We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the hart of Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Puli Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Puli Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Puli Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the hart of Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and we really enjoyed our stay at The Puli. Amazing decoration, they really looked at every detail and did a great job with the place. The food was great, from breakfast to the afternoon tea, the cocktails and dinner. Excelent service and the rooms were spotless. The concierge even booked us tour in Beging and arrenged for the train tickets to be in our room before departing. Will come back and recomend it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,
Wow, what lovely feedback!
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to take care of you during your 4-day stay at The PuLi Hotel and Spa. Your comments have been shared with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and will certainly take care of your friends. We appreciate your recommendations!

Best regards
Jan B. Tibaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    148
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
208
58
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

First time in this hotel. Very nice ,very modern and minimal. Rooms are big and very confortable.
Concierge very unsual, having to seat to check in or check out ...something is wrong. It takes much too long to check in an to check out. Breakfast was not as expected, veri minimal too. Service not as it should be.

Room Tip: stay away from the major road side, very noisy, heavy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear doctorarny,

Thank you for your posting. I am happy to see you have enjoyed the comfort and the size of the room. Just to clarify perhaps: we have chairs at reception and at concierge as a standard in our urban resort.
All your other comments have been discussed with the team accordingly.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights at The PuLi in a grand room. Check-in was friendly and you felt like coming home while seated at the reception desk. The room was large 45m2 and very comfortable. Separate Toilet., separate bathtub and separate shower with normal and rainforest shower.
The table/desk has plugs on a nice height that you could plug in your computer with no problems. The mini bar was huge and all complementary and daily refilled. (nespresso machine and Tea Service set!) WIFI was free of charge in the room.
We went to the gym located at the spa area and were happy about the infrastructure. Nice view to the park. Then we went to the indoor pool. You enter a large wardrobe then walk across a nice room with a sauna, steam bath and whirlpool (genders separated)- finally you arrive at the pool (women and gents) that was amazing! Long enough to swimm your rounds and nicely designed. Go in the evening and enjoy the nice light design. There is a possbility to relax on lounge chairs next to the pool.
The hotel is located just around the corner of the metro station where you can easily reach all interesting places in Shanghai, and next to the Ji'in An temple (worth a visit!). Around the corner just across the street you'll find a grocery store.
We arrived from the airport by Maglev and tube Nr.2 to Ji'in An Station. Use exit Nr. 4 and the hotel will be just around the corner (3min). By the way if you prefer to use taxis in Shanghai- it is very cheap.
The concierge was very helpful. We had to send a parcel to Europe and he provided everything. From organising a box until choosing the cheapest parcel service. Also he was very helpful in doing a restaurant reservation for us.

This hotel - A well deserved member of the Leading Hotels of the World !- will be our favorite place to stay in Shanghai. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We were very happy with a grand room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear brucewife,

Thank you for your great review.
Our concierge team was particularly happy to read that they could be of service to you with regards to the shipment.
Happy travels and until we see you again!

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had two rooms at the Puli Hotel and Spa because my wife and I were traveling with our son and his wife. We took a beautiful corner room and let the kids have the suite that we were upgraded to. The suite was amazing and our room was also very nice.
My wife and I usually stay in top spots when we travel and the Puli certainly competes with the top names. Our room was beautifully appointed and came with all the amenities imaginable. I guess my only complaint would be the shower that sprayed water everywhere and never got quite hot enough. But let me be clear that it was still a wonderful rain-shower and I am overstating the word "complaint". The other complaint came from my wife who had a massage in the spa and said that the massage was not up to her liking. The Puli serves a wonderful breakfast every morning that all of us really enjoyed. The concierge desk was amazingly helpful with maps, information, reservations, tips and whatever else we needed. We loved the location and we spent a morning wandering around the gardens and temple that are located around the corner from the hotel. Also, the location is excellent because it is just a block from the metro which is easy to navigate and takes you to all areas of Shanghai. If I ever return to Shanghai (our favorite city on our Asian vacation) I would definitely return to the Puli Hotel and Spa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear ase1707 and family,

Thank you for your review. With the very many single business travellers we welcome to our hotel, we so very much appreciate knowing that families also enjoy our services and facilities. We have had a look at your comments on shower and spa and many thanks for bringing this our attention.
Best regards also to the family!

Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent the last two days of our China trip at the Puli Hotel, which was a luxury apartment, rather than a hotel room... Our room up in the 16th floor had large windows and a Jacuzzi, placed right at the glazing from which the view over the city was breathtaking. the room was huge with a private lounge area, two separate bathroom-areas and rain-shower. All items from the room bar were complimentary and refilled - Breakfast was not included though.
There is also a very nice spa area open to all hotel guests, icluding pool, sauna and turkish bath.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Tobi-Gr,

Thank you for your posting on TA.

Great to read that you have enjoyed your suite! Space is luxury; we fully agree. I have not heard the Puli Hotel and Spa linked with James Bond before but I like the idea!
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back next time your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Until then happy travels and thank you again.

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have stayed in the Puli on five separate occasions for business and would recommend it to anyone visiting Shanghai. Friendly, comfortable and stylish, the staff are helpful and the rooms are just perfect. A real sanctuary in the midst of a fast-paced busy city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Simon H,

Thank you for letting us all know of your preferred hotel in Shanghai for business.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Finally found a hotel room that I never wanted to leave! Our room was beautiful, the bed was heaven, the service was impeccable, over the top even. The lobby staff were so efficient and friendly, special kudos to lobby manager Martin. The doormen were always helpful, the concierge quite efficient with helping us plan an itinerary with the places we wanted to visit. The room amenities were wonderful: a fully complimentary mini bar, complete with nespresso machine, hot water pot, tea things (strainer, pot, cups, etc.), little jars of nuts, M&Ms, and Chinese White Rabbit. The bath supplies were top shelf, with separate totally contained shower and toilet units, his and hers sinks, and a tub. There was a room divider so you could enclose just the bedroom, and dining table area. Totally professional staff, that went above and beyond. Fresh orchids in the room. Bose dock for your Ipod or Iphone, free wi-fi. Tea in the lobby was superb. Cocktails in the library wonderful. It was like being in someone's tastefully decorated Asian home. and last but not least, the LONG BAR. The pool was also beautiful, as well as the spa, but did not try the amenities. I will run out of words here to describe this place. It is in a relatively quiet and serene area of Shanghai, just off Jing An Park. Taxi rides everywhere were no more than 20 yuan. I would love to come visit again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear TwinMamaNYC,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words.
Apart from Team Puli looking after you well; I was particularly taken by your remark: “…It was like being in someone’s tastefully decorated Asian Home...” what a great compliment. Thank you.
Johannes Hartfuss, our interior designer, of Layan.net in Melbourne has also designed our next hotel, The PuYu in Wuhan, Hubei province. Watch this space!
Until we meet again.

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Puli Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puli Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#301 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Puli Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. Jing'An, the hotel's signature 120-seat Restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, experiential showers, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Puli Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Puli Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.