We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitively THE BEST HOTEL OF THE WORLD.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Puli Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Puli Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Puli Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“definitively THE BEST HOTEL OF THE WORLD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

There is now no more doubt, The Puli can be considered as the very best hotel in the world, far away from all the other luxury properties on earth.

First of all, who can't fall in love for this magical, chic, elegant, contemporary decor? Right away you enter into this fantastic hotel, you feel a very special emotion. It's better than home and i can't say that for any other hotel. Everything is just so beautiful with exquisite pieces of art like these paintings in the impressive lobby with the long bar where the atmosphere is trendy but so warm. Actually, this is the most exciting place for chilling out. There are plenty of relaxing corners like the library with an open fire, so special during the cold winter in Shanghai or a very cool terrace overlooking Jing'an Park with huge daybeds for the summer time. The sense of design is truly remarkable at The Puli and Jaya Ibrahim has realized again one of these fantastic works but here is his best creation.

Same sensation in the fabulous rooms and suites. We booked a Club Suite and we enjoyed 85 sq. meters of pure elegance. Layout is so good with a very large and so comfy living room opening on an extremly zen bedroom with an ensuite amazing bathroom offering a deep bathtub with TV and overlooking the park and a revitalizing shower with views on Shanghai. The designer used warm rich colours like chocolate, caramel and cream with a few fresh touches of soft blue giving and added a few modern chinese pieces of furniture giving a real atmosphere. Actually, when you stay in such a beautiful space, it's even hard to go out and i can even say the first thing you have to do when you come to Shanghai is to stay at The Puli.

Moreover, if you want to indulge your body, you'll have the choice between a state of the art fitness studio with views on the trees of Jing'an Park or the superb and really impressive pool so relaxing and its huge clear stone jacuzzi, its steam room and sauna for a full relaxation after a busy day. You can even go to the spa managed by Anantara where you'll flirt with the nirvana in some wonderfully appointed Spa rooms.

To resume, The Puli is truly the most beautiful hotel i've seen but it wouldn't be that special without the staff. Actually, i've spent the last two days with my parents to celebrate Xmas and all of us have been just speechless in front of such a Grand service. We have been so well pampered we'll never forget this short stay. By staying at The Club, you'll have your own Guanjia (butler) who will take care of you during your whole stay but even if we experienced already a few hotels with butlers, there is something in more at The Puli cause they're looking at all the smallest details, anticipating your deepest needs, creating some memorable moments with thousand of little surprises. They know exactly what you want and when you want it. If you like strawberries for example, you'll always find of bowl of fresh strawberries when you'll be back; if you like the smell of lavender essential oil, you can be assured your room or suite will be enhanced by this smell at each of your visit; if the air is too dry for you, they will place an humidifier in the room; if you're lost in Shanghai, you'll have an Iphone nicely provided and your Guanjia always ready online to help you... This time, i've asked to Ersipit (the chief butler) and his team to organize our trip to Hangzhou and to make a special setting for Xmas and we have been more than impressed by every aspect of our stay. We had a VIP cabin on the train; we enjoyed a beautiful Xmas tree in our suite and have been so well treated by our adorable Guanjia, Jason, who is a wonderful person, highly professional, always having a positive attitude, a true smile and working with great heart. We don't even know how to thank him for everything he has done for us.

If you can pay a bit more, please choose The Club, cause it's so different from the other hotels where there is just a traditionnal lounge with limited benefits. At The Puli, the concept is so innovative and absolutely irresistible. The benefits are just incredible: yummy breakfast, fabulous afternoon tea, delicious in room canapes, your favourite drink on arrival, laundry service, well stocked minibar, Long bar allowance and for sure your own Guanjia who will make of your stay the experience of your life.

So, if there was only one hotel which would be able to go up to the five points, it would be The Puli. It's actually more than PERFECT and we can't wait to go back to this sensationnal place where we met the most wonderful team we've been lucky to meet.

Room Tip: Just the Club if you want to know what means PERFECTION
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear ccrr77fr,

Thank you for your comprehensive and passionate entry on TA. It is simply wonderful to read about your experiences in The Club.
In a nutshell: there is not much else to worry about when you are in The Club.
Handcrafted luxury is what we advocate and I am ever so happy to read that it worked out perfectly for you and your family.

See you again soon!

Very best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    586
    150
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
210
59
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

If you're a Tea lover and Massage Lover like me, You'll love this place. Completely ZEN, I didn't want to leave. The SPA Prices are expensive, but if you're on vacation, just splurge.

SO WORTH IT!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Emily415,

How wonderful to read about your spa experiences.

Every man and every woman on our green earth deserves to escape from time to time to indulge in a spa treatment to recharge, rejuvenate and to reset.

The Anantara at The Puli Hotel and Spa does just that!

Hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The room was stylish and comfortable, the service was amazing (there is an abundance of staff ready to help), the pool was equally great, and the breakfast was fantastic (in fact a lifesaver). The breakfast is worth getting included with your room. We had a small child of 16 months and we could've have been at a better place. The only shortcoming for us was that you couldn't fully control the room temp.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear uglyalejandro,

Thank you for your entry on TA.

Happy to receive good feedback with retards to our junior guests too!

We have made radical changes to the temperature control in all rooms so that guests have full control over the temperature rather than a limited range of settings. Also we have re-built our entire air-conditioning system so that each floor is now divided into separate zones so that we scan better adjust settings in connection with the outdoor temperature.

Happy travels in the meantime and until next time hopefully!

