauna, steam room are all top notch. Breakfast buffet was also excellent as was the "long bar" and lounge for drinks and appetizers.
We booked 30 days in advance as they offer a significant discount for advanced bookings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Sunny greetings from The PuLi Hotel and Spa,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments you posted on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

We are thrilled to know you have included our hotel to your list of favourites and that you have rated our Lobby, Guest Room and Spa, our Long Bar and breakfast buffet so highly.

I was especially happy to read that our staff were exquisite as you put it, in making your stay such a comfortable one.

We hope to have the pleasure in seeing you again when you next travel back to Shanghai and remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    175
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
255
73
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We like the design of the Puli and the Long Bar concept where Check-in and your first drink are just served over the same long counter. But here is the problem: If you expect a good host at the other side of that counter you are mistaken.
We waited for the drink list while other people were seated and got their menu before us. Finally I got to order a Single Malt for 118 Yuan, after 5 minutes the waiter returned just to ask me if I want it with ice(!) After another 5 Minutes he arrived with the glass. I could hardly recognize the content. There was just a very tiny sip in it just covering the bottom of the glass. I ask the bar keeper about it and his rude answer was: "Want a double"?
My wife's Pina Colada wasn't better. Lots of ice and no alcohol could be tasted. We went on to the new Bar at the neighboring Shangrila where I got a triple whisky (by Puli measures) and a handshake from the bar keeper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent Long Bar visit with us.

We are truly disheartened to have disappointed you on this occasion with our beverage service.
This is certainly not indicative of the service levels that we pride ourselves on.

Please allow me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience, frustration you experienced. Rest assured we take your valuable comments in the spirit intended and this has been discussed with our Long Bar team.

I would like to point out that we use 30ml jigger size measuring units for our spirits and we serve such beverages in larger than normal rock glasses so that the aroma and taste is appreciated. Other establishments use up to 45ml jigger size and the size of glassware can warry.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in us and look forward to remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife, 12-year old daughter and I spent 3 nights here and it was fantastic. The beauty, aesthetic and attention to detail is amazing, and the service is extremely solicitous yet warm and friendly. We loved being in the club level with butler, who tracked us down at dinner to bring our free aperitifs and lent my daughter an ipad, among many other touches. We normally try to stay at small funky hotels that are more personal, but wanted a "james bond" kind of experience to see the "new China" in Shanghai. The Puli was perfect for that. I wish one could get Chinese food at dinner there, as we arrived too late to go out, but Jing'An was excellent nonetheless (vastly better than M on the Bund, which we recommend purely for the views). Compared to the 4 seasons in NYC, the Imperial in Vienna, and the Royal Riviera in Cap-Ferrat, the Puli is hands-down preferable in my book (though YMMV, say if you want chandeliers in your room). Much more human and personal than those, though nothing compares to a b&b/small inn for the personal touch/local flavor.

Room Tip: We were splurging, but felt club room was well worth it. They say to get one facing the park, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most rewarding feedback from your recent experience at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

We are truly delighted that our team, in particular the Butler colleagues were instumental in making your familie's stay on the Club level such a fantastic and personal "James Bond" experience.

We are also thrilled to be compared and to have the edge on some of the top worldwide hotels you listed.

Wishing you a fabulous summer and we look forward to welcoming you and family back soon.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I spent only one night at this hotel and definitely will return for more. Loved the bed, the bathtub overlooking the city, and the chic outdoor lounge. Only wish the internet had been better, but that's China. Spa seriously relaxing. Great and generous breakfast, and managed to sneak in a very good lunch here too. High praise for my too short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback from your recent experience with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations; from the comfortable bed to the bathrooms overlooking the great skyline to our chic outdoor lounge and relaxing spa, and our generous breakfast and great lunches served at the Jing'An restaurant.

You will be happy to read that by 2nd week of July we will have completed our Internet service upgrades.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Shanghai.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I travel to Shanghai regularly for business and leisure. Either way, the Puli is my hotel of choice. From the first time I stayed, the staff and setting made me feel like I belonged. The staff is thoughtful and professional. The rooms are gorgeous. The spa and pool phenomenal. The Long Bar and restaurants outstanding. It's got everything, plus a super-hip luxury vibe that's very Shanghai.

Room Tip: I like the corner Grand Studios overlooking both the park and Shanghai skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted and really appreciate your patronage and repeat business and to hear that you continue to enjoy and appreciate our services, expecially from our staff that try to make our guests such as yourself as comfortable as possible. I am truly humbled by such high praise from an experienced and discerning traveler such as yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have spent 5 nights at the Puli and everything was so fantastic, Wonderful room, fantastic Spa, great food and amazing and friendly staff. Thank you to everybody for making my stay unforgattable. The outside bar during the evening is just the place to be very nice people and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely TripAdvisor review following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that you had a fantastic 5-day stay and that our staff was instrumental in making your visit a unforgettable one.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of the best thing about travelling through China are great finds such as this. To be fair it was the mrs who'd found it but upon combing through websites and a few photos I had my doubts.

Upon arrival it was everything I'd expected plus more. The design of the lobby is pretty chic, essentially a long corridor stretching from check in through to bar and restaurant. Adjacent are the fire place and library, nice place to chillout for a few drinks with your party.

The room were incredibly well designed with vase style washing basin and frameless glass doors for the shower/toilet area. I'm not sure if all the rooms we're similarly coloured hovered floorboards and dark timbers themed perfectly.

As a boutique hotel you can expect rain shower head and a fantastic range of toiletries which feat Asian style parfum. The cedar wood moisturisers were my favourite after a hot swim in Puli's facilities.

Pros:
Right next to the train station
Next to a food court if you feel like local delicacies
Incredibly large pool and spa facilities
- Do go for a swim late evening where there isn't much people, gentle stroke over subtle tranquil beats
Rooms were very well designed

Final words: If you enjoy a luxury stay a few stops from where all the actions are this is it. If you expect nanjing road on exit from lobby this isn't. Overall we'll be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took to comment on your recent stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.
Thanks very much for your feedback and thanks to your wife for choosing our hotel!

I was happy to read that your stay was everything you had expected plus more - from the overall design to the amenities, facilities, to our location.
And yes, all of our guest rooms have similarly coloured hovered floorboards.

We hope to have the pleasure to be of service to you and your wife in the near future again and remain,

With kindest regards

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#1 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#255 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. Jing'An, the hotel's signature 120-seat Restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, experiential showers, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The PuLi Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.