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stay at last month Nov 2011 for four days. Their mini-bar inside the room is free of charge and re-filled everyday even you empty the refrigerator. Just only have drink inside and no side dish. Room is big and clean. Location is good near MTR. Free WIFI at room and lobby, no need to login. Breakfast is expensive and not worth. The staff speak English not so well but ok.

Room Tip: Room not choose face to the street, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear 2011Simon,

Good to know you have enjoyed the free minibar.

We hope your travels will bring you back to Shanghai in the not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Great room, great feeling, great views and excellent staff. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in for business. Boutique in manner, 5 star in resources and well priced for Shanghai. Highly recommended. Your room has everything a person will need to feel like they are at home,

Room Tip: 1011 was my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear Camerong,

Thank you for your review. I am sure it will be found very helpful to TA readers as are your many other reviews.

Hope your travels will bring you back to Shanghai soon!

Many many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I might not be traveling as much as business travelers but I travel enough and stayed in world known 5 stars hotels and boutique hotels for more than enough times to make the following comments:-

Pros:
1. Very good location, close to everywhere in Jing'an District within walking distance
2. Nice interior decorations
3. Nice swimming pool, we went swimming like we're having a private pool for ourselves (go to Cons for the fabrication of floor tiles)
4. Superb brunch with better services from staff (in suits) there (go to Cons for the service level by other general staff, which is the worst experience from a 5-star hotel)
5. Complimentary use of minibar with nespresso machine, which is nice as I love having coffees

Cons:
1. Very slippery floor tiles chosen around the swimming pool, we have to walk VERY carefully to avoid falling onto the floor. Further improvement on fabric selection is required.

2. POOR SERVICES/ ATTITUDES -
a. Staff from Long Bar/ Home Delivery/ Duty Manager, we were told that it closes at 1am and we asked if we can order from our room and get our drinks/desserts delivered. We tried to order our second round of drinks at 12:35am and the staff from Long Bar told us their last order time is 12:30am, which we were not told beforehand nor it was stated on their menu. The staff from Long Bar told us to call Home Delivery. The home delivery staff told us there's nothing they can do (which I think this kind of service is unacceptable from a high-end hotel). I called the duty manager and he later gave us the drinks and again, his explanation is not soothing and his apology wasn't sincere. We started to wonder, what kind of training does this hotel give to its staff??

b. Housekeeping staff - we stayed in PuLi on both Friday and Saturday night. On Saturday morning 10am, a housekeeping staff rang our door bell and asked if she could tidy our room (I was like WHAT?!?! Am I not allowed to stay in my own room for a little longer and is it that rush to get my room tidied??) I said no and immediately complained to the Reception. At 1pm sharp, the housekeeping staff rang the door bell AGAIN and asked if she could tidy the room. To be honest, I have never had such experience in other hotels. No housekeeping staff in any other hotel would ring the door bell and ask for time to tidy.

Another incident about Housekeeping - On sunday morning around 9am, while we were still sleeping, we heard a lot of banging of doors and moving of carts outside. Those noises woke us up and we even stood at the hallway and see who made those noises, again, its the HOUSEKEEPING. Those noises only stopped until we complained and it was VERY UNACCEPTABLE.

c. Staff were not cheerful enough in delivering services.

d. We went back to the hotel at 1am on one night and no staff was there opening the door for us.

3. Bad mattress, bed is not as comfortable as other hotels (go visit Intercontinental in Suzhou and you will know what is meant by GOOD mattress)

To PuLi management, if you are reading this and you still want to claim yourself to be the best hotel in town, please do something to improve your services. Even the Orange Hotel in Beijing (a more local hotel in the city) delivers much better services than your hotel does.

To other travelers, don't visit PuLi just yet until they improved. It doesn't worth the money at this moment. For the time being, spending your money on Shangri-la or Intercontinental will definitely be a better choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear soparkyee,

Thank you for your posting. It is the exact same text I received in my personal email. In the meantime we have been dealing with your comments directly, both my colleagues and I.

All of us here at The Puli Hotel and Spa very much look forward to welcoming you back in what we hope will be the not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

My best experience in Shanghai, having stayed in Grand Hyatt, St. Regis, Ritz-Carlton, etc! Great decor, attention to detail, great minimal oriental design, relaxed atmosphere, nice staff, reasonably priced for it's standard of services. Fantastic swimming pool. Food in the Long Bar a disappointment, difficulty to get a taxi during rush hours! The much advertised 'free' minibar does not include alcoholic drinks, the Nespresso Machine though is a great plus for the first coffee before the rather limited breakfast. Definitely the Hotel I shall always stay in Shanghai! Highly recommended for those who dislike the typical 5 star Hotel chains.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear NNiarchos,

Thank you for your posting and thank you for declaring us your preferred choice in Shanghai. 1 in 3 guests on any given day of the year will have stayed with us before and we are thrilled that you have acknowledged the very same. Our high guest repeat ratio is something we are so proud of, knowing we have been open a little over two years!

We have included local beer in the mini bar for all rooms and in all our suites we have complimentary wines available as well. Our Club guests simply tell us what their tipple is in advance and your Master of the Household (Guan Jia) will make all arrangements in your Club room or suite prior to arrival, each time you stay.

It's like having a PA throughout your stay in Shanghai. Literally nothing much else to worry about.

Maybe something you could try on your next visit?

Please let me know when that will be through the hotel numbers or emails and I will personally look after you.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Puli Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puli Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#302 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Puli Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. Jing'An, the hotel's signature 120-seat Restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, experiential showers, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Otel so you can book your The Puli Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Puli Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.